Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Santa Clarita, CA
Students enrolled: 475
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Golden Oak Community School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
They don't want to do any extra curriculum activities! They are just collecting a paycheck!

Golden Oak Community School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
If the in crowd kids don't have to follow the rules, do you think my child wants to????


Golden Oak Community School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
Unless you are in the "in crowd" your child means nothing. The PTA board kids run around like crazy animals during PTA meetings. If your child has a falling out with "in crowd" kids, they are sent to speak with the vice principal.

Golden Oak Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
If the teachers and staff show favoritism, and the kids see it, how is that developing honesty, integrity, and fairness. If you look at the PTA and staff members' cars, some how they all have a student of the month bumper stickers. How fair is that! The staff mistreats the custodian. Some don't even look at him when they are talking to him, as if he's beneath them.

Golden Oak Community School 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Love this school. Our children are thriving. 1st and 3rd grade. Wonderful attentive teachers, great community.


Golden Oak Community School 1

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent of a 3rd grader at Golden Oak. I don't like how 3rd grade teachers separate students everyday into different classrooms based on his/her reading and math test scores (low, middle or high) and then teach them different curriculum. 8 and 9 year olds need more time with their primary teacher in order to build a strong bond and communication. I don't think my son's primary teacher heard my child read until halfway through the school year! Crazy!

Golden Oak Community School 2

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent at Golden Oak for the past 5 years and am very unimpressed this year. The Principal and teachers showed a complete disrespect for parent concerns and instead became dictators. I think teachers are just burned out with all of the Technology and Common Core training and testing that they have lost focus on teaching children the love of learning.

Golden Oak Community School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Our oldest will be graduating after 7 years at this school and we couldn't be any happier with the education and attention received. We have a second child enrolled as well and we plan on enrolling our third child in a few years as well. There is never any pressure from administration to volunteer or donate; just a wonderful family community school.


Golden Oak Community School 1

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
If you are parent who can volunteer many hours or can donate money then you will receive a great education. If you are the average working family that is unable to volunteer on a regular basis or donate money then your child will be placed with the less popular/quality teachers.

Golden Oak Community School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We could not be happier with Golden Oak! It has a private school feel to it and the attention to reading and math is intense and the results show in the test scores! The teachers are balanced in their attention to academic but also enrichment and arts. The parents are involved and supportive. We will hate to move to Jr. High next year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden Oak Community School
25201 Via Princessa, Santa Clarita, CA  91321
(661) 251-8929
Last modified Golden Oak Community School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Golden Oak Community School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top