Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Will Rogers Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Monica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $850,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

My daughter is in Kindergarten here and although I didn't plan on being at this school I am so incredibly happy we ended up here at our neighborhood school! There is a great family environment, wonderful teachers a new amazing principle that truly cares and is taking measures to continue to improve the school in every area. To is a STEM focused school, of which I knew nothing about before and now am so grateful my kids are partaking in this inquiry based learning style. I have joined the PTA and am active alongside an real unique and diverse well rounded group of parents who truly have made me feel at home and show tier passion for the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

I bcame a single dad in 2009 with my daughter in 2nd grade and my son in 1st grade. Both of the children had been living with mom since our divorce. Mom was no longer able to care for the children and moved 3000 miles away. Both children were emotionally devestated. My financial situation was nothing to be desired so my only option was to entoll both kids into the local elementary school. That school happened to be Will Rogers Lealrning Community. Within a few weeks I began to realize our good fortune! Teachers and administration were contacting me to come by and discuss our family's situation. The kids were given CREST afternoon program. We were referred services onsite and off. No one ever gave up on my kids and the whole child approach has transformed my two children into successful learners who enjoy school, music, sports and best of all, to be good friends and good citizens. If you live in the neighborhood, don't even think about sending your children elsewhere! No amount of money or standardized test scores will give your child and your family what Rogers will give you. 5 stars+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

Will Rogers Learning Community is outstanding. We are so happy to be at our home public school and can actually walk to school. The teachers care about all the kids in class and want to see all succeed. The community of parents and business leaders continue to support the school through many outstanding programs; science, art, music and P.E. all start in kindergarten. The school has a Green Team that supports "greening the school" with the help of the student body not just parents...so it is a true team effort...and a learning experience. The PTA is a strong supporter of the curriculum, facilities improvements and the over well being of all the families at Will Rogers. My kids love to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

My child was supposed to go to another Santa Monica Elementary school; however, I was so impressed with Will Rogers, I made the switch. I'm so glad we did! Excellent teachers, a fabulous principle that knows parents and children by first name, STEM, Ipad lab, Art program, music program, the list goes on. The community is great as well with a strong PTA. Don't let the test scores fool you. This school has so much to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Wonderful teachers, staff & committed parents! stem program is great, with a full time science teacher. 2 new iPad labs, plus a desktop Mac lab. Art and science too! We have 3 kids here & couldn't be happier with out sweet school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

After 2 years at Will Rogers, I couldn't be happier as a parent to see my child thrive in this wonderful school! The teachers, staff and principal are amazing, and I feel like my son is off to a great start in education! With more and more local families enrolling, I can see this community school growing stronger year by year and am extremely proud to be a Will Rogers parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

as a parent of four who have gone through Rogers, I can attest to the amazing school it is. The teachers are incredible and really work well together. I truly believe that Rogers is unique in this way. It is a community and our principal is a fantastic leader. All of my children have received a top notch education -- my oldest is now on her way to USC -- thank you Rogers for getting her off to a great start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

We have an amazing first year at WR~ The teachers are amazing and we are very pleased with the principal. My daughters are lucky to be able to attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

Will Rogers is a wonderful school with amazing, dedicated teachers who go over and beyond their "duties". Will Rogers has made a huge difference in my son's life and he is excited to learn! The parent community is also a phenomenal group of parents who are dedicated to creating a true community public neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

The assistant Principal is genuine, collaborates & passionate about her job! Most teachers are excellent...we've been lucky to have 2 of the the outstanding ones :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

As highly involved parents, we've been thrilled with Will Rogers. The teachers are devoted and excellent. They make learning interesting and fun and the teachers care about the success of each child. Will Rogers helps create independent thinkers/responsible individuals and provides a well-rounded education through very creative programs and activities. Our child couldn't wait to get to school every day and is really looking forward to the start of another exciting year in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

The school refers to itself as Will Rogers Learning Community, and it really is a community. There are all sorts of cultural and educational opportunities for students and parents, and the teachers are outstanding. Even though my family moved out of Culver City and our "home" elementary school rates higher if all you look at is state testing ratings, I have kept my child at Will Rogers on a permit. Regardless of how state ratings may compare, this school does an amazing job of teaching kids to be good students and good well-rounded citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

Yes, I gave our school 5 stars. Does this mean we don't have some slacker teachers? Ha. Of course we do. I think every public school does. But they are few and far between. I hear the kids talk about how much they love their teachers. I see how hard they work at helping our kids learn and progress. Does this mean we have a "perfect" principal? No one is perfect. But the principals we have had here have such an amazing vision and enthusiasm for our school and our children. Does every parent participate? Of course not. But the ones who do volunteer go above and beyond. I love the that we are a STEM school, that every classroom has a SMART Board, that P.S. Arts is a part of our school, our music program, and that we've hooked up with UCLA for math instruction. I love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

My second child just graduated from Will Rogers and I am so sad to no longer have this wonderful school in our lives. Rogers has an amazing staff and we have had nothing but excellent teachers for all 9 years that I have had children there. The PTA is very involved and provide so many great programs and services for the children of Will Rogers. It has been a pleasure to be a part of this special learning community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

My last child just finished 5th grade and it is with tears that I say good bye to all the wonderful people at Will Rogers. Both of my children have had amazing experiences here. With the introduction of STEM Focused instruction (science, technology, engineering and math) I can honestly say my kids had a world class education beyond any available in any other public school in Southern California. Teachers are responsive, and, after the death of our beloved principal in July of 2009, the care and concern grew from all the staff. We are a true community! Parents are wonderful and the diversity of the population is a plus. Shame on anyone who runs from our demographics. Our school is a snapshot of the future and our children learn tolerance and acceptance in a safe and loving environment. I will miss Will Rogers but already love our middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Being new to this school last year, my entire family felt welcome to this new community. We love the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

This is a wonderful school environment. The curriculum is innovative and challenging. My children as engaged and challenged. The teachers are the most dedicated group of teachers I have ever met and the administration is very concerned with meeting the needs of all the students. I feel lucky that my students go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

I am dissatisfied with the Will Rogers school. Written communications from my child's teacher are full of grammatical errors and misinformation. Getting an answer to a question is downright impossible and makes it very frustrating to monitor my child's progress. The teacher is very friendly to those that volunteer and do her job for her, but the rest of us get the cold shoulder. This was one of the teachers that everyone told me was 'great.' I'm counting the days until we are on to the next grade. They can't all be like this, can they? On the surface, it looks like a nice place. But scratch just a little bit and you find that there is no substance below that surface. It is no wonder most families in my neighborhood send their kids to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

With three wildly successful children at Will Rogers I truly want to tell new parents: please don't let the test scores fool you! As a Title I school in the district, Will Rogers may not have the same overall scores as others but our students are thriving and achieving tremendous individual success that comes from strong academic rigor. My children's individual scores are very high and we have been very pleased with the work and work ethic they have learned at Rogers. When considering a school, consider that our teachers are among the highest trained and most dedicated, our staff is supremely efficient and as the name says we are a 'community' of learners and parents who work for the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Will Rogers Learning Community has been a great place for my kids to learn and grow in a safe and loving environment. The principal and the vice-principal are open mineded and willing to implement new ideas that showcase the children's talents and abilities. There are very stron music and art programs a weekly multlevel class called strings where the kids get to deal with life problems and learn how to handle them. After school enrichment classes are affordable and fun. The teaching staff is strong and involved and respect for each other is a strong theme throughout the grades. I feel fortunate that my kids are at Will Rogers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

830

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

830

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females47%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate8%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)24%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females53%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)26%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females46%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females67%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females74%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females79%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females73%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females70%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students71%
Females73%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 52%
White 23% 26%
Black 12% 6%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Annette Mendoza
Fax number
  • (310) 452-9035

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 14th Street
Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone: (310) 452-2364

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Step By Step
Santa Monica, CA




Grant Elementary School
Santa Monica, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT