Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
281 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Clare Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Great experience with the teachers as evidenced by the behavior of our middle schooler- he loves getting up and going to school, takes pride in learning and finishing his homework. (opposite of what was happening in his previous public school in Los Gatos). This is all a result of the positive interaction he receives every day from each of his teachers. The teachers are enthusiastic, caring and amazingly able to instill curiosity for learning in our child.

St. Clare Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Rader is a special person. She is humble and "old fashioned" but time and time again she has gone above and beyond to help families.


St. Clare Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers all have received additional training in Blended Learning from Santa Clara University. The proximity to the University allows the teachers to receive the most current training. The teachers are warm and enthusiastic.

St. Clare Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
I am a coach and see kids from a wide range of schools. I can clearly see that SCS has a higher expectation for respect and student behavior than many other neighborhood schools.

St. Clare Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The school-wide Silver Box philosophy is embraced by all the students and staff. As a Catholic school, our community takes part in many service projects throughout the year.


St. Clare Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
An amazing parent community as well as an up to date curriculum. As an example, a few Tech-minded parents put together an after school STEM club. Whenever I get a chance to be at school, I am impressed by what I see going on there. We are happy with our choice.

St. Clare Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
St. Clare is the ideal school if you value an excellent education, fair and caring teachers and staff, safe school grounds, along with a down to earth, involved community of families. Our daughter loves her school!

St. Clare Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
I have two kids at St Clare and our family has found it to be an excellent choice! The administration strives towards continued betterment of the school and providing a wholesome, nurturing environment for the children. The teachers have high expectations, but are also fun-loving and kind. The community is exceptionally diverse, and very active with many opportunities for parent involvement. The academics are strong with many "extras" such as art and Spanish instruction, but not so much as to place undo stress on young learners. I find that the silver box philosophy has helped reinforce our family's values of respect and compassion for others. The campus is situated in an ideal location, offering ease and safety of pick-up and drop-off, while also being adjacent to the library, park, and University which provide further resources.


St. Clare Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Yes, the 2012-13 school year was filled with ups and downs, an emotional roller coaster for many. I have to say though that as a parent of two children attending St. Clare, I wouldn't have them at any other school. There are so many positives... financially stable, the diversity of children and teachers, supportive and committed parents, teachers, staff and administrators., and of course, the silver box philosophy. And top this off with the addition of several outstanding new teachers and para-educators this year (and over the past few years) - we love it and cannot imagine our children being anywhere else! Yes, a few bumps in the road over the past few years, but I really believe we are heading in the right direction. I'm so thankful to have a place where my children are learning, they're in a safe and supportive environment, and our family feels part of a connected community.

St. Clare Elementary School 1

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
We've been a member family of St. Clare for several years, but have made the difficult decision to move our kids to another school. We originally chose St. Clare based on the strength of its community of faculty and families. The overwhelmingly positive, welcoming nature was a clear differentiator in our selection. Unfortunately, the past several years have seen the community become fractured and divided. This is due to the principal of the school. She was a great educator, but has failed to lead the school effectively. The academic programs are suffering, especially in the middle school. The extra curricular science, athletic, and art offerings are woefully under supported by the administration. Concerned families attempted to partner with the principal to address the issues, but with no success. St. Clare used to be a wonderful place and will be again, but it will take a true leader to improve the academic, athletic, and artistic programs. St. Clare needs a committed communicator who takes the time to understand the concerns, diagnose the issues, and partner to fix. I look forward to seeing St. Clare return to glory. For the time being, I recommend looking into other schools.

Nearby schools

St. Clare Elementary School
760 Washington Street, Santa Clara, CA  95050
(408) 246-6797
Last modified St. Clare Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top