Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Both my kids go to this school and I'm extremely happy with it. I'd personally would like them to have more challenging home works, I can't complain as the school work and play time is so balanced and their performance had been rated very high on independent tests. My son; for example; had been reading books ( such as Diary of a Wimpy kid ) which is rated for 9+ kids by summer after second grade.

Millikin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
These are some of the best teachers you could have hoped for. My son went to our home school for kindergarten before my daughter winning school lottery.


Millikin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
As long as the kids are doing alright, I can't complain. I attended a homework heavy school system and it's not so much fun.

Millikin Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
One year, I volunteered as "yard duty" in which I watched the kids at play ground. The respect demonstrated by the students for authoritative persons are very high.

Millikin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
They learn it every day of their school days. They even learned to be compassionate to little bugs. Comparing with what we learnt when I was young, they're leaps and bound ahead of me when I was their age.


Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2015
- a community member
Millikin is a great school! My son has been at this school for three years and has learned so much, it's astonishing. I have seen some of the work pages from other schools and homework assignments and it doesn't compare. Parents please keep in mind that you will need to help your kids with their homework, you will need to sit next to them and guide them. If you can't do this for your kids on a nightly basis (except for Friday's) this is not the school for you. One more thing, I am not on a work Visa, nor a software engineer, nor do I want to live in Cupertino.

Millikin Elementary School 2

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
This school has great test scores but its basically a school for the kids of software engineers who are here on work visas. The demographics in this school are one dimensional. Most of the kids go to cram schools after regular school so of course test scores are going to be high. Few of them live in the neighborhood, they clog up the streets by commuting from the other side of town. This is not a normal school, it is a school for the people who want to live in Cupertino but cant afford it. I don't understand why this is a public school, it does nothing for the local community. it should be funded by Google or Oracle.

Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Millikin Elementary is an overall fantastic school, with teachers and parents that care and support each other in a way that encourages the education and growth of each and every student in attendance. With an excellent staff; from the principal and teachers, all the way down to the janitors, Millikin is an example of how the model of one elementary school could turn California's education system around if only it's principals and examples would be followed by the rest of the state. One warning however, if (as a parent) you are not prepared or willing to be extremely involved in extracurricular school activities, both from a volunteer and homework perspective, than this school is NOT for you! If, on the other-hand you find that that sort of thing is your cup-of-tea, than I would encourage you to throw your hat in the proverbial lottery... your child will thank you for it and you would be hard-pressed to do better! Best of luck, Proud parent of two Millikin kids


Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
This school is the best in Bay area. Discipline and Education wise.Staffs and Teachers are try their best effort for their students.

Millikin Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school in the Bay Area. The teachers are excellent, very helpful and giving good guidance to the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Millikin Elementary School
615 Hobart Terrace, Santa Clara, CA  95051
(408) 423-1800
Last modified Millikin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Millikin Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top