Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Miguel Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 09, 2016
- a community member
Probably the same 1st grade teacher others have complained about (high voice), we had similar issues when our son was in her class. Instruction was not great and we had to compensate at home. A class projector does not compensate for lack of reading instruction. I feel like we wasted the year, when we should have pulled our son out after the first few weeks (when we could see ineffective instruction). Little or no moving around the class to help students. Never went out of her way to address student needs. Seemed burned out at the beginning of the year...not a good sign. Now our son is in 4th grade, and thanks to good 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade teachers, he is above grade level now.

San Miguel Elementary School 2

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
Have waited through a miserable semester with our daughter stuck in a terrible first gr. class. Teacher will not expend energy to move around the class providing help...not an option. She stays at her projector and ignores kids' needs for help. Also, though parents donate all of the class's supplies (which are plentiful) teacher hoards them in cupboards and rations very frugally...cruel to kids who are scraping the last of the glue stick or missing supplies. No washing hands allowed ever (only nasty hand sanitizer which does not work at cleaning hands), though there's a sink in the classroom) again, hoarding for herself. Very sad that these children are at her mercy, for their needs are not met. It's all covered up w/ a high pitched voice which suggests kindness. Look at the actions. Talk to your kids. Actions speak louder than words...we tell our kids that but should expect same from teachers and everyone. We are getting our daughter out at the upcoming winter break, a moment we have been awaiting since August.


San Miguel Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 05, 2015
- a community member
Any teacher of a 1st grade class of 6 and 7 year olds who uses a huge RED pen on a daily basis to publicly humiliate children by circling in giant ink and pointing out their errors should be fired. It may have been acceptable in the 50s, but this is 2015 and children deserve to be encouraged in a positive manner, not shamed and embarrassed for making mistakes. Shame on this teacher!

San Miguel Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 24, 2015
- a community member
Look up your child's teacher and the school administrator on Transparent California and decide if s/he is earning the avg. $85k-95k ($125-150k for principals) they are somehow paid (by public funds, half of which are the property taxes parents pay) for only working 180 days per year. Shouldn't half of this funding go to smaller classes and more individualized education? Do you want your child in a class of 25, 30, 35 kids getting "lost in the crowd"? Don't our kids deserve better? So much for teachers being underpaid martyrs...this money could go to smaller classes, more music and art than once per month (kids need daily art and music!). Public schools are leaving our kids's needs last and parents are letting it happen year after year.

San Miguel Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2015
- a community member
One of the first grade teachers is a wolf in sheep's clothing. Her sweet, high-pitched voice masks her negative actions toward students. She ignores student needs such as bathroom requests, raised hands for help, and any individual needs which may interfere w/ her "teaching to the standardized tests." She clings to her prized projector instead of walking around helping students. Gloats that students will develop a power point presentation this year (big deal) when most parents would prefer their first grader READ! She also keeps her classroom FREEZING despite shivering students.


San Miguel Elementary School 4

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
All if my sons have gone to San Miguel I must admit it was a great school, we just moved to Texas from California and the Texas schools make me wish we were back in California at San Miguel, they are a good school, we missed Mr. Calloway, he was an awesome principle!!

San Miguel Elementary School 4

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
I am proud to say that my child attends San Miguel school. The teachers are amazing and truely are a community. However, I am very disappointed by the new principle and extremely frustrated with the yard duty staff and their lack of positive reinforcement with the children. For a few years now I have seen them use "time outs" for unnecessary amounts of time. When I ask my child how their day was at school, I do not want to hear about how mean the yard supervisors were.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Currently the best choice out of the 3 elementary schools in this district. It's less snobby than John B. Riebli and has fewer English learners than Mark West. (And let's face it, that makes a huge difference.) The new principal this year was fantastic but rumor has it he might be gone next year. Also several teachers retiring, so who knows how that might change teaching quality? Solid sports programs, but proximity to the middle school can be a concern if your kids are in 5th or 6th.


San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
San Miguel School provides a caring community atomosphere which benefits the students, staff and the community at large.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
The teachers i have had the pleasure to meet with all seem to truely enjoy their job and are born to do this. This reflects and travels to my child allowing her to enjoy school and learning new things

Nearby schools

San Miguel Elementary School
5350 Faught Road, Santa Rosa, CA  95403-1205
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (707) 524-2960
Last modified San Miguel Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top