Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Adams Middle School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
Very professional . Counselors, admin, teachers - wonderful curriculum. This is a great school especially here in LA county

John Adams Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Pretty good school. Teachers as a whole very good. Few bad apples. Chris Reagan is amazing assistant principal.


John Adams Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a community member
JAMS has a terrific environment for students to learn and grow. The support from teachers and various programs gets them ready for high school.

John Adams Middle School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
JAMS in Santa Monica... They have really stepped it up from the classes to even the renovations they are doing at the school. My daughter did wonderfully, and so is my son.

John Adams Middle School 4

Posted October 25, 2011
- a community member
It isn't that bad of a school! People spread rumors, but really, if you try, you will succeed. If you do not, you will think it's the school, and not you!... The school has excellent science, math and musical programs.


John Adams Middle School 3

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
After two years at JAMS, we are moving our child to private school. 6th grade was OK, keeping in mind your child cannot learn to write in a class of 34 kids, some of whom have discipline problems. The teacher has no time for the personal attention required to learn to write. Last year half of 7th grade (each year is divided with two sets of teachers) had no regular English teacher for half of the year, and it took the school that long to fire the problem teacher. English class was babysat by a parade of subs. Next, they lost the social studies teacher and their brilliant math teacher. Both of these were replaced with permanent subs, but not great ones. The science teacher was there all year, and although he was all worksheets all the time, he comes out as a hero. Public schools are having a really hard time these days, caught between the teachers unions and the state budget cuts. Its not that JAMS is worse than the alternatives (Lincoln, Paul Revere, Emerson). Its a really tough time to be in public middle school.

John Adams Middle School 4

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
Since the new principal and the plans for upgrading JAMS, I have been pleased with my daughter's first year. Now, I will have two children attending this coming year. The school has have various activities to be involved with and support for the students. Plus, the Boys and Girls Club right on the edge of campus, is a blessing!

John Adams Middle School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
I have two children at JAMS and I have been very impressed with the school. The science department is outstanding, our new principal is bringing compassion and vision to our campus (as well as high expectations for students AND staff), discipline is fair, parent commitment is growing. All good for these in between years! And, the kids are being prepared for high school. If anything, I have been consistently impressed with the quality of this school.


John Adams Middle School 2

Posted March 27, 2011
- a parent
We've been consistently disappointed with JAMS. JAMS doesn't offer much for advanced students. Little to no 'differentiation' happens in classrooms. There have been a handful of dedicated teachers, especially in Music and Math, but many are just dialing it in. Ask around--most parents and kids know who's who. Also, make sure you read the students' comments at 'Rate My Teacher'.

John Adams Middle School 4

Posted June 18, 2010
- a parent
This has been a great school for my son. He was mainstreamed in almost every class. With the support of the teachers he blossomed. He loves that school and loves the teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Adams Middle School
2425 16th Street, Santa Monica, CA  90405
(310) 452-2326
Last modified John Adams Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Adams Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top