Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Justin

Private | K-8 | 285 students

St. Justin School has provided over 50 years of quality Catholic Education

 
 

Living in Santa Clara

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2012

My three children attended St. Justin School. They received an excellent educational experience, participated in top notch athletic programs and developed a strong spiritual core. My son is a mechanical engineer, my daughter is a doctor and my younger son is majoring in mechanical engineering/business in college. They received a strong foundation that helped them become successful in their own right. I highly recommend St. Justin School for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Overpriced, archaic, and just plain not worth it. I went to school here in the early 80's and even then, as a child, saw how stressed my parents were at being forced to pay for every little, flipping thing, getting fleeced left and right, all in the name of a "good education". And the teachers were nothing inspirational either. I especially found Mrs. Almazol (sp?) quite acerbic. The education in this country is a mess, period, and Catholic schools take full advantage of this. St. Justin's is no exception.


Posted July 11, 2011

the admin staff has their own weird policy about who gets admitted into their programs.. they are not open and fair about thier admission process... they are private school and they have the right to decide who they choose as their stduents but they will just be outright rude and unreasonable with you if you don't fit the profile of someone who they have in their mind.. the irony is that their acaemic program is mediocre, below average, compared to other catholic programs in the adjasent neighborhoods..


Posted April 22, 2010

I have a first grader at St. Justin and an incoming kinder. Our family loves the school! It's a great community, with a well rounded education. I would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

As a student of saint justin school the kids here are very well educated and the person who said they never learned anything probably had a bad day and was venting their system by trashing my school! All of what this student said is one hundred percent ubsred! We keep the school very clean and tidy, we do not talk in class and are polite to our elders and parents. St. Justin has very wonderful teachers.. Though I must say that mr. wakefield is the best teacher ever. He teaches us values that can never be replaced! He also prepares us for the upcoming high school days and applications. As well as mr. phelps!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2009

Two children attend there now. We're very happy with the instruction and the direction they are receiving in all areas of development. It's a great community, and a great staff and faculty that care sincerely about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I had a horrible time at this school. The bathrooms were always littered with sunflower seeds and trash. Even worse, all the teachers were incompetent and could not control the class. One teacher left halfway through the year and never came back. Although, I must say, many of the students were friendly and nice. I learne dless at this school than i did in public school. I am sure that I will not come back, or send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2005

Great community spirit and parent participation. Excellent sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

My daughter has been going to school at St. Justins for 3 years. She loves it. Not only are the children extremely well behaved but the curriculum is fantastic. She was reading chapter books by the 1st grade. And she mastered multiplication by the beginning of 3rd. She has music,PE, computers,choir, religion at least once or twice a week. The parents are very much involved. In fact, they encourage the parents to drop in as much as possible. They always have shows, presentations and prayer services for the parents. They also have 2 teachers for one class of 30 children and 3 volunteer room parents. Parents are also encouraged to come and teach any skills or art project or even science experiments.It's a great school even if you aren't catholic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

As a former student of St. Justin's, I was given the tools needed to continue my education. I still remember George Sandich as an inspiration in helping me do better in math. If I lived in Santa Clara today, St. Justin would be the school for my child.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 26%
Two or more races 25% 3%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School psychologist
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Computer specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Allie Jones
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (408) 246-0691

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Robotics club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
more than 95% of our students attend Catholic High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2655 Homestead Road
Santa Clara, CA 95051
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 248-1094

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Live Oak Academy
Santa Clara, CA


Live Oak Academy
Santa Clara, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT