Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bridgeport Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 1022 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

it feels cold just walking in, not sure why staff act so stuck up, bullying is a huge problem here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

This school is really a great school, despite what all the helicopter moms are saying below. After all the fuss about the supposedly wonderful new charter school, it's kind of ironic that those who took their children out of BP to enroll in that rather pretentiously named charter school are now trying to return to BP. In all the years my children have been attending BP, I can honestly say all the teachers and staff are wonderful, kind and caring. And my family is far from wealthy, so doesn't even qualify to belong to the so-called clique that I've seen mentioned. Don't believe the disgruntled charter school parents - Bridgeport is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

My kids currently attend Bridgeport and love it! It is a wonderful school with fabulous teachers. The office staff is helpful, kind, and professional. The administration is busy, but always there to listen if you need them. We couldn't be happier as parents, and are blessed to be receiving this type of education for free. My only desire as a parent would be for the school to hire PE teachers. Unfortunately, I don't think the money is there to hire them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

All teachers are energetic and passionate all my family love this school. Especially for immigrant family, they provide good ESL program for our son. We are happy as he could catch up with the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

My rating is due to the way I have been treated by the office staff as well as the teaching performance of my children's teachers. In my experience the office staff is judgmental and rude and acts as if I am bothering them whenever I have a question. I am to the point where I dread having to even talk with any of the office staff. I have expressed my concerns about several things to the principal and to the superintendent and none of my concerns have been addressed and most concerns are not even responded to. It has been a very frustrating experience as a parent of a child in this school. there are a couple of office staff that are friendly but most of them act as if I am bothering them and are more interested in judging my parenting then being helpful. As for my children's teachers I feel they do not challenge my kids enough and are more interested in developing friendships with them then challenging their academic needs. This school has been a major disappointment and I am looking into other schools for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

All three of my children attended this school. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful experience. The teachers were caring, knowledgable, and hard-working. Because of Bridgeport, my children are now lifetime learners and thirsty for knowledge. After reading the next few reviews below, I have a feeling that they are disgruntled Charter School parents that all got together one night to bash an amazing school! Shame on you! You have no idea what a bad school is until you've sent your child to a school in LAUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Bridgeport Elementary is a great school! Besides the awesome staff and wonderful PTA, there is a great feeling of community. It's nice to see so many parent volunteers helping out in the class. I feel students are getting a top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

It is scary and very disappointing to find out that Bridgeport Elem is been run by such a group of teachers and administrators. If you don't belong in their click or group , then you better . This school does not deserve the reputation that it has. Neit They are not interested in the success of the students The teachers have no motivation. The curriculum is watered down. Very unprofessional and rude office staff. (Don't get fooled by their pretentious smile. They are not honest. They play games which they cover up pretty good. The school's bathrooms are not maintained. lunch tables and area is left messy too often. They usually would clean up when an inspector is coming.. Most of the good teachers are gone. Those who are left (except for a few) are mostly friends with the principal or some other administrators. They have no field so they share with the park. Safety. Is a concern
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

My kids had been attending Bridgeport for a few years. The Principle and the office ladies have attitude issues. Teachers are lax and lazy, making your kids grade their homework. Some don't even grade homework, so what is the point of turning it in. Yard duties are mean, and kids are mean. You would wonder why they have high STAR scores?The answer is most of the Bridgeport moms can afford to stay home, teaching their kids with school work and studies.They help the kids more than the teachers. Also, there are a lot of dramas at Bridgeport. Like other reviews said, its all about money. The PTA just cares about how much you donate,but never use money wisely. My kids had been having walking field trips to supermarkets in hot summer days. What can they learn at a supermarket or pizza restaurant? I'm sure most of us moms take our kids to supermarkets for grocery shopping many many times already. Also, this school is about relationship. If you are a PTA staff or you donate a lot or you have a good relationship with the teachers or principle, then your kids will be placed with a good teacher. The school is Superficial.That's why I pulled my kids out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I wanted to like the school, I really did. But I never warmed to it. The building and grounds are cute and the parents are "pretty," but that's all superficial. My kids didn't seem to learn much, and it always seemed to me that the school was more focused on presenting beautifully-matted art work at Open House than actually inspiring the kids to learn. We had one inspiring teacher out of the 8 we had; the rest just went through the motions. Lots of busy work, lots of pointless homework, and lots of bored kids. There is lots of parent involvement, but I didn't see that as a good thing because they aren't just helping prepare materials, they are actually in the classroom teaching unsupervised. It was really weird to me. Kids can also skip recess to go into another classroom to grade papers or tear out worksheets, and they get "paid" with candy. All without parents knowing. Safety is also a concern at Bridgeport. Anybody can walk in and around the campus, and the kids play in the park during recess (which is not school grounds nor is it fenced in). Again, I really wanted to like it--it's a cute place, but after 3 years, we are outta there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This school is overrated, they teach to pass the start test!! The staff is not friendly! They care only about $$$$$ to enter the principal's club! It is crowded and some of the teachers are old and mean! It's all about the star testing and $$$$$$$! Glad my kid is out of there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I was so happy to be enrolling my kids into a 10 school. But now, a few years later I have been looking for ways to get them into a better school. This school seems to only care about STAR testing scores. The teachers are lazy and really need their performances reviewed more, if at all. I am not a believer of tenure when it comes to teachers. I believe in performance and a love of teaching. Last year both my kids seemed to watch way too many tv shows in their classes and both were bored and not even close to being challenged. Seriously Bridgeport, you really need a total re-evaluation of all your staff and curriculum including where all the funding dollars go. If the new charter school opening this fall got over 1000 sign ups then shouldn't you look into what they're doing right? And how and what they teach? It's no wonder my kids always complain about how boring school is. They're not learning enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

We feel so fortunate that our children are able to attend Bridgeport! Our children have received a wonderful education! The PTA is very dedicated and works hard to provide great programs for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

I'll start with the fact that we moved to Valencia from SFV in order to find better school for our children. Imagine how excited I was when we bought a house that was going to Bridgeport. Gorgeous new school building, very friendly ladies at the front office, that promise you, that you got into the best school in the area... A dream came true... Well, the dream was over when I met one of my kid's teacher and on all 3 questions I asked , she answered " You bet". I knew there's no good ahead.... The year my kids spent at Bridgeport was a loss of year IMO. They learned everything from the books, no interesting projects, no science lab, nothings like hands on. The teachers don't care at all about how the kids are doing. They are there to teach for the STAR testing and there it ends. Yard duties are not really nice. There are lots of mean kids from "wanna be rich" families, and the teachers are doing nothing, because these parents buy very expensive holiday presents. The school has many teacher's kids, principal's and assistant principal's kids in and of course they get better teachers. Oh, and if you donate 1000$ you can be in principal's club. And this part I "like" the most.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2013

When we moved here i thought o how beautiful and it looks like a really nice school... Not the case, the teachers do not give a hoot about the children. If you are not in their little box of what a student looks like or how smart they should be then your child will be a target for them. My child has special needs and was treated like something was wrong with HIM its them!. I also considered another school but change for my son is hard. Will see how this year goes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Initially I loved the school. Now that my children have been attending for a combined 8 years, I am liking it less and less. Yes, the academics are satisfactory, however, there is a problem with finding teachers who actually care about their students as human beings. When I think of a teacher, I picture one who is nurturing, caring, and genuinely enjoys his or her job. A true teacher is one who leads by example, building the children up as opposed to breaking them down and being punitive at every possible turn. A true leader is one who is able to think 'outside the box' to get children to learn; not just regurgitate what their teacher's manual says. The teachers we have dealt with at Bridgeport are seriously lacking in this department. There has been only one we truly loved (for all above stated reasons), but unfortunately he is no longer teaching at Bridgeport. The yard duties are considerably less than satisfactory, as well. Things here are so bad that we are enrolling our child who is currently attending (as well as the youngest) into another school next year. It's very sad to see the direction this school is going. It had such potential for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I honestly do not know where all of these positive reviews are coming from! Having two children who attend Bridgeport, I find the disappointment with the staff, teachers and especially the principal, continues to grow each year, so much so, I am now looking into enrolling my children elsewhere. The lack of communication from the school to the parents regarding upcoming school activates is almost non-existent, unless you consider a day or two notice of an event satisfactory. Not only does the school lack communication, they also plan most school events/functions during working hours. I missed my daughter's performance in the school play because it was scheduled for 2:00 p.m. The school has no regard for the parents who must actually work for a living. The staff seems annoyed anytime you ask a question or call in to get information. I have met several times with the principal to discuss some of the above issues, as well as others, it is such a waste of time, talking to her is like talking to a wall, nothing ever changes. Before enrolling your child at Bridgeport, take the time to look at the other schools in the district. Just comparing websites speaks volumes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

6 months into kindergarten and my daughter is doing great and loves it. Outstanding principal who is involved. I can't speak for the other grades, but K is awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

Our children attended this school until we relocated to MI. We have missed the academic rigor this school offered as well as the focus on health and wellness and cultural diversity. Our children are in a school district labeled "9" and "10" on this site, with top test scores, yet the close-mindedness and general ignorance of the community reigns supreme. We really miss the healthy mentality of this area and the focus on character building at this school. Finally (unless this has changed) we remember that nutrition was stressed at Bridgeport, and candy/"junk" food was strongly discouraged. Again, in fat-laden MI, anything goes and even the teachers bribe the students with junk!! If you are considering this school/district, go for it. We miss leaving this area every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

We moved out of state and can now compare schools...All I can say is there is no perfect school. But Bridgeport has a lot going for the kids: a strong Principal, caring teachers and office staff, great PTA and lots of after school activities. If you are one of the parents who hate the state testing, just know that if your child is not in the "Advanced" level, don't even start dreaming of competitive colleges. Various States purposely lowered their tests/standards so they can get federal funding. Even kids know this. By 5th/grade, they knew that STAR tests are a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

926

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

926

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females88%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females92%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner90%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females80%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females85%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability83%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females94%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females85%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females91%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females83%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students92%
Females92%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females89%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females75%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Asian 18%
Hispanic 15%
Black 4%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/AN/A
English language learners 13%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Bender
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (661) 286-1598
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23670 Newhall Ranch Road
Santa Clarita, CA 91355
Phone: (661) 294-5375

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Legacy Christian Academy
Santa Clarita, CA


Emblem Academy
Saugus, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT