Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Santa Monica, CA
Students enrolled: 3,069
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Santa Monica High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
teachers and administration are not role models with respect to honesty, integrity and fairness ...

Santa Monica High School 2

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
This school was a big disapointment. Academically, my child was never challendged, not even in honnors courses. Teachers do not value intelligence and hard work. Teachers and administration have no will to work with parents, and solve issues. The is a huge gap between the principal vision, and its realization. Compared to the school that my other kid attends (Lincoln), this school is nothing but disapointment.


Santa Monica High School 1

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Santa Monica Malibu High School's Achievement Gap in API scores by Race/Ethnicity is Among the Worst in California API Scores Size of Gap (Relative to White Students) 2012 2013 2012 2013 White Students* 907 907 Latino Students* 784 791 123 116 African-American Students 735 746 172 161 Grades for SMMUSD Relative to Other School Districts in California 2012 2013 Overall Grade: C C White/African-American Gap F (among worst 3% in CA) F (among worst 6% in CA) White/Latino Gap F (among worst 15% in CA) D (among worst 18% in CA)

Santa Monica High School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a community member
I went to this school in the early 80s. (A la the Estevez-Lowe-Cain years) I don't remember ANY gangs as another other claims. I remember surfers, punks, mods, jocks and trendies. The academics then were stellar! The football team was good, and the basketball team was VERY GOOD! There were 2 girls who got pregnant then. Now, they have a daycare. Things sure have changed.

Santa Monica High School 5

Posted December 21, 2014
- a parent
Samohi is a highly successful school that is able to offer what a large public high school can offer: high standard academics, sports, nationally recognized music, scores of student clubs, large athletic program, ROP, and a learning environment that prepares students for the real world. Many, many students go on to top colleges. It has a hard working staff that reaches out to all kids and all their learning needs. The feeling on campus is are welcoming, positive and dedicated. I have walked this campus hundreds of times in my many years as a parent and always feel safe. As for the run down facilities, do some research. CA has underfunded our schools as long as I have been a parent. In order to accomplish the things it wants to do, supporters of all public schools in CA do ask for money. Often. So do private schools. Our community and our students greatly benefit from this school, we are lucky to have it.


Santa Monica High School 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school in the 80's and back then it was FULL of gangs. I went to my reunion and was just as horrified. Cement everywhere. Now the school has a daycare for the children of the kids that go there. If armed security guards and gang activity doesn't bother you then by all means send your child here.

Santa Monica High School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a teacher
I am a special education assistant for many schools in the Los Angeles School District however I have graduated from the Santa Monica-Malibu School District as a student having gone to some of the finest schools in the Santa Monica area. I grew up there which was a plus as well and having Santa Monica High School also known as Samohi being my high school...amazing....If i I lived there I would send my kid to school there unfortunate I don't live there. I am honored to have been there for high school and still carry the school pride with me yeah go vikings...At this school you know everyone and everyone knows you basically because its only one high school to one city versus in the valley area you have a few in one city for high school
1 person found this helpful

Santa Monica High School 2

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
Administration turns a blind eye to increasing influx of kids whose parents want them to escape from LA Unified. No serious checking on where these kids really live. Paying sky high taxes to fund LA kids is something even liberal parents take issue with.


Santa Monica High School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a community member
What it is: A HUGE public school with caring, competent educators and a plethora opportunity. The best instrumental music in the state, along with fierce athletics and a massive club culture makes this school unique- one of the most egalitarian schools in the state with a total absence of a singular "popular crowd" or a jock culture. What its NOT: A small private school where everyone know everyone, and they gather round the fire to sing kumbaya on weekends and everyone can be part of every activity. This is a school that demands competence and resolve from people in what they do. This means that not everyone gets to be an athlete, even on the freshman or junior varsity level. Not everyone gets to play in the top 3 bands, or sing in the top choirs, or play in the top orchestras. Competency is a mandate, and people who don't cut it get weeded out. This goes for academics as well, people don't usually peruse AP's across academic disciplines. This is because these classes hold students to the highest standards: a student in AP English generally will not also take AP Bio. This is not a school for the type of people who will "fall through the cracks." It is world class education.

Santa Monica High School 1

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
This school is AWFUL and so is Santa Monica Malibu Unified School District. Their biggest problems are racism, discrimination against the disabled and the poor attitude of District and school site staff. You also need to beware of Buffy-the-wallet-slayer! They are always begging for money. If they have any of your information, it will definitely be used to beg, beg, beg you for money. When it comes to something that you really need to know, no one will be able to find your information. Do yourself and your kid a favor, skip this school and go to New Roads or better yet, homeschool your kid!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Monica High School
601 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90405
(310) 395-3204
Last modified Santa Monica High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Santa Monica High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top