Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pacific Collegiate Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 05, 2015
- a student
We are grateful for the excellence of the teachers, staff and community at Pacific Collegiate School. Everyone at PCS works hard and has a positive respectful attitude. The learning environment encourages everyone not only to academically achieve, but also to be their best self and to give back to their community. We are proud to be involved at PCS and to strive for excellence.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
PCS is an excellent school for academic preparation for college. My child works hard to be a successful student at PCS because she is motivated by demonstrated mutual respect and positive role models of the principal, teachers, other students and community of the school. Pacific Collegiate School is an example of how great all schools can truly be if they are committed to being involved in the process of creating a positive and excellent learning environment.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
The Principal of Pacific Collegiate School in Santa Cruz, CA is awesome. He is a big reason why the school has such a good reputation. He makes sure that the school is going above and beyond the call of duty in every category to provide students with the best possible education. He is an excellent role model and everyone likes him. We are thrilled to be a part of the school. The Principal is leading the way, and the students can all reach theur full and true potential. All schools can follow this example.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
At PCS there is just a higher expectation for the students-and they rise to the challenge. My daughter was at risk of falling between the cracks at her public school in Scotts Valley and luckily made it into the lottery at PCS entering 7th grade. The teachers at PCS pulled her up and when she started slipping, she had to attend mandatory study sessions with older students who tutored as a means to earn community service hours. She also was invited to lunch study sessions with some of the teachers when she needed extra help. It is NOT true that you have to be a really great student to attend PCS. She is an excellent example of that. They take ANY student and make them great students-that is the magic of PCS! She ended up graduating as an AP Scholar with Honors and is now attending her first-choice college. She participated in so many clubs during her time at PCS; her favorite by far was the Key Club, where she helped tutor kids in the Barrios Unidos program. She fell in love with those kids and still stays in touch with some of them. Her younger siblings are now attending PCS and are doing wonderfully. They are in an atmosphere where their peers are supportive and high achieving, and so it is just the norm to do likewise. They are active in several different sports on campus and we have found wonderful sportsmanship from their teammates and parents alike-who, by the way, are all super involved and on top of their students' lives. It's so refreshing to be in a school where I know my kids are getting the best education available, where their peers are kind, supportive and supported, the parents are involved, friendly and have formed a really special community, and the teachers truly care about the students and are available to them. I couldn't recommend PCS highly enough.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 4

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I think this school is superb! The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that some of the History taught reflects the personal political and social views of the teachers. There needs to be much less bias and more balance in the History curriculum.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted July 01, 2012
- a parent
We absolutely love this school. My daughter came from Scotts Valley Middle, hesitated about switching, and fell in love with the school, does not want to go back at all. I agree that this school is not necessarily for everyone. It is somewhat different from the "typical" American high school experience (and I think it's no coincidence that it has a somewhat more international group of families than many of the local schools). If your child prefers a large campus, or an emphasis on sports, or the more typical American high school experience that one reviewer described (football, basketball, etc.), then this school might not be for your child. However, if your student would like a small campus, close community, much stronger emphasis on fine arts, languages, sciences and academics, then this could be a great school. We have also liked it socially. My daughter has found a great group of friends; although they do work hard, they have a lot of fun together too and are really nice kids. Also, there is less pressure here to fit into some of the high school stereotypes (jock, nerd, cheerleader). Not for everyone, but they serve their stated mission extremely well.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 2

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter left PCS at two months into 7th grade due to stress and the fact that we wanted her to have the typical "high school" experience that we didn't see happening at the highly academic-oriented format of PCS. I'm happy to say that , after leaving PCS, she enjoyed the typical high school football and basketball games, formals and fun of high school as well as the acadmic rigor requred to get her into a great college. This week, coming from Soquel High, she was accepted into University of Chicago, Georgetown, Northwestern, Tufts and American. So, parents, my advice to you would be to think carefully about the unrelentingly priority that PCS has on rigor with a healthy, social and academic focus that could equally happen in your local high school.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
PCS is a great school overall. However it is very demanding , my kids are doing fine, but sometimes they struggle for such challenging academic programs. Sometimes I wonder if I should transfer them to a regular school.. On the other hand I can see the great results and positive impact on my 3 kids. It is adifficult choice as a parent, don't take it lightly... If you don't have the time to sit down and help your kid succed on a daily basis through organizational skills or academic direction don't apply. PCS volunteers are great, the teachers are very good and the leadership strong as well.. My kudos to all of them.


Pacific Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a community member
Amazing education that far surpasses all other schools in all of Monterey Bay. I have found that other students in their freshmen year at other schools are learning the material we learned in 7th grade. PCS will prepare me for very prestigious schools, far better than other public schools.

Pacific Collegiate Charter School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a community member
A brilliant education delivered singlehandedly by a brilliant group of devoted teachers. That's all there is to it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pacific Collegiate Charter School
255 Swift Street, Santa Cruz, CA  95060-6225
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (831) 479-7785
Last modified Pacific Collegiate Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top