Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 456 students

Our school is known for being innovators in the use of technology.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Clara

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $450,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

We are thankful. My kid is happy and learn new knowledge everyday. PTA is active, boyscout is wonderful. Teachers care a lot. The after school program is very convenience for working parents. We hope school has GATE and some music ( piano/violin ) program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

My kids went here since pre school, i would say this school is very convenient for us. Very clean and the teachers are awesome. They really keep in touch with the parents especially when you have concerns. They update us to all activities and progress of my kids. There are very helpful to my needs of my kids at school. Now they have a lot of activites for the kids which is good, because the kids is having confident and more vocals to what they want. The principal is cool and awesome very dedicated to each students. We love kathryn hughes. Very responsible for everything and safe!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Kathryn Hughes Elementary is a great school. They have very good, knowledgable, and caring teachers. They have great technology in the classroom: smartboards in every class and soon tablets for all the students... thanks to a partnership with Altera. Mr. Ricardo the school custodian is awesome and super friendly (reminds me of Gus, the custodian when I went to Hughes many many years ago). The Front Office staff is friendly, professional, and extremely helpful. There is a new principal, Ms Miranda. She had BIG shoes to fill with replacing Mr Keegan but she is proving to be a GREAT addition and asset to Hughes. Ms Miranda seems to genuinely care for and love her students. She is focused on education, community and parent involvement. Continuing partnerships with nearby technogy companies like Altera to get our students and teachers access to cutting edge technology typically not seen in a Public school. Reaching out to parents to be active and involved, the best schools have high parent participation. I particulary liked "College Day", shows me that she is focused on our kids future beyond just elementary and preparing them for a bright future. Go Hammerheads!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My two kids love their school, and so do us parents. They are so proud of their school that they would talk to all their friends about the dedicated teachers, the new respectful principle, and this year, the Cub Scout! Yes, our school has cub scout meeting where boys meet three times every month on Friday. Thanks to the parents who volunteer and dedicate that boys learn the most precious skills while having fun which will benifit them whole life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Hughes Elementary is a great school. Our new principal has big shoes to fill but has been doing a nice job. She believes in parent education and talking to our kids about college. She wants to do what's right for our students. She works well with our PTA. She has gotten many bikes donated for students this year. She is trying to get a cover for our outside lunch area so our students don't get pooped on and a new digital sign for the front of our school with our proper logo on it. I don't agree with a previous comment about a bias towards the Spanish speaking parents. That's absurd! It's sad to me why anyone would feel threatened by her trying to make them feel included. Overall, a nice community with caring teachers, staff and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

The school in general is a great school.All my three kids started to this school. With new technology in place, the students are well advanced than students from other school in the district. The teachers are very much involved with the kids and very nurturing I wish that the school district would spend some more money to expand the school, fund music program and other school activities. One less star for the new principal She is not involve as much ad she supposed to be. If her predecessor is still there, I would give a five star. Kudos to Ms Durand, Mrs Tang, Mrs Vazquez, Ms Katzen, Mrs Williamson sndMs.Allan. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School is best place. My daughter enjoys the school. Teachers are focused on student study and their inclusive growth. This school has very good study atmosphere for students. This school is gem. Following teachers are great and helpful. Miss Katzon , Miss Lopes-coe, Miss Norht & Miss Tan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

My kids have been attending Hughes since kindergarten 4 years ago. And we've always loved the school, until recently. There seems to be a general consensus among involved parents that the new principal is completely unknowledgeable and proving to be an ineffective leader. She is isolating her involved parents by showing an extreme bias for her Spanish speaking families, which is ridiculous because an overwhelming majority of the families don't speak Spanish! Losing love for this school fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

I have 3 grandchildren. The youngest will start the 4th grade 2013-2014. I am so glad my daughter moved very close to Kathryn Hughes middle school. My grandson was very sad that Mr. Keegan left the school. Mr. Keegan sure knows how to run a school. Others should not "Think" about this school, but join. The other 2 now are attending Buchser middle school. Went through all 5 grades at Hughes elementary school. Have no concerns about Hughes school.


Posted July 29, 2013

Congratulation Hughes, API= 836 This school is great, and Mr. Keegan is an excellent principal. It is so sad that he has to go to other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

This school is good, but only bad thing is like there no guarantee to get it back in the next day If student forget anything. It happened couple of times for my kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

Lots of problem at this school. If your child is behind, your child will be left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

I love Kathryn Hughes elemenatary because they really strive for excellance! And I find that they have excellent programs to support children excel not only in the classroom but in the real world! I also would like to mention that the principal Mr. Keegan is an excellant principal that loves what he does and it shows! And the children seem to admire him and respect him for all he does! Keep up the great work Kathryn Hughes!!! #true dedication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

Hughes Elementary is a school to be involved with or have your children attend if there are in the local area. I have had my oldest daughter attend Hughes since first grade. Over the years, I have seen how the Administrative Staff, teachers and principal work closely together to utilize the resources available to them (even through the most recent challenging times). I am very happy about their YMCA After School program, all options for preschool available, Playworks and Leadership Opportunities with their Sports, Cheer and Student Council they have. I am also proud to say that thanks to the Niners and local large corporation(s), Hughes has received grants and support of technology and other opportunities that other public elementary schools in the district may not have access to or that these children would not have access to otherwise. The childrens' test scores continue to go up with the efforts of teachers and motivation of parents and faculty. I would like to continue to see the parents and community involvement to continue to beautify the school and $upport in every way they can with fundraising and volunteer opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

I am happy to have my son attend this school they recognize how well my son reads and is good at math the teachers are great and my son loves this school! ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Friendly ,open and make learning fun to kids.. my 2 kids had a great time last year..I feel it`ll be the same , or even better this year.. excellent teachers and strong school leadership...main thing can see in it..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

A school with brighter future.. Altough Kathryn huges have a score of lower 700s when my kids initially joined, i see the techers and principle are all very responsive and take care of the kids very seriously. I have confidence this school will soon join the high 800s in score and maybe reach 900 if thing turns well. The only thing that concerns me is the higher number of students per class due to the limiated space avaialbe and goverment budget cut. I hate to see that the school have to let go nice teachers. What a shame the US goverment is funding oversea endless battles but have to leave students and teachers out of school. Overall, i have confidence that Kathryn Hughes will be a new start in the forsee future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

Kathryn Hughes is an excellent school, from the admin staff at the front desk especially Mrs Wilson to the dedicated teachers, and the very committed and energetic principal Mr Keegan. We relocated from Europe in July 2010, Kathryn Hughes became our local school. Both I and my husband not to mention my two children were very anxious about the whole move but most of all about switching to a totally different school system. We need not have worried as the teachers and staff at Kathryn Hughes made the transition for both my children a very pleasant one. Both children had excellent teachers in the 2nd and 5th Grades and the progress we saw in both was exceptional by end of year. Both my children made great friends as the children are very friendly and went out of their way to make the new kids feel welcomed. There is a great balance between strong academics and social/sporting activities, which only contributes to preparing well balanced children who confidently move on to their next steps. So well done and thank you Kathryn Hughes, may you continue to grow and prosper as well you deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

This is an amazing school. Great principal ,great teachers and great administrative staff. I have my 2 kids here, a 5th grader and 1st grader, they've been here for last 2 yrs and I have not had any problem. Infact both my kids are doing great. The teachers work very hard with the kids to help them in any kind of way. Whenever I come to the school, I always see Mr Keegan(Principal) walking on the corridors to check on the students. He is doing a great job and trying hard to get more and more new programs for the school. The scores of the school have gone up and I am sure we will soon be in the 900 API. Though I think the parent involvement in this school has to increase a little bit more then this will 'The Best' school. I would recommend this school to every parent. All the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Kathryn Hughes Elementary has very strong leadership. Principal is driving change, rise in API in 2010, is big leap and demonstrates great team work and commitment towards excellence.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

828

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

828

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females72%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females83%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino89%
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females56%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipino35%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females69%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner74%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females70%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females64%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females64%
Males34%
African Americann/a
Asian60%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females58%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipino62%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students46%
Females48%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asian47%
Filipino38%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 35% 11%
Black 11% 6%
White 8% 26%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Marcela Miranda
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (408) 423-1580

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Buchser Middle School
Don Callejon School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4949 Calle De Escuela
Santa Clara, CA 95054
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 423-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Saba Academy
San Jose, CA


Don Callejon School
Santa Clara, CA





The Redwood School
Santa Clara, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT