Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Monica Catholic High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Monica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $870,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

I am very happy with this school...I can't sy enough good things about it. There is a strong sense of community, and the faculty genuinely care for the students and their well-being. It is a tough school and the students have to work hard, but the students will be well prepared for college. I can say this first-hand as I am an alumni from St. Monica.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Honestly, don't send your child here. So many of the students here are forced to go because of their parents. If you ask the students, "do you like this school?" majority will say no. PROS of the school:- great location, no bullies, the retreats are nice, clean, beautiful bathrooms and classrooms, small class size, you don't have to worry about what to wear, tutoring is available for almost every class, the school is pretty high tech which is nice, CONS:- MOST but not all faculty members seem like they hate their jobs, it feels like a jail--> they care too much about dress-code and drug checks which causes distrust and a terrible relationship between the faculty and students. TOO strict--you can get a saturday school for not wearing the correct tie on mass day. Academically: it's nice that the transcripts weigh the AP and honors classes BUT there are many periods that conflict so you're limited to which classes you want to take. Also students are forced to take summer school to cover the requirements of this school (even if you're smart) and if you're coming as a freshman they may REQUIRE you to RETAKE a math class that you've already taken.


Posted August 5, 2013

I was discriminated and harassed because of my race everyday by students, teachers and the principal. Everyday at lunch people threw food at me. No one helped me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2013

St. Monica has been a second home to our kids. The student body and faculty truly are like a family. Most teachers are willing to help students reach their potential whether it is in honors and AP's or regular college prep classes. Students can be as involved as they want. Sports teams are doing well especially the Girls Basketball team that won their division and went to State. The one area that needs to be addressed is the college counseling. Not enough attention to it early on and too much pushing for out of state and private schools. That said, it is being worked on and I see improvement. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

SMCH is becoming a great school. Our football team, soccer team, boys basketball, and girls basketball all made it to the playoffs. Not to mention the girls won CIF champion. The academic is lacking, but a responsible student shouldn't always rely on the teacher (real talk).
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2011

Some of the colleges that the class of 2011 were accepted to-U Penn, Georgetown, UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, USC and the US Naval Academy. Whatever your student wants to achieve, this school will help them reach their goals (at 1/4 the cost of most private schools on the Westside).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Great teachers! Diverse student body! A vast variety of activities available on and off campus! Great location, near the beach!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

We love the community and spirit of St. Monica's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

saint monica's is a great school and I love it! it has clubs that are outstanding and a great academic program and awesome teachers and since I go to church there it is easy to do community service and church service while I attend school there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2009

This school was the worst High School for my daughter. Better to save your money and send your child to public school. They gave No guidance whatsoever for college or college prep. or applications. The teachers are unqualified to teach and do not care about students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Do not send your child here. It is a nightmare. With the exception of about 4 good teachers, the rest are horrible. So is the administration. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

low academic level. not enough supervision. ugly uniform. excellent location. all and all, not a good school. it is disappointing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Academic programs are competitive if your children have a balance of honor's courses and other challenging environments. The teachers are dedicated. Many are young and without a lot of experience but some are veterans. They all share a love for the children and are available to both students and parents. I get immediate response anytime I contact a teacher. It's a little slower from administration. Some of the religious teachings are medieval.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

The academic quality appears to be at the mercy of activities. There are too many extra-curricular activities without regard to the teaching of students
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2006

The priorities of this school are wrong. There is too much emphasis on non-essential things, such as strict adherence to an outdated dress code, and not enough emphasis on academics. The college counseling program was mediocre, but that may have improved with the new principal. The school does provide a drug-free atmosphere, and the students are good kids. The parent volunteer level is high, but the administration disdains constructive criticism from the parents. Parents are welcome as workers or donors, but they have no input into the running of the school. Your children will be safe at this school but I suggest you hire an outside consultant the beginning of the sophomore year to become involved in the college application process and that you enroll your child in an SAT prep class if getting into a top 4 year university is important.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2005

Overall a very disappointing school. The classroom atmosphere is almost like a public school, the kids are more focused on their social life than their academics. More graduates go to community colleges than to four year colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

St. Monica's High School provides an enriched catholic education to students of all ethnic backgrounds. It allows teenagers to develop today's skills and their individuality...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 17, 2003

There is a basic lack of trust and respect. Much of the resources are spent on policing students: uniform violations, dogs sniffing for drugs, locker and backpack checks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

i am very pleased with the quality of education my child is getting at this school. Only one complaint I have is I wish there were more electives for the juniors and seniors that are UC approved. But the teachers are wonderful and the security is great. I don't worry about my child getting hurt there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I attend St.Monica's now and I am in the ninth grade, and I find it to be an excellent school. They have great curriculum, athletics, afterschool programs you name it. It is a geat highschool and I support it all the way. Go Mariners!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
White 31%
Asian 13%
Black 9%
Two or more races 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1030 Lincoln Boulevard
Santa Monica, CA 90403
Phone: (310) 394-3701

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Concord Prep High School
Santa Monica, CA



Santa Monica High School
Santa Monica, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT