Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Louis De Montfort

Private | K-8 | 261 students

Loving, Christ-centered environment with high academic expectations and achievem

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Maria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

What's tough with the program is that many of the teacher's, administrator's and clerical staff have spent too many years on the job and should consider retirement. They value their own self-interest over that of the school, community and the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

This school has made some changes for the worse this last year so my children and I are now happy to leave
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

I love this school! Great teachers, caring environment! I have had three children go through from K - 8th grades and have always felt they are getting the best education with an addition of our Catholic values! My children have gone on to become confident, faith filled young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

This is an amazing school. I am not only an alumni but have two students that attend. The school is very welcoming and has a family feel. The curriculum is challenging but that's what I like about it. I am very thankful to have my own children in a school where I know they are safe and treated with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

My daughter is a 3rd grader here, and I would have to agree with the other reviews. It seems like every month there is a fundraiser or they are asking for money or charging you extra money in fees. We did extended care this year and are now paying close to $6000 a year to attend. IT IS NOT WORTH IT. They need serious help, we are changing schools next year. My daughter deserves way better then what this school has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

This school is the worst possible way to invest your money. All of the reviews that are higher than one or two stars are the faculty trying to boost their rating. The teachers are terrible, they have no idea what they're talking about. and they have the wrong ideals to be teaching a young student that will carry with them throughout their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Difficult environment, newer teachers lack experience, older teachers locked in the past. Programs lack of focus on the basics, forces many kids to supplement with tutors, tutoring club, ... many kids just don't fit this archaic model. Teachers unable to control kids without yelling. Behavioral issues resulting from poor teacher rapport with students. Lots of passing the buck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2010

This is the best investment you can make for your child's future.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 29%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5095 Harp Road
Santa Maria, CA 93455
Phone: (805) 937-5571

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT