Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Santa Clara, CA
Students enrolled: 86
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sierra Elementary And High School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a community member
I have taught/worked at this school teaching in the after school/enrichment program for over 20 years. In that time I have also taught during the regular day for musical theater program. The school offers a great drama and musical theater/arts program. They integrate it well into the school curriculum. The students respond well and it makes the school such a complete package of academics and arts related activities. The staff and administration is very supportive of each individual student. The love and care they offer is second to none. The administrative doors are always open to students and parents. It makes all the difference for the students. You can tell by the smiles on all the faces from K-12th grade!

Sierra Elementary And High School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
My son attended high school here, graduating in 2010. I was extremely happy with this school. After attending a large middle school, coming here, was, quite frankly, a breath of fresh air. The school had everything we had been looking for - small class sizes, individual attention, and a wonderfully dedicated staff. I have recommended this school to several families. This is quite a "hidden gem" in the Bay Area.


Sierra Elementary And High School 1

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
I comment on junior and high school program. This school is very horrible! First, the school do not have classes for students to choose. If students want to take another class, they have to read a textbook by theirself, and take the test.Second, students may take the same classes with the same level which they already took. For example, computer, drama, music, and art classes are repeated every year. Third, the school's system and teachers are not professional. In addition, tuition fee is really expensive and there are plenty of unsatisfied things there. It is not worthy to spend a lot of money to study at this school!

Sierra Elementary And High School 5

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
This is our 2nd year at Sierra. We were scrambling to find a school once we didn't have much success with open enrollment in the public school system. We stumbled across Sierra and couldn't be happier. The teachers are so hand on and teach to the ability of each child. There is always one teacher and an aide. At present we have 13 kids in our kindergarten/1st grade class. Not only do the kids get along from kindergarten to 5th grade but the parents all know each other. We are a small tight community here.

Sierra Elementary And High School 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
My children attend elementary school at Sierra School. We have been very pleased with the quality of the elementary program here. The model is to allow every child to move at their own pace and master the subject before moving on. They are able to accomodate children above and below their grade level because of the small class sizes and the low student to teacher ratio. There is a teacher and an aide in each of the three multi-grade classrooms. The "pros" of the school are the small class size, low ratios and differentiated model. The teachers work hard to give each child the work that is right for them - they are what really make the program succeed. The curriculum includes not only the traditional academic subjects, but also a music and peformance program, art, PE and Spanish. We find that the children are very respectful of one another. The "cons" of the school are related to the size . There are less than 40 children in grades K-5, so the social experiences for children can be somewhat limited. It is not a deluxe campus like you would see at more expensive schools. But for us, the positive experience in the classrooms far outweigh these concerns.


Sierra Elementary And High School 2

Posted August 11, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Sierra Elementary And High School 4

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
My daughter absolutely loves it here. She adores her teachers & friends. It's an extremely small school with only 100+ students from K-12. You get lots of individual attention. Her class has 15 kids with 1 teacher + 2 aids. You get to know most of the parents and can have lots of play dates. They provide individual instructions/work time for math, phonics and reading according to your ability. Plus you get enrichment classes like Spanish, Choir, drama, computer, arts, PE, etc. They also provide additional fee-based after school classes like Lego, arts or karate. Overall it's a great little private school. The only 2 downsides I can think of is 1) lack of after school clubs, sports team or music band and 2) they use mostly standard teaching methods (which is no worse off than most public or private schools) but not enough hands-on or project-based as we would like.

Sierra Elementary And High School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
We love Sierra School so far. Our child attends the elementary program there. Teachers are caring, and attentive. The academic curriculum is rigorous, and allows some room for individual tailoring.


Sierra Elementary And High School 4

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
We've been at Sierra School for 3 years. My child loves going to school each day. Instruction is tailored to bring out her best. Teachers are dedicated and caring. I received a report card each week and have easy access to the teachers. There are 12 students in the class a teacher and 2 assistants. With so much individual attention, my child shines. The students treat each other with respect. Misbehavior is dealt with appropriately. One student was asked to leave the school due to disruptive behavior. The classrooms provide an excellent learning environment. Spanish language, Art and Music are taught. There is after-school instruction as well. Teachers and Administrators are receptive and responsive to feedback. Weaknesses? This is not a school for kids who need sports teams/activities at school. Many kids join sport teams outside of school.

Sierra Elementary And High School 3

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
We found Sierra School to be just plain too small. room? Not even enough for decent games on the playground. Sometimes, kids do act out and need re-direction, not major negative consequences for minor infractions. The school pushed academics, but taught in such a way that the children reguritated lessons instead of truly comprehending them.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Elementary And High School
220 Blake Avenue, Santa Clara, CA  95051
(408) 247-4740
Last modified Sierra Elementary And High School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Sierra Elementary And High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top