Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Roads School

Private | K-12 | 653 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Santa Monica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $665,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2012

My daughter started New Roads in ninth grade this fall and we're thrilled with the place. The entire community is thriving, vibrant and diverse. The communication between faculty and parents is outstanding. The teachers themselves are incredibly dedicated and creative, and the emphasis on how to be a good person in a rapidly changing world is incredibly valuable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

This school's main goal is to teach kids about social justice and equality. I would recommend this middle school to anyone, especially with the new facility. However, plan on other high schools if you can. While the middle school is excellent, the high school is average. (3.5/5 stars)


Posted September 16, 2009

New Roads nurtures and encourages the best in each student while instilling accountability and commitment to the community and the environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Its philosophy, caring about the world and social justice, its diversity, its fantastic teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

A place where education in academics, community growth, self awareness and diversity of mankind is allowed to roam the halls and classrooms at will. A place where interaction between students, staff, educators and parents is a major part of what makes this school 'so unique'...


Posted April 12, 2008

This is school is amazing. The school is very corporative and attentive. Not only do the teachers listen to you but the Dean also listens to you as well. They want the best for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

This school is awesome. This is the best school that I have ever gone to. The teachers are awesome. They are comforting and helpful. They are avaliable almost all the time. The sports are great. We have an amazing sports director. I would give this school a 100% rating!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2006

Our child has atended new roads since 6th grade and is currently an 8th grader.New roads is committed to development of young people to have a passion for learning and a passion to affect their world for the better. There is a committment from staff to celebrate each child's strengths and encouage them to overcome their weaknesses. It is a school that enforces the concept of community. Kids are happy and enthusiactic. Teachers are top of the line in their field. Parents are a welcome part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

Wonderful school, staff very attentative small classes and lots of indiviual attention
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Adrienne McCandless
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3131 Olympic Boulevard
Santa Monica, CA 90404
Phone: (310) 828-5582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Roads School
Santa Monica, CA


Edison Elementary School
Santa Monica, CA




Grant Elementary School
Santa Monica, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT