Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Millikin Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
I believe the student's grade fairly represents the amount of work the student puts in and therefore the quality of the resulting work/project.

Millikin Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught to respect other people's opinions and/or feelings, that all ideas good and can be improved.


Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
I have first hand experience that the teachers are very capable, and teach well. I think homework is pretty easy and kids can take on a little bit more, can be challenged a little bit more. Since this is a Basics school, they do not teach above grade level. To the comments who say school is not about grades, I beg to differ. Grades are the first thing the college admission officer sees. It is good to get the kids started early that grades do matter because it will affect how driven they will be to achieve that goal and it will carry on to upper grades. It is an attitude that is good to develop early. Talking about diversified population, unfortunately the bulk of the applicants are from Asian families. Given equal chances, it follows that the majority of the student population are Asian. Ultimately, parent involvement is key to the child's success. You need to know what your child is learning so you can help reinforce what is being taught in school. If you are just looking for a place to keep your child out of trouble, then this is most definitely NOT the school for you.

Millikin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
They are the ones who interact with the child the most and knows the child the most, the strengths and which areas need work on.

Millikin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 19, 2016
- a community member
Grade schools should be giving less homework. Projects take forever. Parents do not need to help students on homework.


Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Both my kids go to this school and I'm extremely happy with it. I'd personally would like them to have more challenging home works, I can't complain as the school work and play time is so balanced and their performance had been rated very high on independent tests. My son; for example; had been reading books ( such as Diary of a Wimpy kid ) which is rated for 9+ kids by summer after second grade.

Millikin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
These are some of the best teachers you could have hoped for. My son went to our home school for kindergarten before my daughter winning school lottery.

Millikin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
As long as the kids are doing alright, I can't complain. I attended a homework heavy school system and it's not so much fun.


Millikin Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
One year, I volunteered as "yard duty" in which I watched the kids at play ground. The respect demonstrated by the students for authoritative persons are very high.

Millikin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
They learn it every day of their school days. They even learned to be compassionate to little bugs. Comparing with what we learnt when I was young, they're leaps and bound ahead of me when I was their age.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Millikin Elementary School
615 Hobart Terrace, Santa Clara, CA  95051
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (408) 423-1800
Last modified Millikin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top