Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
652 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Roads School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Harder to answer because, of course, the teachers vary. Our experience has been that our kids have had several rock star, once-in-a-lifetime creative inspiring teachers, and a few eh. The good well outweigh the mediocre. In addition, teachers have put in the extra time to teach our academically-advanced self-motivated kids one-on-one when Honors classes overlapped which would have prevented our kids from taking what they had planned. We are very familiar with Westside schools and do not believe that anywhere would have met our kids academic needs as effectively. They might have had heavier loads, but they could not have learned the writing and critical thinking skills that they have developed at New Roads. Proof is in the pudding: our eldest was accepted to multiple highly-selective schools and is thriving at the intellectually intense school that he chose. Thank you, New Roads teachers!

New Roads School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
There are so many teachers; however, none of them would be there without the vision of the founders: Paul Cummins and David Bryan (Head for the first 18 years). The Board made a terrible mistake with the hire in 2013, but rectified it by replacing him with Luthern Williams, the current Head, who has the compassion, intellect and awareness to enable New Roads to continue the mission of the founders as well as to continue providing an excellent education.


New Roads School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
New Roads does not drown students in homework and very little of the work is busywork. This gives kids an opportunity to participate in non-academic activities, but it also allows them to work in depth in their areas of interest without wasting time on busywork. The excitement that our children have shown in completing some of their homework is unbelievable. A fist bump about homework? Unbelievable!

New Roads School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
New Roads provides students to explore multiple facets of their personalities and to try things they might not ever have tried in other contacts. This means making a commitment, not only to studies, but to sports, the arts, and activism.

New Roads School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Above and beyond the academics, at New Roads, our children have learned to appreciate their peers, to care about the environment in real life-changing ways and to care about others. They could get book- learning anywhere. With a New Roads education, we feel that they are learning how to be people who will want to make a difference in the world and will have the drive and skills to build on to do so.


New Roads School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Above and beyond the academics, at New Roads, our children have learned to appreciate their peers, to care about the environment in real life-changing ways and to care about others. They could get book- learning anywhere. With a New Roads education, we feel that they are learning how to be people who will want to make a difference in the world and will have the drive and skills to build on to do so.

New Roads School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Above and beyond the academics, at New Roads, our children have learned to appreciate their peers, to care about the environment in real life-changing ways and to care about others. They could get book- learning anywhere. With a New Roads education, we feel that they are learning how to be people who will want to make a difference in the world and will have the drive and skills to build on to do so.

New Roads School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
There is no other independent Westside school like it! New Roads walks the walk with regard to diversity. Paul Cummins (yes, the one who started Crossroads) started New Roads because he believed that ALL children deserve the kind of progressive education available at Crossroads. New Roads takes it a step further: diversity in race, income, academic ability, family structure, you name it... all are represented. Luthern Williams, the new Head of School, is a brilliant hire, with wonderful people-skills and the heart and intellect to continue improving New Roads without compromising its unique mission. Above and beyond the academics, at New Roads, our children have learned to appreciate their peers, to care about the environment in real life-changing ways and to care about others. They could get book- learning anywhere. With a New Roads education, we feel that they are learning how to be people who will want to make a difference in the world and will have the drive and skills to build on to do so. Of course New Roads provides excellent academics: our eldest got into multiple highly selective colleges after New Roads provided individualized advanced academic opportunities that we do not think another school could have. But more importantly, our children have a sensitivity to social injustices and environmental threats and the drive to become activists for positive change. Go Jags!


New Roads School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Luther is awesome, I do not think there is a Head of School as articulate, passionate, sincere and with so much power behind his mission-- the New Roads mission.

New Roads School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The school teaches the students to respect ideas that are for the greater good, to question and challenge. This doesn't always create tame "respectful" students, but is does empower our youth to be bold in the way they approach the world.

Nearby schools

New Roads School
3131 Olympic Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90404
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (310) 828-5582
Last modified New Roads School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top