Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Santa Monica, CA
Students enrolled: 60
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
I thank God for this school. Here I can relax and know that my kids are not only receiving a great education but they do so in a safe environment of love and acceptance free from drugs, bullying and so many dangers. They have sports (football, soccer, volleyball, swimming), drama, art, and so many electives. But don't take my recommendation. There is racial harmony, which I delight in. Check it out yourself: http://thelighthousechristianacademy.com I strongly recommend this school.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a community member
Lighthouse Christian Academy is a school that teaches students the most important thing and that is how to appreciate life at its fullest. It's easy for a student who got disciplined to take a dim view of the school and its talented staff who do a great job covering all the required learning. A review is a chance for revenge. But I'm never leaving the school. I'm a student and the teachers have taught me a lot. People should be more fair in their evaluations and not use it to strike back at teachers who disciplined them. The teachers have helped many, many students that were in pain mentally, physically and spiritually. Personally I have turned from a shy, selfish, bitter hater to a more confident, selfless, understanding person. The fact that you said that 98% of the students are "druggies" shows how wrong you are. You see even the good things as bad.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 1

Posted April 17, 2013
- a student
I applied to this school thinking it would be great, safe and educational..That is NOT what it is at all!! 98% of the kids are druggies. And don't even get me started on the teachers.. Most of them aren't even graduated in what they are teaching. And have no idea what they are doing. Day after day i come home frustrated and at rage because of this. I've made complaints to the principal and other teachers, but nobody seems to care.. They agree. They say " Yeah, your not always going to have great teachers" Heres the thing there are only like two teachers! I haven't learned anything from my "teachers" i've been trying to learn on my own. I feel behind in work. I am one of the few that actually WANT to learn and this school is NOT for that at all. If you are planning on signing up your child.. DON'T! save your money!! go somewhere else!! You will put them in misery.. Unless you want your child to be with teachers that "used to be addicted to porn" and have no experience in what they are teaching. Then go right ahead. If you haven't already noticed most of the reviews here are from parents not students. If you actually heard what the students had to say you would be astounded.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
This school is the best thing to ever happen in my daughter's life. I didn't want a public high school and The Lighthouse was wonderful in every way supporting a moral Christian character in her. Great trips for the senior students to Africa and Scotland. You cannot find this anywhere else. My daughter is now at UCLA with a great foundation for her life.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
This is an excellent place if you want to keep God in your child's life, give them an opportunity for a moral school experience and only if you want a place that truly loves your child and seeks only to help them mature into a man or woman with good character. My daughter went there from 2-12th grades, is at UCLA today studying to be a doctor. Her education at the Lighthouse took her to Africa on a medical mission and a humanitarian outreach to Scotland's youth. Where can you get this?? This is the best kept secret in Santa Monica, don't miss the opportunity of a lifetime. We are only given this time once.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 1

Posted October 20, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
I am very pleased with the personalized attention the students receive and the amount of sports and extra curricular activities they offer. There is definitely a strong emphasis on academics and the homework is not light, but I think it the students will be more than prepared for university. My daughter loves the school.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted August 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted July 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lighthouse Christian Academy
1424 Yale St, Santa Monica, CA  90404
(310) 829-2522
Last modified Lighthouse Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Lighthouse Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top