Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Mesa Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2008

i hated this school. it ruined my middle school life! if you are considering putting your child here, dont. try rio norte or something else. i switch after being held back from laack of teaching. the teachers at lamesa dont know how to help students and they are mean. try rio norte. thats where i switch after la mesa. its one of the best schools in calfornia
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I am so disappointed in this school. My daughter and other students we know have been subjected to bullying and nothing is done about it. Security is lax, as you can see from all the fights that have been taking place between students. Many kids don't feel safe there and unfortunately the problem seems to be getting worse. There doesn't seem to be much communication between parents & teachers. Most parents don't realize their student is failing until they get a report card and then it's too late to do anything about it. That's it for me, I'm currently looking for a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

My son recently completed 2 years at this school. He enjoyed his 2 years immensely, and we are truly sad to leave. The administration was very helpful, the teachers were both challenging and nurturing, and I agree with the other post, the band program is stellar!! Lobos are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

I am a 7 grader at this school and i it! the teachers, counselers, principal and the extracirricular activities are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I am currently a 7th grader at La Mesa. I love this school. Even though they have taken off the uniforms ( due to polls) they still care about their dress code immensely. Our teachers and Counselors are very helpful, and are always there. They openly tell us everyday where and when they are open in their classrooms to help us. We are teenagers now, young adults, we should have the responsibility to come during our break to come for help. Our principal is always boosting us up with ' what kind of day is it? It's a great day for learning!' Many Extracurricular activities such as Running and Tennis Club. This school is far by the best in everything. PE, electives, teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2006

The principal is very involved with this school. His motto: 'Every day is a great day for learning here at La Mesa' The band program is stellar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

As a parent, I have found that my daughter's experience at LaMesa does not mirror the experiences of the comments below. The school makes every effort to help each child. The student counselor works with the student and, if necessary, the parents. The teachers and staff make every effort to clear up any problems that may occur. I have nothing but praise for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

The teachers obviously don't care about the students. There is absolutely no parent involvement unless the parent insists on it. They do not inform the parents if their child's grade is dropping within a short period of time or if your child is having a learning problem even when requested. They find it easier to fail a child then help them or deal with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

The lack of communication in this school is unexceptable and inexcusable. They refuse to call you if your child is failing! Parents, remember we are paying their salaries. My son was struggling in two classes since the 2nd quarter. I've called, met with his teachers, counselor (what a joke) and the principal himself who all promised me to monitor him closely. Guess what, they didn't. They dropped the ball again and again. We have two weeks left of school and they are now telling me he won't be able to participate in the ceremony because he failed two classes in the 2nd quarter. I am livid. I've been begging them to help him, and nothing was done. This is disgraceful. They won't get away with this. Don't let this happen to you. Our children are suffering because of their lack of communication and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Being the parent of a number of children, La Mesa Junior High School was the worst experience of any school any of my children attended. The teachers do not communicate with parents. Discipline was far more important than the student. My son was an honor student, but I didn't feel the quality of his education was as good as what my other children received at other junior high schools in the Wm. S. Hart District. Teachers never returned calls and the former Principal specifically said, 'if you don't like it here, go somewhere else.' I would never send another student to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I'm currenty an 8th grade student at La Mesa. I personaly feel there is a lack of communication between administration, students, and parents. like wise a lack of communication between teachers and parents. for instance when I enrolled the person my mother talked to neglected to inform us of the school uniform. I also think the administration is too tough on students. No cell phones, No music players, No this, No that. we are discouaraged self expression. Though the school is primaraly white (unusual in this community) and definitely better than the surrounding schools I fell their policies are far too strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2003

looking at my child's recent progress report... 3 F's.. i have yet to receive a call from a teacher or the school in regards to my child's failing education.... nor has a meeting been scheduled to discuss an action plan between student, parent, and teacher to get my child on track so that she can be successful... this will not happen until i make that first call.... and after that first call... they will appear to be interested.. only to drop the ball, once again..... their lack of communication and their lack of interest in making sure that every child has a chance to be successful.. and not giving that child who is struggling... a chance at success. they simply do not care... they are unable to provide proper tools to a child that is having a hard time. every child deserves a chance to be successful...the foundation that is set at this level will determine their success in the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

475 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
57%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

564 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males57%
African American61%
Asian78%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students55%
Females57%
Males54%
African American45%
Asian83%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students70%
Females74%
Males66%
African American69%
Asian75%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to state70%

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females67%
Males53%
African American50%
Asian81%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to state45%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students47%
Females47%
Males47%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%

Geometry

All Students94%
Females90%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students60%
Females60%
Males60%
African American66%
Asian84%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Science

All Students74%
Females72%
Males76%
African American69%
Asian94%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 55%
White 21%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
English language learners 19%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26623 May Way
Santa Clarita, CA 91351
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 250-0022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Santa Clarita Christian
Santa Clarita, CA




Mission View Public School
Santa Clarita, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT