Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Santa Monica, CA
Students enrolled: 545
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saint Monica Catholic High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a student
There's bo sense of compassion whatsoever, regardless of any situations you have at home, the teachers and staff don't care they never help to provide you with any knowledge that might help you. The teachers and staff hate there jobs and always make jokes about how their underplayed and gossip about each other and students.

Saint Monica Catholic High School 1

Posted June 21, 2015
- a student
The classrooms have no AC so during hot days you would literally sweat to death in your seat. Also teachers were very unorganized and selfish with their time if you weren't there favorite.


Saint Monica Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a student
The faculty and teachers are terrible, they all look down upon the students and always play favorites. Also there's no way to go around it because of how the small the school is, so everyone knows everyone. Also, it was very common to hear faculty and staff gossiping about each other or other students.

Saint Monica Catholic High School 3

Posted May 18, 2015
- a student
I went here all four years and it definitely isn't for everyone. While it isn't a *bad* school, administration could be better as well as the ridiculous rules when it comes to honors/AP courses. If you're not a religious person, like any Catholic environment, you're not going to enjoy the religion classes or the retreats, which are very religious. If you are into that stuff, on the other hand, you'll enjoy them. Best perk of the school is it's pretty safe and bullying is very rare.

Saint Monica Catholic High School 1

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
The administration is horrible. My child attends the school now and I am very disappointment in the way they run the school. If I had my choice I would have selected another school basically a waste for a private education. The teaching is horrible and is mediocre as it does not stack up to some of the other private schools out there.


Saint Monica Catholic High School 3

Posted August 09, 2014
- a community member
St. Monica is actually one of the best coed schools. It feels like your second home. Some teachers are nice enough to let you turn in your homework late, but it's rare. Mrs. Evans is the best and chilliest staff, Ms. K Janson is the best English teacher , & Mr. Rodriguez is very caring.

Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
St. Monica is a lovely Catholic high school for students to grow and thrive. Although the community is small and tight-knit, there are ample opportunities for students to develop their strengths and interests (academic decathlon, AP/Honors classes, athletics, campus ministry, performing arts, student clubs/government).

Saint Monica Catholic High School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with this school...I can't sy enough good things about it. There is a strong sense of community, and the faculty genuinely care for the students and their well-being. It is a tough school and the students have to work hard, but the students will be well prepared for college. I can say this first-hand as I am an alumni from St. Monica.


Saint Monica Catholic High School 3

Posted October 17, 2013
- a community member
Honestly, don't send your child here. So many of the students here are forced to go because of their parents. If you ask the students, "do you like this school?" majority will say no. PROS of the school:- great location, no bullies, the retreats are nice, clean, beautiful bathrooms and classrooms, small class size, you don't have to worry about what to wear, tutoring is available for almost every class, the school is pretty high tech which is nice, CONS:- MOST but not all faculty members seem like they hate their jobs, it feels like a jail--> they care too much about dress-code and drug checks which causes distrust and a terrible relationship between the faculty and students. TOO strict--you can get a saturday school for not wearing the correct tie on mass day. Academically: it's nice that the transcripts weigh the AP and honors classes BUT there are many periods that conflict so you're limited to which classes you want to take. Also students are forced to take summer school to cover the requirements of this school (even if you're smart) and if you're coming as a freshman they may REQUIRE you to RETAKE a math class that you've already taken.

Saint Monica Catholic High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a student
I was discriminated and harassed because of my race everyday by students, teachers and the principal. Everyday at lunch people threw food at me. No one helped me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Monica Catholic High School
1030 Lincoln Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90403
(310) 394-3701
Last modified Saint Monica Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Saint Monica Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top