Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kathryn Hughes Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Strong teachers at this school. Know how to teach, and manage student and classroom environment. Most of all, they care for our kids and make sure they are happy.

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The school provides awards to ALL students. Everyone feels a sense of accomplishment and feel good about being a student at Hughes. It's important to recognize kids and their daily efforts!


Kathryn Hughes Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The school has a zero tolerance for bullying. My child has experienced this in the earlier grades and the teacher, ymca director handled it very well that it did not have to reach/concern the principal. Teacher was fair, and addressed my needs as well as helped out the other student/family.

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
My kids come home telling me stories and experiences at school. It appears that teachers are enforcing honesty and fairness daily. I like that when problems arise, it's quickly resolved.

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Ratings do not truly reflect what Hughes is as an 'overall' school. Exceptional teachers, principal and staff. Great PTA members, and strong community presence. I feel my kids are in a safe environment where they are continuously learning, participating, and happy. Thumbs up for Technology on campus and YMCA! This school deserves a 8-9 rating!!


Kathryn Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
This school is excellent , Im sure the API score is going to go way higher as I see lot of Asian & indian kids inflow(the usual driver of scores) . Being an Asian my self i push my kid a lot on studies, this school works for me great as the curriculum is clearly structured and the kinder garden teacher is very helpful in following up my kids progress in studies. More emphasis is given to creativity here and structured learning . On family get together we usually have competition within our kids where adults ask questions on science , math etc ... to grade our kids :) My other 3rd grader who has been in this school since kinder garden is as equally progressed similar to his private school counterparts in my relatives who has been through challenger and stratford. Im sure the API is going to skyrocket to 900+ pretty soon. Good luck.

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
We are thankful. My kid is happy and learn new knowledge everyday. PTA is active, boyscout is wonderful. Teachers care a lot. The after school program is very convenience for working parents. We hope school has GATE and some music ( piano/violin ) program.

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
My kids went here since pre school, i would say this school is very convenient for us. Very clean and the teachers are awesome. They really keep in touch with the parents especially when you have concerns. They update us to all activities and progress of my kids. There are very helpful to my needs of my kids at school. Now they have a lot of activites for the kids which is good, because the kids is having confident and more vocals to what they want. The principal is cool and awesome very dedicated to each students. We love kathryn hughes. Very responsible for everything and safe!!!


Kathryn Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Kathryn Hughes Elementary is a great school. They have very good, knowledgable, and caring teachers. They have great technology in the classroom: smartboards in every class and soon tablets for all the students... thanks to a partnership with Altera. Mr. Ricardo the school custodian is awesome and super friendly (reminds me of Gus, the custodian when I went to Hughes many many years ago). The Front Office staff is friendly, professional, and extremely helpful. There is a new principal, Ms Miranda. She had BIG shoes to fill with replacing Mr Keegan but she is proving to be a GREAT addition and asset to Hughes. Ms Miranda seems to genuinely care for and love her students. She is focused on education, community and parent involvement. Continuing partnerships with nearby technogy companies like Altera to get our students and teachers access to cutting edge technology typically not seen in a Public school. Reaching out to parents to be active and involved, the best schools have high parent participation. I particulary liked "College Day", shows me that she is focused on our kids future beyond just elementary and preparing them for a bright future. Go Hammerheads!

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My two kids love their school, and so do us parents. They are so proud of their school that they would talk to all their friends about the dedicated teachers, the new respectful principle, and this year, the Cub Scout! Yes, our school has cub scout meeting where boys meet three times every month on Friday. Thanks to the parents who volunteer and dedicate that boys learn the most precious skills while having fun which will benifit them whole life!

Nearby schools

Kathryn Hughes Elementary School
4949 Calle De Escuela, Santa Clara, CA  95054
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (408) 423-1500
Last modified Kathryn Hughes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top