Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rio Norte Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Santa Clarita

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $342,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter attended Rio this year and we were extremely UNDERwhelmed. Everyone told us this was a great school and everything was new, but the reality is that there are a few rally good teachers that are overshadowed by the awful ones. There is little done about bullies, and bullying is a huge issue here. My daughter said that someone was expelled for having "you know what" on campus - THIS IS JR HIGH!!! (guidelines say I can't tell you, but let's just say the 60 's and 70's were known for it) We will finish out this year then we are moving to an older Jr High in the valley - I toured the campus, spoke to teachers (many were students there), and spoke to people in the community. From what I see & hear Placerita is the best kept secret in this valley. Want to go where teachers a mediocre at best, and really care nothing about your child? Go to Rio Norte, it will be everything you expect it to be. Wish there was a way to leave ZERO STARS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

This school was an extreme disappointment. I wish I knew more about it before our son started in the school so that we could have found him an alternative option. He has always been a straight A student, especially excelling in math. In the 8th grade in Rio he actually failed math despite spending literally hours on homework every night. His teacher advised against any of the students getting tutors and yet when my son approached her for assistance she announced to the class that she only had a few minutes to provide assistance because she had to "tutor some idiot at 3:00." She constantly screamed at the students and almost the entire class went to summer school. My son went to a private summer school (due to date difficulties) and completed the Algebra class with a 97% grade. He just completed his first year of high school with a 98% final grade.He knows math, this teacher is horrible. Of course I complained and received no response. He had another teacher that just left him to sit and do nothing throughout the class as he was "too busy to assign work to individual students." The responses I got (if any) were bizarre to say the least. Do your child a favor, find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

This is the worst Jr High!! The teachers do NOT care about the students. They do not offer help or any postive feedback. They all seem to hate the job and the kids. The bulling problen is out of control and no one cares. Do not send your kids here. I wish you could give no stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

Rio Norte has been a great experience for our family. Wonderful teachers and staff. My son has enjoyed his time at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

Best school ever. The principal is very concerned about the students. He is everywhere around the school. The teachers and PTA are awesome!!! The learning level is surely outstanding. My daughter has learned a lot while at Rio Norte. She will miss it a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Not a very good school. I attended Rio Norte for both 7th and 8th grade. 7th grade was a wonderful year, but when I got to 8th grade, everything fell apart. The office staff were unbelievably unhelpful. I was told by a particular Algebra teacher that "good students never raise their hand". I was also told by an English teacher that my poetry had "too much emotion" to it and I was given an F. I went from a straight A student in 7th grade to a C student in 8th grade. I Look, if you are looking for a "normal", run of the mill school, and if you want your children to recieve nothing more than a "normal" education, I suppose Rio Norte would be the school for your children. Also, if you have any children with learning disabilities, you will go through absolute hell at this school.


Posted January 30, 2012

Shocked by the lack of assistance by the staff. My son was a straight A student and upon his first year at Rio, went to all C's and one D. The response from the staff, "we are here to educate and grade, nothing more". We have pulled our son out to attend Catholic School. Ida who is the person that terminates the students attendance said we were breaking the law by putting our child in another school without removing him from Rio. The asst principle, Mrs. Dos said that was not true. The school is unorganized and shows the lack of effort to assist our students AND seems to only concentrate on budget cuts. Dont put your children in such a low morale school that will only allow your student to NOT read, write or show proper math skills. I am very disappointed with such a good neighborhood allowing this to take place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

I don't understand all the great scores of this school unless other public schools in California are really bad. Class offerings and tests are good, but that's only half the story. My kid, who is a straight A, endures teachers who don't seem able to control the classroom, administrators who would rather eat snack foods in the office rather than help control those students, extremely poor quality food for lunch, and not nearly enough time for students to eat their lunches. There is lots of room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

My two older children attended Rio Norte. As far as education goes, it was okay, but the block schedule caused some confusion. My biggest problem with Rio Norte is that in 2008, during the Presidential campaign, many students wore clothing supporting one particular candidate, and a few of the teachers spoke openly about their progressive political leanings. Kids of this age don't need to hear teachers talk about how bad or good a politician is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

i am in 7th grade at rio as of now. before i graduated from 6th grade, of course, i was nervous. on my first day, i was welcomed and had an amazing experience with the staff! i absolutely love it! the office people are just great too! rio really knows how to help a student when they are having trouble. i hope you get a chance to see what i mean for yourslef(:


Posted June 11, 2009

It's a great school that thinks outside of the box!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

i went there its was a great junior high expierince. i switch there in 8th grade from la mesa jr. high. the teachers at rio norte reeally know how to help students excell. i loved it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2007

Rio Norte is an school that excels at all levels. As parents, we are thrilled that our seventh grade daughter attends this wonderful school, and are excited about the prospects of our two younger children going there in the future. Rio Norte has a progressive block schedule, wherein students attend three classes per day for a longer period of time. The periods are scattered throughout the week, so over a given rotation, each class meets during blocks A, B, and C. Thus, every child attends Mediaeval History (7th grade) in the early morning, in the late morning, and in the afternoon. Ingenious! In addition, students are placed into teams, so the same pool of students shares the same cadre of teachers. This encourages personalization and essentially builds small schools within a larger campus, a great attribute for all schools. Finally, and most importantly, the teachers are dedicated, industrious, and caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

After going to a private school for all of my elementary years, I was apprehensive about coming to Rio Norte and entering the public school system. But after the first few days there I knew I would enjoy both of my years there immensely. I am so ecstatic about being able to go here for the past two years and as a student, I feel ready for the pressure of high school. I am surely going to miss Rio Norte. It has been a great place for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2006

Since the elementary schools that feed into this school are all academically superb, the students come in highly motivated, scholastically-driven, and with a well-developed skill set. Thus, it is incumbent upon such a school to deliver what parents are accustomed to: an excellent, standards-based, rigorous education analogous to what the accelerated college preparatory schools offer. Rio Norte delivers! We consider ourselves blessed, indeed, to have our daughter attend this exceptional school. The campus itself is beautiful and well-maintained. The teachers are demanding yet reasonable. The staff is caring and nurturing, yet teachers hold students accountable for their own learning. The counseling staff is receptive and responsive. Thank you, Rio Norte!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

This school is really great for my daughter. The environment is comfortable and the campus is very clean. There is also a system called the block schedule where students only have three periods a day (i.e. periods 1,2,3 on one day and periods 4,5,6 on the other day). This gives the students a chance to have more time in the classes do they can understand the courses better. Also, there are many electives such as home economics(cooking), band(beginnung or advanced), drama,and more. There's also PTSA, where parents can get involved with the school's activities or just volunteer and help out. This school has done a great deal for my daughter and she is in 7th grade. The teachers are nice, funny, and they teach very well. P.S. the food tastes great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

This school is absolutely great. My son was the first class to graduate and my daughter now attends. Like any school, there are a few teachers who do not respond to parents questions or concerns, however the majority of the staff is outstanding, including the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2006

I love this school, and I've been to a lot of school! Great student body, my parents were very impressed my 1st year there and I'm going back for 8th grade!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2006

This is an awesome school with a great principal and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

904

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

904

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

572 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

550 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females100%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females84%
Males76%
African American57%
Asian94%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females69%
Males65%
African American26%
Asian89%
Filipino66%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students86%
Females90%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females83%
Males80%
African American75%
Asian90%
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability30%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students57%
Females52%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate61%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students79%
Females78%
Males80%
African American72%
Asian93%
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students88%
Females85%
Males91%
African American71%
Asian97%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability60%
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 7%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28771 Rio Norte Drive
Santa Clarita, CA 91354
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 295-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


West Creek Academy
Valencia, CA




Trinity Classical Academy
Santa Clarita, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT