Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-1
Private
Santa Monica, CA
Students enrolled: 11

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garden Of Angels School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
GofA is a great school! My son was attending for 3 years. When we came from Greece he did not speak any English and it was difficult to deal with our new reality! But because of the school curriculum and the people's kindness and experience he learned so many new things among them to love being at school, to understand the difference between people, to be polite and to discover his talents (dance and crafts). Thank you all ! We are really miss you.

Garden Of Angels School 2

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
I do not recommend this school at all. After our children attended for 4 years... We realized the major huge problem with this school. It is the director. She is very mean spirited, talks unkindly about other parents, speaks of children's short comings, and is solely interested to pursue her acting career. If you are a director or actor she will love you and hug you all day. Otherwise you will be snubbed and treated horribly. Please save your money and go to a school where you and your family will get respect.


Garden Of Angels School 1

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was forced to leave the school because of her mild special needs, though she had a shadow teacher to help her, and an entire team of educational help available to the school. They just weren't willing to integrate her, though they pride themselves on being very embracing of all kinds of children. So, after only six weeks, they told us on a Monday that she had to leave that Thursday. Truly unconscionable. Left a big scar on my daughter that will take a long time to heal. I was shocked and disgusted by their lack of tolerance and consideration in this situation.

Garden Of Angels School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
My son learns about a different country, a great artist and and a great leader every week.

Garden Of Angels School 5

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
Garden of Angels is truly a special school. We have been there a little under two years and I honestly can say that miraculously, the teachers genuinely love every child and treat them all with the same amount of dedication and attention. Due to the play based and thematic curriculum, the children here learn experientially and retain their knowledge. Our family is a very academic family (from the East Coast) and we feel blessed to have experienced this school. If your child is precocious, I especially recommend continuing on for Kindergarten as there are field trips every week and there is a continuation of learning on a higher level. Also, your child can easily advance to the first grade level with Kindergarten peers. Due to the individualized curriculum, the school is able to further enhance your child's strengths while evening out the areas of development! My child loves school!


Garden Of Angels School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
At the beginning GOA looks to be a great place. They say they're diverse but the truth is they cater to the hollywood crowd. Those parents and kids are definitely favored and even though we considered ourselves liberal, the left wing ideas of the administrator can be a bit much. Yes they have a diverse program but how great is that diversity if you don't have a diverse staff or the ethnic student diversity is only marginal or if the majority of the families are from the entertainment industry? We had such great hopes for what this school represented but after a year or so we find ourselves more and more disappointed each day. Also, too often I have seen sick kids at the school as I drop off my daughter.

Garden Of Angels School 5

Posted October 12, 2006
- a parent
Garden of Angels is definitely a rare and exceptional place for children to learn and grow! There is a great director and office manager and an attentive and very well trained staff. The campus is beautiful, very brightly colored and kid friendly. Although there is a strong quality in academic programs, the children have fun and learn what they need to know and also do art, music, dance, yoga, sports and even two performances a year. The parent/family groups and involvement is strong - you knew going in that everyone does community hours and helps out and the level of committment and pride shows. One of the many philosophies visible is play learning and experience learning. The warm and loving teachers, like Mrs.Kimber generates such excitement that each day is a new and wonderful experience! My child did not want to leave at the end of his day!

Garden Of Angels School 5

Posted October 09, 2006
- a parent
Garden of Angels is definitely a rare and exceptional place for children to grow, explore, learn and thrive! There is a great director and office manager and an attentive and very well trained staff. The campus is beautiful, very brightly colored and kid friendly. There is a strong quality in academic programs. The children have fun and learn what they need to know and also participate in art, music, dance, yoga, sports and even two large performances a year. The parent/family groups and involvement is strong - you know going in that everyone does community hours and helps out and the level of committment and pride shows. One of the many philosophies visible is play learning and experience learning. The warm and loving teachers, like Mrs.Kimber, generate such excitement that each day is a new and wonderful experience! My child does not want to leave at the end of his day!


Garden Of Angels School 3

Posted June 12, 2006
- a parent
Looks great and seductive to parents: lots of coloful painted walls, big smiles from the administraiton. The school is never clear in it's communication (besides when they need you) and the snacks are usually unhealthy! This preschool has changed a lot (the older kids campus had to be closed down; the owner is not involved.) The school is looking to attract the Hollywood crowd -not 'bad' by itself, besides the fact that it has become much more superficial and fake, and that there is no real diversity in the school. Sometimes, here is real chaos around with some safety issues. As a three year old, it may be nice to hear about Van Gogh (through books and copies... actually never in a museum!) but, wouldn't it be more important to learn some Spanish -it's a claimed 'left wing' school...

Garden Of Angels School 5

Posted June 10, 2006
- a parent
What can I say? GofA is unique, like gold or Miles Davis. They do it all, they do it well, and the end result is extraordinary. So many aspects of the curriculum are remarkably inventive and encourage creativity and the amount of love and detail put into every facet of the schoolday is truly inspiring. My kids hate to leave when I pick them up and I feel that the faculty are more friends and family than just teachers, even though they're wonderful at that too.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garden Of Angels School
1009 18th Street, Santa Monica, CA  90403
(310) 453-4680
Last modified Garden Of Angels School is a Private school that serves grades K-1
Garden Of Angels School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top