Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School 4

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I think this school is superb! The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that some of the History taught reflects the personal political and social views of the teachers. There needs to be much less bias and more balance in the History curriculum.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted July 01, 2012
- a parent
We absolutely love this school. My daughter came from Scotts Valley Middle, hesitated about switching, and fell in love with the school, does not want to go back at all. I agree that this school is not necessarily for everyone. It is somewhat different from the "typical" American high school experience (and I think it's no coincidence that it has a somewhat more international group of families than many of the local schools). If your child prefers a large campus, or an emphasis on sports, or the more typical American high school experience that one reviewer described (football, basketball, etc.), then this school might not be for your child. However, if your student would like a small campus, close community, much stronger emphasis on fine arts, languages, sciences and academics, then this could be a great school. We have also liked it socially. My daughter has found a great group of friends; although they do work hard, they have a lot of fun together too and are really nice kids. Also, there is less pressure here to fit into some of the high school stereotypes (jock, nerd, cheerleader). Not for everyone, but they serve their stated mission extremely well.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School 2

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter left PCS at two months into 7th grade due to stress and the fact that we wanted her to have the typical "high school" experience that we didn't see happening at the highly academic-oriented format of PCS. I'm happy to say that , after leaving PCS, she enjoyed the typical high school football and basketball games, formals and fun of high school as well as the acadmic rigor requred to get her into a great college. This week, coming from Soquel High, she was accepted into University of Chicago, Georgetown, Northwestern, Tufts and American. So, parents, my advice to you would be to think carefully about the unrelentingly priority that PCS has on rigor with a healthy, social and academic focus that could equally happen in your local high school.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
PCS is a great school overall. However it is very demanding , my kids are doing fine, but sometimes they struggle for such challenging academic programs. Sometimes I wonder if I should transfer them to a regular school.. On the other hand I can see the great results and positive impact on my 3 kids. It is adifficult choice as a parent, don't take it lightly... If you don't have the time to sit down and help your kid succed on a daily basis through organizational skills or academic direction don't apply. PCS volunteers are great, the teachers are very good and the leadership strong as well.. My kudos to all of them.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a community member
Amazing education that far surpasses all other schools in all of Monterey Bay. I have found that other students in their freshmen year at other schools are learning the material we learned in 7th grade. PCS will prepare me for very prestigious schools, far better than other public schools.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a community member
A brilliant education delivered singlehandedly by a brilliant group of devoted teachers. That's all there is to it.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 2

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
Our son left (along with about 11 other students) in his Jr. Year. The emphasis was primarily on AP test taking and so much homework that seemed to gauge how much work students could do vs. how much they learned. For him, the curriculum's rigidity and lack of choice made learning seem like a chore instead of a life-long pursuit. It is a school that works for some kids and not others. Parents should think about what their child is like and what they want out of their education and see if it is a good fit before having them choose this school.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 2

Posted June 30, 2009
- a parent
My daughter left PCS after attending 7-10 grades. Though very bright she found the pressure to get good grades and homework load were too great. She started out with great self esteem and a love to learn and left with feelings of failure, inadequacy and burn out. The homework load left her little time to pursue any other interests outside of academics. She is now attending another small charter school and is much happier and feels she is actually learning more then at PCS because she is now taught how to think and at PCS she was mostly taught how to pass the AP tests.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted January 03, 2009
- a parent
PCS has an amazing faculty devoted to public education and college preparation for all students. The curriculum is extremely rigorous and is not for everyone, but only for STUDENTS (not just parents) who want it. It is not a place a student can be forced to attend. It has a narrow mission--college prep for everyone, and admission is lottery based--and that is what is done well. There is also a strong emphasis on community service and a global perspective. As with most educational endeavors, it is experimental and does not cover every aspect of student and child development. Many non-academic aspects of growing up are left for families to cover in their own way. The school culture is very positive and academic. Students have fun, care about each other and work very hard.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
The previous poster sums up perfectly our family's experience with PCS. Our kids work hard in an environment in which this is nothing special, just what's done by just about everyone, just because that's how things are done around here. No big deal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pacific Collegiate Charter School
255 Swift Street, Santa Cruz, CA  95060
(831) 479-7785
Last modified Pacific Collegiate Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pacific Collegiate Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top