Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Crossroads School for Arts and Sciences

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Monica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $665,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

Fantastic school, great leadership. I highly recommend this school. Cutting edge education, wonderful staff, and amazing administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I love Crossroads because it has happy, inspired, loving, kind and amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

AMAZING school- fostering creativity, social and emotional development, and great academics. Couldn't be happier! "You can't say you can't play" is the motto.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

I am currently a Crossroads student, and I don't know how to express my love for the school. Crossroads does not only teach it's students valuable information, but it teaches us how to learn, and how to be a part of a community. The lessons i have learned, and the relationships i have formed with my friends and my teachers will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

I am currently a Crossroads student, and LOVE it more than any other school! The teachers, classes, and environment as a whole are all incredible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2007

I currently go to crossroads and i think it is the best school i could every go to! it is filled with love and amazing teachers and classes. I would never want to go to any other school and thats why i have been going here since kindergarden and i will until i graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2007

My daughter goes to Crossroads and every day when I pick her up she says she had an 'amazing,' 'awesome,' or otherwise great day. The teachers are fantastic, it is a wonderful community, and the school lives up to having children get a passion for learning, rather than unhappy rote learning. Every child deserves a school like Crossroads!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

The finest aspect of Crossroads is the community feeling and parent involvement. Our children thrive and come home happy. It has exceeded all of our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Very impressive academic program. Teachers given a great deal of creative license and it is reflective in the textbooks and material they choose and the level of engagement seen in the students. Students are really well prepared for the real world and have a unique ability to communicate their own thoughts and ideas. Responsibility is well placed on the student for their education and initiative is rewarded. The school has an incredible arts program and a full sports offering which is very participatory (no football).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Great school, very academically challenging!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 9, 2005

absolutely fabulous! I went there myself. I received a quality education and made great friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2005

My daughter attended the summer program for kindergarden students. She had a great tiome, made some friends and learned to swim. The summer program introduces kindergen concepts through active play and arts and crafts. They do not do a structed math or reading curriculum during the summer as it is meant to be an introduction. I recommend it if you are looking for some lite academic stimulation combined with fun activities and swiming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

My daughter attende the summer school. I recommend if you are looking for lite academics and fun activity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

My daughter attende the summer school. I recommend if you are looking for lite academics and fun activity
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Two or more races 17%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 5%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1714 21st Street
Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone: (310) 829-7391

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Santa Monica Montessori
Santa Monica, CA




Edison Elementary School
Santa Monica, CA


Light House School
Santa Monica, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT