Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Lawrence Elementary and Middle School

Private | PK-8 | 360 students

Our school provides a comprehensive and challenging Catholic education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Santa Clara

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

Good school with individual care by teachers to my 2 sons who are in 8th and 6th grades. Our 3rd is starting at pre-K this fall. Many extra after school activities from a great swimming program, scouting, piano lessons as well as year round sports of flag football, basket ball, soccer, volley ball and track. My sons participate in many of these activities. Tuition is most reasonable of any private or catholic school in silicon valley. We are blessed to have found St. Lawrence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

I love St. Lawrence. My child has been a part of the St. Lawrence community for two years and she is so happy. We started her off in PreK with the fantastic program there under the leadership of Mrs. M, and then she had a wonderful year in Kindergarten with Ms. Cassidy. Fabulous staff and wonderful leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

Excellent principal and teachers. There are two classes for each middle school grade which enables more student interaction with teachers. The teachers are very engaging and are dedicated to helping each student really understand the subject material. They challenge the students academically in a very nurturing environment. The principal is wonderful! He is an engaging and very responsive principal who holds high aspirations for this school community. I feel that my child will be well-prepared for high school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Excellent school! Our child has attended from Kinder thru Middle School. I love that this small school (one classroom per grade until Middle School) allows us to get to know the teachers and other families. Over the years, we've had caring, wonderful teachers that have kept the kids really engaged. There was one teacher that wasn't so great - but she was gone the next year. The principal is excellent and very responsive. I think he works harder than anyone at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

My child has been a student at St. Lawrence since Pre-K and is now entering the 8th grade. It has been a wonderfully caring and academic environment for her. I have found her teachers to be encouraging and challenging when needed. If help was needed, the teachers have always been willing to put in extra time and have communicated well with us (the parents). We will be very sad to leave next year. I don't think we could've asked for a better elementary and middle school experience for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

We have been so impressed with St. Lawrence. Not only is it an excellent school in terms of academics, but the community that surrounds it couldn't be more warm and loving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

My Kid is in Pre-K and i love the way school teaches the kids. I feel that the scool teaches and focuses more on academeics unlike any other schools famous like challenger or startford as i see what other schools are teachign kids of same age. If you happen t be from a home country where academecis are more strict and want to return to home country in few years this is a best bet as this is probabaly the closest you can get to high stress on academics and discipline here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

We have loved St. Lawrence for many years, but have hit a wall this year with a very poor teacher in the elementary school. We are sad, but are thinking of leaving the school. There is never any excuse for a teacher who critcizes children in front of the class for academic mistakes, and humiliates children. The homework load is sky high, primarily math is being pushed to the point where the kids get double the amount of homework recommended by the publisher. 10 year olds are staying up late to finish homework, and having to skip extracurriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

We love All of our techers that teach our graduating class. This school is totaly awsome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

My youngest two children transferred to St. Lawrence for Middle School. The teachers were excellent and prepared them very well for high school. There are a wide variety of programs including an excellent science program, art, academic decathalon, sports, student leadership, etc. available for the students. The entire campus has wireless access and students are assigned laptops that are used to enhance the curriculum and life skills. I would highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Our child has been at St. Lawrence elementary school for 3 years. The teachers are excellent, and so is the principal. The curriculum is very carefully chosen, thorough, and developmentally appropriate. In addition to the classroom teacher, there are specialists in art, science, music, and spanish that teach each week in each classroom. The library is beautiful. The homework load is a bit much-but all of the homework is carefully chosen by the teachers. We will definitely stay at St. Lawrence through 8th grade. The parents are involved in the school, and the community is wonderful. My child loves the other children. Scouting (girls and boys) is huge at St. Lawrence and helps develop friendships across grade levels. I highly recommend this preK-8 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

I love the PreK program! My 4 year old daughter is learning to read by sounding out each letter, not just the 'at, bat, cat' method most other schools use. There is room for improvement in the art & music programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

Not the greatest of middle school. Sorry but this will be a dissapointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

I am very impressed with the PreK program. The teachers are great and my son is making great progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

St. Lawrence is a small school. When I say small, I mean no sports field and no indoor cafeteria. They do, however, offer sports at another field and kids eat their lunch in classrooms on rainy days. There used to be a rumor that if you couldn't get into the more elite Catholic schools (Mitty, Bellarmine,) you went to St. Lawrence. Whether this still holds true remains to be seen. Very diverse population and very innovative approach to technology. All students receive an ibook and the campus is totally wireless. School is old, but well kept. Principal is highly qualified and appears to be very involved with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 33%
White 31%
Two or more races 21%
Hispanic 14%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School psychologist
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Monica Argenti
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Afterschool Swim Team
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Afterschool Swim Team
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
All Catholic high schools in the Diocese of San Jose
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1977 St. Lawrence Drive
Santa Clara, CA 95051
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 296-2260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






School of Choice
Sunnyvale, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT