Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Santa Monica, CA
Students enrolled: 653
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Roads School 5

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
In response to the last comment: A new director is in place now, and even when the previous one was there people were not "leaving left and right." My child has been at the school for six years and has always been very happy. We love the teachers, administrators, and families. If you want an environment where kids can really be themselves and experience a genuinely diverse demographic (not just "multiculturalism" taught at a nearly-all-white wealthy school), there is no better place than New Roads. The arts are also very strong at our school. The rest of the private schools can keep their fancy buildings; I prefer to be at a place that makes a public-school alternative more affordable for kids who want it.

New Roads School 1

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
I completely disagree with the previous poster. New Roads is not in the least dedicated to social justice and the administration is dreadful. I am loathe to even give the school one star. We were at New Roads for four years and while many of the teachers are lovely, and the previous head of the school was a lovely man...but the current director is so terrible that people are leaving left and right...if you are considering NR, I would advise you check into it thoroughly. Speak to parents there and see what they say...


New Roads School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a parent
My daughter started New Roads in ninth grade this fall and we're thrilled with the place. The entire community is thriving, vibrant and diverse. The communication between faculty and parents is outstanding. The teachers themselves are incredibly dedicated and creative, and the emphasis on how to be a good person in a rapidly changing world is incredibly valuable.

New Roads School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a community member
This school's main goal is to teach kids about social justice and equality. I would recommend this middle school to anyone, especially with the new facility. However, plan on other high schools if you can. While the middle school is excellent, the high school is average. (3.5/5 stars)

New Roads School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
New Roads nurtures and encourages the best in each student while instilling accountability and commitment to the community and the environment


New Roads School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Its philosophy, caring about the world and social justice, its diversity, its fantastic teachers!

New Roads School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a community member
A place where education in academics, community growth, self awareness and diversity of mankind is allowed to roam the halls and classrooms at will. A place where interaction between students, staff, educators and parents is a major part of what makes this school 'so unique'...

New Roads School 5

Posted April 12, 2008
- a parent
This is school is amazing. The school is very corporative and attentive. Not only do the teachers listen to you but the Dean also listens to you as well. They want the best for you.


New Roads School 5

Posted October 31, 2007
- a student
This school is awesome. This is the best school that I have ever gone to. The teachers are awesome. They are comforting and helpful. They are avaliable almost all the time. The sports are great. We have an amazing sports director. I would give this school a 100% rating!

New Roads School 4

Posted March 22, 2006
- a parent
Our child has atended new roads since 6th grade and is currently an 8th grader.New roads is committed to development of young people to have a passion for learning and a passion to affect their world for the better. There is a committment from staff to celebrate each child's strengths and encouage them to overcome their weaknesses. It is a school that enforces the concept of community. Kids are happy and enthusiactic. Teachers are top of the line in their field. Parents are a welcome part of the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Roads School
3131 Olympic Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90404
(310) 828-5582
Last modified New Roads School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
New Roads School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top