Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
265 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Saint Anne School has a history of providing an affordable, quality education for working families. Our focus is on providing a program of academic excellence, and enriching it with programs in the arts and recreation. A recent study from Loyola Marymount University revealed that 98% of students who attend Catholic elementary schools graduate high school and attend four-year colleges, as compared to a public school high school drop out rate of over 50% in inner city schools. At a time when many public schools are forced to eliminate programs, due to the leadership and support of our fund-raising board, we are able to augment our programs, adding enrichment in the arts, technology and education. We have cutting-edge technology, with SMART Boards (interactive white boards) in every classroom, a school-wide instrumental music program where every child receives free weekly instrumental music instruction from professional musicians and music educators, hands-on primary and middle school science programs through P.S. Science and through collaboration with UCLA School of Engineering, art history instruction, and after school theater and dance programs. At only $3400 per year for 2010-2011, we are an incredible value. We encourage families looking for a quality education to come and see all that we have to offer.
February 02, 2010

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Anne Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
The boys and girls' club staff was amazing. I'd like to thank them all! (Even though they are not the school's staff) Also the parent who helps ( or maybe she is staff) after school with the kids sign out sheets. Betta, you're amazing! I admire Miss Francis for her hard work over the years. Very respectful woman.

St. Anne Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter had 3 teachers and I had issues with one of them not following through and losing assignments.


St. Anne Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I personally would have liked more homework but I think it was average compared to other schools.

St. Anne Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
They don't expect much of the students. If kids don't do their work it's ok. If the student doesn't reach out to the teacher, the teacher doesn't reach out to the student.

St. Anne Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I'm neutral since I heard a few bullying stories where the principal didn't do much. At this moment I'm unsure about how I feel about the respect topic since one of the teachers was rude to me, but might not reflect the school's position.


St. Anne Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
They have fundraisers to help others in the community and to help for different projects and organizations.

St. Anne Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I didn't see specific instances where they were instilling these qualities. They are more focused on parents reaching their fundraising goals thank children reaching their learning goals, if they have any.

St. Anne Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2015
- a community member
I have learned to be responsible in both academic leadership and in growth in learning more about christ.This school is great for kids who want to do great things with there life.


St. Anne Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
This school is great. The teachers are very good in their wotk. The principle has great leadership skills. The kids respect and really like one another. They all feel as if they're one big family. My son has been in the school for 3 years and doing great.

St. Anne Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
This is my child's first year at SAS, we came on a recommendation, transferring from an LAUSD (highly rated) school. At SAS, the staff is what makes the school fantastic. My only criticism is that the blended learning system is being used as effectively as possible but I'm sure that will be rectified by the next school year. STUDENT BODY: diverse in many areas. Some of the children are incredibly gifted and some of the children would probably lag considerably at another school. Despite the spectrum, there doesn't seem to be any preferential treatment. PARENTS: most seem to be highly involved in their children's development (academically AND character), it is a small school so I sensed a little mistrust when we started but have since seen that dissipate. STAFF: this area is the treasure of SAS. I CANNOT express enough how impressed I am at the synergy between teachers and administration (including their directory of marketing), they're all accessible and seem to communicate with each other regarding the direction that they want the school to go. LEARNING ENVIRONMENT: traditional and intense with enrichment programs to supplement and broaden the children's experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Anne Elementary School
2015 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA  90404
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (310) 829-2775
Last modified St. Anne Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top