Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pomeroy Elementary School 4

Posted April 01, 2015
- a community member
I used to go to Pomeroy when I was in Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grades. I am currently a junior in college, and I am quite surprised that this school only got a rating of 5. Although I was a student there a while ago, for the three years that I was there, I have to say that I recall the teachers being very supportive. I was a shy child, and the teachers helped me overcome that (without forcing me), so that when I moved schools in third grade I was no longer "the quiet girl". One thing I have to thank Pomeroy for is teaching me how to play chess. When I was in Kindergarten, the fifth graders used to come to our class and teach us how to play. That was one of my best memories at Pomeroy.

Pomeroy Elementary School 2

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
This school is a so so. It`s not like any other school. Kids have a problem of "Fairity". And the kids are wearing very unacceptable cloths. Mostly acting like they`re teenagers. The rules are not fair. Food`s not like Jack in the Box. Kids cursing each other. Popularity is stressing out nerds (I take it as smart.) I could only think of negatives. But, I do see improvements Pomeroy did. Witch, I think is very acceptable and makes a huge difference. Even though this school is not that good, it`s very interesting to watch how things change over months. (I`m telling the truth, I walk by this school once every month.)


Pomeroy Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
I am so glad that my son had the chance to go here so that I know what a good school really is. I have opted for a local charter school based on my experiences with this school. Thanks for all you did, Pomeroy!!!

Pomeroy Elementary School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
This school has been excellent. I have a daughter in 1st and a son in 4th. My son takes speech and uses other resources. I do not agree with half of the kids in this school don't speak English. I love that the school has a pretty diverse background when it comes to ethnicity etc. The principal is great and the staff in general. My kids have had fabulous teachers. I see a lot of parents who get involved. Of course there are those that do not. Overall this school has been wonderful and mu children have been progressing. Especially my son.

Pomeroy Elementary School 2

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
My child went here and took speech therapy. Staff was very friendly but at times they were sticking 3-4 kids into a speech session which turned into play time. English is the second language for almost half of the kids at this school which means the kids who do speak English (which they should because we live in America) get left behind.


Pomeroy Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Our API scores went up 29 points since last year. We have Garden Program, we have Green program, The dynamics between Administration, Teachers and Parents create a great support system for the students. More importantly the kids are truly happy at school.

Pomeroy Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2009
- a parent
The support from my kindergardener's teacher is excellent. My son is having a hard time staying interested & we are working together to try to help him succeed with daily reports and alternative assignments. I truely feel that my husband and I are not alone in raising him and feel that this is more of a team effort. Since he is my oldest, I am unsure if all schools care so much... but I certainly don't remember my parents being so involved with any of my teachers. So far I am super impressed with Pomeroy & all the after school activities as well as the PTA. It's a fun, close-nit environment, that really encorages young minds to flourish, without the drama of competition.

Pomeroy Elementary School 4

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
Great school! My child, now in 4th grade, started in K at Pomeroy. I have a lot of positive comments: teachers are involved, the PTA is running different events nicely, and the school offers so much more such as a musical for any 3rd to 5th grader interested, a choir, and this year (08-09) music class to set u p a school band! I just have 2 wishes: 1) that the new principal will do as well as the departing one who was great 2) that the standardized test results will get better overall for the school


Pomeroy Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
One of the best!! my son was so happy, the principal and teachers are very involve in the kids performance, education and they really help the students to develop all and every single one of their abilities. My son it is part of the student embassador and GATE programs, and all this was possible because all the staff, teachers and the principal really care for all the students. I do really recomend Pomeroy, they help my son to be a great student and person.

Pomeroy Elementary School 4

Posted February 10, 2008
- a parent
My child is finishing his 5th year at Pomeroy - the staff has been excellent, and they have done a wonderful job providing the skills needed to move on to middle school and beyond. The parent and community involvement is excellent (but don't let that stop you from participating! What school couldn't use more support?)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pomeroy Elementary School
1250 Pomeroy Avenue, Santa Clara, CA  95051-3618
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (408) 423-3800
Last modified Pomeroy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top