Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lighthouse Christian Academy

Private | 9-12 | 60 students

Our school is best known for our caring instructors
 
 

 
 

Living in Santa Monica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $665,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2013

I thank God for this school. Here I can relax and know that my kids are not only receiving a great education but they do so in a safe environment of love and acceptance free from drugs, bullying and so many dangers. They have sports (football, soccer, volleyball, swimming), drama, art, and so many electives. But don't take my recommendation. There is racial harmony, which I delight in. Check it out yourself: http://thelighthousechristianacademy.com I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Lighthouse Christian Academy is a school that teaches students the most important thing and that is how to appreciate life at its fullest. It's easy for a student who got disciplined to take a dim view of the school and its talented staff who do a great job covering all the required learning. A review is a chance for revenge. But I'm never leaving the school. I'm a student and the teachers have taught me a lot. People should be more fair in their evaluations and not use it to strike back at teachers who disciplined them. The teachers have helped many, many students that were in pain mentally, physically and spiritually. Personally I have turned from a shy, selfish, bitter hater to a more confident, selfless, understanding person. The fact that you said that 98% of the students are "druggies" shows how wrong you are. You see even the good things as bad.


Posted April 17, 2013

I applied to this school thinking it would be great, safe and educational..That is NOT what it is at all!! 98% of the kids are druggies. And don't even get me started on the teachers.. Most of them aren't even graduated in what they are teaching. And have no idea what they are doing. Day after day i come home frustrated and at rage because of this. I've made complaints to the principal and other teachers, but nobody seems to care.. They agree. They say " Yeah, your not always going to have great teachers" Heres the thing there are only like two teachers! I haven't learned anything from my "teachers" i've been trying to learn on my own. I feel behind in work. I am one of the few that actually WANT to learn and this school is NOT for that at all. If you are planning on signing up your child.. DON'T! save your money!! go somewhere else!! You will put them in misery.. Unless you want your child to be with teachers that "used to be addicted to porn" and have no experience in what they are teaching. Then go right ahead. If you haven't already noticed most of the reviews here are from parents not students. If you actually heard what the students had to say you would be astounded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2010

This school is the best thing to ever happen in my daughter's life. I didn't want a public high school and The Lighthouse was wonderful in every way supporting a moral Christian character in her. Great trips for the senior students to Africa and Scotland. You cannot find this anywhere else. My daughter is now at UCLA with a great foundation for her life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This is an excellent place if you want to keep God in your child's life, give them an opportunity for a moral school experience and only if you want a place that truly loves your child and seeks only to help them mature into a man or woman with good character. My daughter went there from 2-12th grades, is at UCLA today studying to be a doctor. Her education at the Lighthouse took her to Africa on a medical mission and a humanitarian outreach to Scotland's youth. Where can you get this?? This is the best kept secret in Santa Monica, don't miss the opportunity of a lifetime. We are only given this time once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

I am very pleased with the personalized attention the students receive and the amount of sports and extra curricular activities they offer. There is definitely a strong emphasis on academics and the homework is not light, but I think it the students will be more than prepared for university. My daughter loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

Attending the Lighthouse has been one of the greatest experiences of my life! In all sincerity, the Lighthouse has instilled in me a desire to achieve and learn beyond my high school days. If I could go back and do it all over I would.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2009

My 4 children have attended The Lighthouse elementary school from K-8th grade. Our oldest is currently enrolled in the high school and we have been trilled with the teachers, structure and nurturing there. Not only are the academics far above what is being taught in the surrounding public schools, but the spiritual instruction has proved invaluable as our daughter grows into young adulthood in a world where morals and accountability have become a dying breed. Thank you Lighthouse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I am an alumni of the LCA and proud of it. The impact of the teachers, both inside and outside of the classroom, changed my life. At the LCA, I learned not only to be a good student, but also to be a leader, an overcomer and a man.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2009

I am an alumni of the school and it is definitely a high school experience that is nothing like normal high schools. The problem I have is that I feel the family environment that Lighthouse has is more detrimental than it is helpful, most students become too familiar with the staff and teachers that they are more friends with everyone than it is having a teacher figure. When I was a student, there wasn't an emphasis on academics as the emphasis was more on football, field trips, spirituality and drama. If you want your child to go straight to a 4 year university after Lighthouse, you must stay on top of things, because most graduates go to SMC. Also, there are a lot of days that students in the upper grades miss because they're on school field trips which is not ok for students to be missing 4 weeks of school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2009

I'm a dad of 3 graduates from the LCA - Lighthouse Christian Academy. They have received an excellent education there from teachers who really cared about them individually. It's a real family atmosphere. As a ministry of the church, they focus on the students setting high goals for themselves and help the students achieve them. They concentrate on developing the kids Christian character. Because of the great student / teacher ratio there is a high level of involvement for each student in academics, sports, plays, community outreach and travel (for the upper grades). I would recommend to anyone who wants their kids to get the best education possible to send their kids to the Lighthouse...Kindergarten through 12th grade. Preschool too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

This school has a history of over two decades of producing excellent graduates. My son graduated from UCLA and my daughter is a nurse. It is a great school with a real emphasis on developing character which translates in a desire for the students to learn. Great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

The Lighthouse Church School is more of an indoctrinship than an emphasis on education. There is a 'close' relationship with the whole school administration (ie. cousins, husbands & wives,) that all teach there. I question where the tuition is going, being that the school itself is very outdated in necessary things such as old sink faucets no air conditoning only a few fans, which makes it close to impossible for students to concentrate when the weather is hot. There is an odd contrast in the appearance of the school and the fancy S.U.V 's the school administration drives around in. Not to mention that this shool was audited last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My son went to the school from K-12th grade. I loved how the teachers cared about my child and his welfare. They made sure the parents were involved, since as a parent I am responsible for my child. He has lifelong friends and on top of all that he received a good education. He played football, and at a larger school he might not have had that opportunity. He is now in college and becoming a man. I did not want my son to go to a public school, I found the right Christian school for him. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

They seem to be more concerned about the spiritual life of my family rather than educating my child. An over emphasis of church activities, such as 'revivals' and church 'outreaches' are twisted around and labeled as 'community service' opportunities. Be aware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

My son has been with the program since 2yrs of age and I felt its been an excellent start. They have extra activity's like music, dance or gym class that my son enjoyed. I felt when he moved from pre-school to kindergarten he was ready to handle the requirements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

This school is great. Aside from providing a safe haven for children to grow up in and learn the morals and values that our society lacks today, children also have an oppurtunity to play sports and participate in extracurricular activities that they might not be able to do somewhere else.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 26%
Two or more races 27% 3%
Hispanic 16% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Lighthouse Church School
Santa Monica area middle schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation Santa Monica College
California State Universities
University of California
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jack Mefford
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ORUEF
Fax number
  • (310) 829-5544

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • Personal Mentorship
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Lighthouse Church School
Santa Monica area middle schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Santa Monica College
California State Universities
University of California
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1424 Yale St
Santa Monica, CA 90404
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 829-2522

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Roads School
Santa Monica, CA


New Roads School
Santa Monica, CA



Light House School
Santa Monica, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT