Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saint Monica Catholic High School 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent and I am very disappointed with the school administration. They worry to much about policing the student attar than focusing on the students academic achievements. Most teachers my student had in fail to meet the standards to go above and beyond to meet the needs of my student. The
3 people found this helpful

Saint Monica Catholic High School 3

Posted August 09, 2014
- a community member
St. Monica is actually one of the best coed schools. It feels like your second home. Some teachers are nice enough to let you turn in your homework late, but it's rare. Mrs. Evans is the best and chilliest staff, Ms. K Janson is the best English teacher , & Mr. Rodriguez is very caring.
1 person found this helpful


Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
St. Monica is a lovely Catholic high school for students to grow and thrive. Although the community is small and tight-knit, there are ample opportunities for students to develop their strengths and interests (academic decathlon, AP/Honors classes, athletics, campus ministry, performing arts, student clubs/government).

Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with this school...I can't sy enough good things about it. There is a strong sense of community, and the faculty genuinely care for the students and their well-being. It is a tough school and the students have to work hard, but the students will be well prepared for college. I can say this first-hand as I am an alumni from St. Monica.

Saint Monica Catholic High School 3

Posted October 17, 2013
- a community member
Honestly, don't send your child here. So many of the students here are forced to go because of their parents. If you ask the students, "do you like this school?" majority will say no. PROS of the school:- great location, no bullies, the retreats are nice, clean, beautiful bathrooms and classrooms, small class size, you don't have to worry about what to wear, tutoring is available for almost every class, the school is pretty high tech which is nice, CONS:- MOST but not all faculty members seem like they hate their jobs, it feels like a jail--> they care too much about dress-code and drug checks which causes distrust and a terrible relationship between the faculty and students. TOO strict--you can get a saturday school for not wearing the correct tie on mass day. Academically: it's nice that the transcripts weigh the AP and honors classes BUT there are many periods that conflict so you're limited to which classes you want to take. Also students are forced to take summer school to cover the requirements of this school (even if you're smart) and if you're coming as a freshman they may REQUIRE you to RETAKE a math class that you've already taken.
2 people found this helpful


Saint Monica Catholic High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a student
I was discriminated and harassed because of my race everyday by students, teachers and the principal. Everyday at lunch people threw food at me. No one helped me.
2 people found this helpful

Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
St. Monica has been a second home to our kids. The student body and faculty truly are like a family. Most teachers are willing to help students reach their potential whether it is in honors and AP's or regular college prep classes. Students can be as involved as they want. Sports teams are doing well especially the Girls Basketball team that won their division and went to State. The one area that needs to be addressed is the college counseling. Not enough attention to it early on and too much pushing for out of state and private schools. That said, it is being worked on and I see improvement. I highly recommend it!

Saint Monica Catholic High School 4

Posted April 25, 2013
- a student
SMCH is becoming a great school. Our football team, soccer team, boys basketball, and girls basketball all made it to the playoffs. Not to mention the girls won CIF champion. The academic is lacking, but a responsible student shouldn't always rely on the teacher (real talk).


Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted September 15, 2011
- a parent
Some of the colleges that the class of 2011 were accepted to-U Penn, Georgetown, UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, USC and the US Naval Academy. Whatever your student wants to achieve, this school will help them reach their goals (at 1/4 the cost of most private schools on the Westside).

Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a student
Great teachers! Diverse student body! A vast variety of activities available on and off campus! Great location, near the beach!
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Monica Catholic High School
1030 Lincoln Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90403
(310) 394-3701
Last modified Saint Monica Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Saint Monica Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top