Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


McKinley Elementary School 2

Posted July 25, 2016
- a parent
First: the good things about McKinley. There is a core group of committed and involved parents who create wonderful things: a lovely school garden, book fairs, harvest festival, and more. The student body is diverse and we very much appreciated that. There are committed teachers that do the best work they can there. The bad: The district tends to overlook this school--things that are broken stay broken. It has the smallest library of any SMM school, and the library is falling apart. The fairly new principal has not shown any educational vision and seems to be most concerned that students wear school colors on Friday. The other problems are endemic to the public school system: classes with one teacher and an aide who is only there for 1 1/2 hours; some teachers (well, one in first grade anyway) who have been there for decades and do whatever they want to with impunity, to the detriment of students; an inefficient bureaucracy that is slow to change and respond to changes in educational philosophy; an over-emphasis on testing and teaching to the test.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
We've been at McKinley for two years and my daughter absolutely loves going to school each day. Her K and Grade 1 teachers were amazing. Parents are very involved and though we've had a change in administration over the past year, the staff/teachers/PTA/parent volunteers have continued to maintain the high level of life long learning we all come to expect from our schools. She has had science, art, and music throughout both years. My only complaint is how long it takes for the district to "fix" things around the school and that some of the facilities on campus (restrooms, ramps to the bungalows, etc.) seem to be pushed to the back when repairs are needed. Because this is a neighborhood school, many children walk/bike/scoot to school and we see school mates/parents all around our community.


McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
McKinley is like a little home away from home for the students, faculty, and families of Santa Monica. Family and community involvement is what makes this little gem of a school so special. Everything that McKinley does and achieves is supported and promoted by the families of students. Without such a great community involvement, McKinley wouldn't be as amazing as it is today. With teachers, students learn... but with parents, teachers, and students working together, learning soars.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
McKinley is a good school that my child looks forward to attending each morning. All of my child's teachers have had high expectations of the students, and I see most of the children blossoming as one would hope every year. It makes a huge difference when parents get involved on any level they can, even if it means just making sure your child does his or her homework. Overall, my family is very happy with our small, neighborhood school, McKinley.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son has an excellent teacher. I appreciate how she has really helped him build a strong foundation. The progress I have seen over the course of the year is more significant than I would have imagined. He came to first grade able to read simple one line sentences and can now fluidly read full paragraphs over multiple pages. My expectations have been exceeded. Thank you!


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son had his first school year at Mckinley and It truly is a GEM, He has been to another SM school and this school is so much better. Quality caring staff without the stuffy uptight environment that other schools in the area have.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
This is the second year our child has been at McKinley and we couldn't ask for more in a school. The quality of instruction is exceptional, the community welcoming and the leaderpship outstanding. In relation to previous negative comments regarding front office staff, the principal has listened to these concerns and implemented positive change. The school works to build strong character in all of its students. All staff from custodians to the principal recognize students for making good choices and helping others. McKinley offers parents many ways in which to be invovled whether it's through volunteering in the classroom or participating in myriad activities the PTA has to offer. (We would also give the school a greater number of stars however, this website would not allow us to do so)

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
My child go there and we think it is a great school!.... fully trust our child to their hands every morning.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
We have been so thrilled with our experience thus far. The teachers, staff and principal are well qualified and genuinely care and take pride in their school. The diverse student body is extraordinary making it a true microcosm and wonderflul community. The beautiful campus and smaller student body only adds to everyone's rich experience at this well kept Santa Monica secret.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
I don't get nor see the things that are alleged in some of these negative reviews. McKinley is by far, the best school my child has attended! & It's starts from the top. The Principal knows the direction & vision the school needs to go in. McKinley has been named one of the best schools under her watch & there is no disputing that. My child's experience has been great. She loves learning & being challenged by all her teachers. Even when one of her teachers had to take a leave of absence, McKinley did a great job finding an excellent sub. So much so, we even hired the sub as a private tutor during the summer. The lunch program is healthy & has a variety of choices for our kids. McKinley offers some affordable after school programs for parents like myself, who work long days on occasion. Parent involvement is pretty good & there are PLENTY of opportunities to volunteer & get involved with your child's class. The bottom line is you get what YOU put into it. I also used this site to review a good school for my child....I'm sure glad I chose McKinley & you will too.

Nearby schools

McKinley Elementary School
2401 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90404-2044
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (310) 828-5011
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top