Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Mesa Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Santa Clarita

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $244,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

I'm so impressed by this school and its wonderful teachers and staff. My son is thriving at La Mesa and enjoys going to school each day. He regularly comes home talking about his beloved English teacher, Mr. Strauss, a man who can really connect with his students and make English class interesting. The band director, Mr. Stephan, is TOP NOTCH. I have never attended a junior high school band concert that deserved a standing ovation until now. This school really has a lot to offer and we're always well informed about upcoming events and grade status.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

So far so good! My older son loves La Mesa & the team he is on for 7th grade (QUEST) is outstanding! My son was struggling with the first unit in math & his teacher worked with him during brunch to help improve his grade. ALL the teachers we have been in contact with have been very supportive & willing to go the extra step to make sure my son has success (every email/phone call has been returned). The PE program is outstanding & love that they compete with the other JHS in the SCV for cross country & track (my son was lucky enough to compete last fall). My other son is looking forward to attending La Mesa next year because of all the wonderful things he has heard from my son & his friends about their experiences at La Mesa. My only concern is my son going to GVHS under the current principal & administration there, the Principal & current administration @ GVHS have been known to be apathetic & weak in their leadership. Students deserve better at GVHS then a stagnant school, the Hart District needs to make a change for positive student growth (instead of being the districts doormat or joke, "Ghetto Valley" is the nickname that other teachers at other schools refer to GHVS as).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

This is one of the worst schools my son has EVER attended! The chaos between the inconsistency of the teachers, homework, grading policies, homework policies along with other issues. The large amount of papers that maybe a teacher will grade, maybe not, that the teachers might record, or they miss, the homework website that they all say they do daily but then a month into the semester, they don't, or can't keep up with, is the craziest thing I have ever seen! My son has been doing homework from one class for the last 9 hours. The teachers blame the students although my father which is a college graduate along with my husband, which is also a college graduate, my mother and myself work daily as a team to figure out what teacher puts or doesn't put homework up on the website then checking Interactive Notebooks, which is a WASTE OF TIME book they TAPE EVERY paper ever done into. That might or might not be graded to then get a grade for taping the homework in! Not to mention the packets of work, that don't belong with everything in the Interactive Notebook, that might or might not have a stamp or check mark (depending on the teacher). These children are set up by this school to FAIL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Well im in 8th an im having fun . Im in the Brainics team and it's hard but if you study and pay attention it becomes easy. Mr. Galarza my science teacher is super tough but it's because he wants the best for us kids. Mr. Shulman is really funny and Mr. Suarez my pe teacher is nice. Pe can be tough but if you try and don't cheat yourself you'll do good. You run a lot but you get use to it. I started with a 9:33 mile and know im at a 7:40. So i like this school and i hope you do to.


Posted August 8, 2013

la mesa is a Wonderful school.. im going into my 8th grade year and i cant wait all of my teachers were awsome mrs. savage was my math teacher and her doors were open every day for extra help and my elective teacher mrs.Debeekah was also a very fun and loving teacher.. i might not be able to do PE this year so im goin to try to get in her elective class again:)


Posted July 21, 2013

Its an awful school. The teachers lack a lot in their ability to succsesfully eduacate children. The teachers seem to have no motivation, or care about their students. My child worst teacher A 8th grade math teacher "Rebecca Brammer". My child always came home and toled my of how depressed she seems, and that she really never smiles. Other teachers were somewhat of the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

This is a good public junior high school. The drop-off and pick -up is not the best but is ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

I was not happy with my childs experience here and I am a very involved parent. Some teachers are so mean but nothing can be done. Over crowding makes a teachers job difficult and not all parents participate. We are seeking private education or the charter schools now. It is terrible what is happening to the schools out here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I had some very good times at this school and also some very bad times, and I miss the school very much. The teachers were just amazing, they all took great pride in teaching. The band was very dedicated. The P.E. program is incredibly well-rounded. The campus is simple and you can quickly get used to it. The library is BEYOND AMAZING, very nice people running it, nice and spacious, a lot of nice literature, nicely organized. The only thing that I can really complain about is the bullying. There is a lot of bullying at this school. It isn't always apparent but it occurs. I don't blame the administration. The traffic in the morning is a minor problem, the drop-off area is much too small. There were a few fights, a few drug problems, and some pretty bad kids, but if you leave them alone and hang with the right people, you should be fine. Overall I had a pretty nice experience at this school, learned a lot, and made good friends. The staff is very helpful and they TRULY care, trust me. It has its rough moments, but I believe that's normal.


Posted December 1, 2010

I am in ASB leadership class! i luv it! i luv this school! (even though the councilers dont need to be in my buisness) but i have a lot of fun! i reccomend ur child to go here!!! :)


Posted November 1, 2010

I didn't really like this school, I don't miss it a lot. The teachers weren't amazing, the curriculum was below average, the PE program was .... terrible. The students are not encouraged to be kind or respectful, and the principal doesn't do a good job of overseeing the school.


Posted October 26, 2010

I HAVE BEEN A PARENT AT LA MESA FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS AND I CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE PRINCIPAL, VICE PRINCIPALS AND OFFICE STAFF!!! THEY ARE THE BEST. MY CHILD STRUGGLES IN MATH AND I AM SO PLEASED TO HAVE SUCH AN EXCELLENT MATH TEACHER THAT OFFERS EXTRA HELP!! I WOULD NOT HAVE GONE TO ANY OTHER SCHOOL IN THE DISTRICT!!!! THANK YOU LA MESA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

When I went to this school, I made it into Algebra1 in 7th grade and expected myself to fail because you have to have a B+ to pass. The teachers in my team were sooo good i got over 100% in each class [including Algebra 101.8%!]. I was amazed with my accomplishments and loved this school so much. I recommend this school to anyone. This year, it's full of amazing and nice people. The school has strict rules against many things and some, a little unreasonable but it's okay because you will absolutely love this school. The teachers teach amazingly well too. Don't be afraid to enroll your children here.


Posted May 12, 2010

This is an unsatisfactory school. The ASB is especially poor, and the students do not to get to vote on much. There are no ASB officers, and the teacher quality is below average. The traffic in the mornings and afternoons are also terrible. The curriculum is very behind and the state test scores were also very low. Only 16 points above average, whereas other schools in this district reached the 890s. The dress code is also not very strongly enforced, there is a lot of language and fights that go unnoticed. The activities and dances are also unorganized. Also, teachers don't try to motivate the students to do their best here. The PE program is also unsatisfactory. Many of the teachers are rude and behave just as badly as the students.The only thing that saved this review from getting only one star was the decent quality band.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2010

i loved this school; and when i moved i missed it sooooo much; and the taechers there teach really good; in my new school their behind ; lamesa is one of the best school i've evr been to
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2010

well the kids dont want to learn and some teachers dont tech or enforce rules in their classroom but some teachers are really cool and just make learning fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

I love this school. I wake up every morning and I just cant wait to get to school. It has amazing teachers and staff, perfect atmosphere, and the best class of '09 baby! Bottom line: this school is the bomb!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

I loved this school, it was the best. I am in eighth grade and my teachers taught me a lot and prepared me for my journey into highschool. The principal is beyond amazing. I used to go to Sierra Vista, but I LOVE La Mesa.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

I had a daughter who went to this school 2 years and graduated with very good grades 2008. Though she didn't do well in her first year due to the fact she didn't turn in her work not because of the teachers. I myself communicated with each of her teachers on a daily basis. The teachers have expectations because they are getting the kids ready for High School, If a patent cant work with the Staff to convince the student to do well then any of these students will fail. I have personaly worked through behavior problems and this staff with my child in this school and won in the end with 99.9% improvement in grades. It is true that the Music Program is 100% excelent this band 2008 had 2-4 students in the Honors Band 2008 and the teacher is commited 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Hear me out. 99.9% of them are all from lazy students who do not know what they are doing. The band program is amazing! If your a good person and do what your supposed to do you'll be fine. LA Mesa has fewbullying problems. The only people who get bullied are people who ask for it. They are rude,pompous, and just plain jerks. La mesa is a great school. As a 7th grader I must say. Just do what your supposed to do and you'll be fine. As for the teachers,all of the teachers I've had are pretty cool. They only seem mean when you are rude or don't do your work. Which is understandable. The teachers have over 100 students. They help you if you ask for it. They cannot look over everyone at the same time. Its time to grow up kids. its not preschool anymore.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

475 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
57%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

564 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males57%
African American61%
Asian78%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students55%
Females57%
Males54%
African American45%
Asian83%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students70%
Females74%
Males66%
African American69%
Asian75%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to state70%

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females67%
Males53%
African American50%
Asian81%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to state45%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students47%
Females47%
Males47%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%

Geometry

All Students94%
Females90%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students60%
Females60%
Males60%
African American66%
Asian84%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Science

All Students74%
Females72%
Males76%
African American69%
Asian94%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 55%
White 21%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
English language learners 19%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26623 May Way
Santa Clarita, CA 91351
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 250-0022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Santa Clarita Christian
Santa Clarita, CA




Mission View Public School
Santa Clarita, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT