Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
Santa Monica, CA
Students enrolled: 280
 

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carlthorp 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Sweet kids and a nice location. The yard could be bigger but the staggered lunch help the kids share the one and only field. The academics are strong, everyone is encouraged to do community service. A very nice place for children to grow up.

Carlthorp 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a community member
Carlthorp School makes sure that the children that attend are kind and courteous to each other and everyone that they meet. The Code of Conduct is read by the second graders every Monday. The teachers engage the children in fun academic activities through the iPads (they have and iPad cart), the Macbook Airs (each child gets one in 4th grade and has a chance to buy them at the end of 6th grade), our out on the field. The teachers are always there for the kids and teach them extraordinary things. They get the kids very prepared for secondary school. In 6th grade, the kids learn all of the countries and capitals in the world! An amazing school.


Carlthorp 5

Posted August 31, 2010
- a parent
This was an outstanding school for my son. The academics and teachers were outstanding. Dee Menzies is one of the most amazing administrators we've known. The school is also so nuturing and warm. Also a wonderful parent body. Down to earth real people who truly care about education whether they are monied or not.

Carlthorp 5

Posted May 16, 2009
- a parent
This is one of the finest schools in Los Angeles. The principal is excellent. I have never heard of any punishments such as detention yet the children here are the best behaved I have ever seen. There is a mutual respect between the faculty and the children which causes the children to become mature. The academics are incredible yet they are not forced but taught in a very engaging manner by very experienced and top notch teachers.

Carlthorp 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Carlthorp 5

Posted May 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Carlthorp 1

Posted October 01, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Carlthorp 5

Posted August 10, 2007
- a community member
I graduated from there in the year 2000 and I felt SOOO prepared for high schoool because of the things I learned at Carlthorp. I am going into my second year of college now.


Carlthorp 5

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
We are new to the school this year, but we couldn't be happier. The Kindergarten teachers are warm and nurturing. And the Kindergarten violin program was the highlight of our daughter's year. Who would believe our five year old could play Mozart!

Carlthorp 4

Posted March 25, 2006
- a parent
Education is very good but weak on the arts department. Fairly young staff/teachers at times can be a problem when dealing with student behavior (inexperienced). No parent-teacher conferences unless requested by parent is another weakness.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carlthorp
438 San Vicente Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA  90402
(310) 451-1332
Last modified Carlthorp is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Carlthorp Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top