Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concord Prep High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Monica

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $501,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2011

Best school on the Westside. Our son felt never challenged enough when he was in public school and in larger private schools in Los Angeles. In Concord he is truely happy for the first time in his school career. He was allowed to take 4 AP classes in his sophomore year and he really loved the school, his class mates and his teachers. Concord offers a personalized education and a decidedly intellectual atmosphere prevails. Highest recommendations from our family! We also like the three new video testimonials on their website www.concordprep.org.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

Concord High School is a very special school. My daughter graduated in 2005 with a wonderful education and a love for this school and its wonderful teachers and nuturing enviornment The school let her develop her full potential and gave her the courage to try new things and excel at them. I was particularly impressed with the mathematics,english and art instruction. In each of these areas she was happily pushed to her maximum abilities. I would recommend this school to any parent who has a bright kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

Best School on the Westside of Los Angeles. The teaching faculty is the best of any of the school in the Santa Monica area. Nobody else comes close when it comes to personal dedication to the success of Concord's students and the college acceptances are superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Outstanding. Students earn their grades, basic's are taught, students read whole books--serious students only. This is the only school around where any/all students graduate as educated scholars. Track the success of graduates to see the outcome from Concord's dedicated professionals.


Posted November 24, 2010

Wonderfull instructors, small caring highly academic enviroment. The school woke up my childs' sleeping mind. It is an escape from boredom. A great experience, the best academic high scholl around. The teachers make learning easy, exiting, and interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

My son loves concord high school. There is an excellent connection between teachers and Students. It is very academic. They have a great debate team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

This is the perfect school for my son, who grew impatient with the "one size fits all" education at our local public school. The faculty is outstanding, and highly skilled at leading each student through an individualized learning experience that is challenging and exciting. The curriculum includes many AP classes and a variety of languages, including Latin and Japanese. Advanced science and math are standard. My son is especially enthusiastic about the college-level history classes and the debate team. Truly "an academic haven for the serious student."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

This is a great school, all the teachers are so dedicated and the academics are top rate. Parents are exceptionally caring and involved, kids really respect each other. It is a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

The school has outstanding faculties that give their full attention to our children's education. The teacher s credentials speak for themselves. My son loves the great educational and intellectual environment that the teachers provide to the students. He was bored in other schools, and felt unchallenged, but Concord teachers keeping him interested. He is taking all the AP classes and doing extremely well. You may want to look at the track record of the school. They graduate the most AP Scholars and Distinct Scholars every year. Thanks for the wonderful, committed and dedicated teachers. If you are looking for more European style teaching, intellectual and sophisticated education then these teachers will provide that. The principle is an Oxford University and UCLA graduated scholar with Phd. Since the class size is small therefore, your child gets close attention from teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

This is quite possibly the best school I have ever attended. It may be a small community of students, but I believe in quality over quantity. This school is not quite like other schools in that, because of our relatively small size when compared to public school or even other private school, the student body is almost like a family, supporting one another and creating lasting bonds for years to come. I also cannot express in words the extremely dedicated and amazingly qualified teachers that Concord possesses. Nearly all the teachers either have acquired PhD's or are PhD candidates, who have decided to devote their time to this school instead. This is simply an excellent school, and I am loving my time here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2010

The dedication of the teachers at this school is unparalleled as compared to most other private schools in Los Angeles. As a parent, I am highly involved in volunteering at the school. This is my third year in helping run a drama program at the school. Both my children are thriving at Concord. Having a Ph.D. in education, and having researched learning, creativity and the arts, I am rather critical of how many schools treat their students; especially those children who are extremely creative. Concord is uniquely academic in the right way, fosters individual creativity in students, and the teachers are compassionate to students of every ability from those with learning differences, to those who are exceptionally gifted. The principal is also uniquely dedicated to helping each and every student at the school to get into the college of their choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

I love it here!!! It is just so awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

This school is everything I wanted and more! As a student in a moderately large sectarian school, I experienced a certain ennui stemming from the indifference of the teachers and the spoiled, lackadaisical nature of my peers. Despite my fears about a rough transfer, Susan smoothed the way, and I immediately found my place. While before I was held back, at Concord, I was encouraged to delve into classes at my level, foregoing the prerequisites. When I came upon something which stumped me, the teachers were most amicable and helpful. Despite what has been said below, the school is not a haven for the wealthy; in fact, Concord gives more scholarships than any other comparable private school, and everyone is held to the same standards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

I loved this school! The administrators treat the students like adults. The combination of social freedoms and strict academic responsibility really prepared me for college. Without Concord and Susan, the principal, I doubt I ever would have made it to a great university. Pricy? Yes! But if your kid is willing to put in the effort, they WILL move on to great things, and a great college. Before attending Concord I went to a large HS where I was basically lost in the crowd. Concord is all about individual attention and progress. There are no sports, PTA meetings or school dances and practically no extra-curricular activities, but they make up for it and then some. Since they stress AP classes, summer school and perfecting those college essays, Concord almost guarantees their students the chance to go to an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2007

It is highly academic and focused wthout being punishing. I wish I had started her there in 9th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

My son is finishing his freshman year at Concord High School in Santa Monica and he has been very happy there. He has learned to think and his classes are challenging. The curriculum level seems much more daunting than the classes his friends are taking at other private schools, but he seems to be able to take on greater academic responsibility. The instruction is focused and each child is given individual attention. I like the small, safe class size and appreciate that the administrators are very present and involved with each child. I also appreciate that the children are treated like young adults capable of achieving great things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

My child left another school feeling like a failure. She couldn't stand most of her teachers at her old school and her performance was poor. She started at Concord at the end of 9th grade and is now in 11th. She has flourished in this wonderful no-nonsense highly academic environment. The teachers not only have advanced degrees and know their subject matter very well, they have all been strict and encouraging. The students are treated with the upmost respect and a lot is expected of them. My child has been completely motivated and pleased with her experience. There is no parent involvement, and no after school activities. Which is what we wanted. The school is run by one woman, and she has her finger on the pulse of everything and knows every student very well. The classes are very small. Students are required to take AP courses in most subjects. Zoe Green
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

Great school! Extremely strong AP program, but some problematic students. Excellent teachers with very small classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

Best school for an academic child! My child soared at Concord. He was challenged by his teachers and accepted by his peers. The motto, 'A safe haven for the academic child' says it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Hispanic 7%
Black 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1238 Lincoln Boulevard
Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone: (424) 999-8870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Santa Monica High School
Santa Monica, CA


Light House School
Santa Monica, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT