Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Proctor Terrace Elementary School 2

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
Assessment of the k-6 Proctor Terrace Experience - D. It starts with the Principal as the leader. He was very aloof & did little to engage with the students & parents. The teachers with few exceptions focused on the "top performers" often disregarding questions and concerns expressed by students and parents alike. The school also embraced a "cast" system which relates to a well-off & traditional family. If you have an alternative family situation, you don't fit the PT profile and are not embraced as part of the PT family. There was the typical amount of issues with kids and group's which is to be expected and normal. However, when Teacher engage in a form of Bullying and Targeting Kid's through a number of tactic's which include dismissive response to questions / concerns / issues, penalizing a child for not fitting in, and a lack of awareness of a child's commitments in other school sanctioned activities that conflict with poor planned special events leading to the child being targeted and called out because they couldn't make a practice due to a pre-schedule event like a game. Those examples are totally unacceptable and a form of Bullying.

Proctor Terrace Elementary School 2

Posted July 21, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school. The teachers were nice but the principal was really scary. Also the food is disgusting. One time the milk was recalled due to the expiration date. Also this school follows the class system in my opinion With the popular kids and the loners and the weirdos.i mean like it's average. The teachers are fantastic. A normal public school. There wasnt enough P.E though. We only did p.e like once every month. The scores are good though. But I didn't like it very much. Oh and the classes are very very very loud. Like you would not believe. If you have a quiet and good kid they might come home stressed because the teacher help in the class all day due to noise.overall I give this school a 6 maybe a 7. I'd rather have gone to hidden valley or mark west. And after reading what the parents say i think they don't know how different this generation handles elementary school.


Proctor Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school last year Kindergarden- 6 grade all the teackers are great and all you events are even greater!! Now I'm going to Santa Rosa middle school 7th grade.

Proctor Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school full of diverse and kind children. I have been an active parent volunteer at this school for 6 years. I have experience working with the students, families, staff, teachers and the principle. All are dedicated, respectful and committed to not only a great academic experience but giving the students an enriching experience both in the arts, music, and science. The after school enrichment is fantastic. We have Lego robotics, Lego engineering, art, guitar, chorus, band, Spanish, tennis, volleyball, basketball ETC! The parents and teachers give and give ~ no one is left out. The PTA funds and supports all students, especially those that may not be able to afford to participate. The PTA is constantly having free events such as Movie Nights, School Dances, Tigerfest Carnival, etc. Socio-economics is not a factor here; every child is treated equally and given the best opportunities the school community can afford. The PTA funds a whooping 78K worth of activities for the teachers and students a year!!

Proctor Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
I think Proctor Terrace is a great school! The teachers and parents really make this a wonderful place to send our kids. There is so much parental involvement, from so many socioeconomic backgrounds. You can really feel that people care in their children s education. The afterschool enrichment programs are pretty darn good too! They are starting a Spanish class this year which should be an amazing addition! The walkathon this year was another huge success and we loved being a part of it. What can I say? I love this school!


Proctor Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2011
- a parent
This is a wonderful school my daughter loves it and has grown so much not only academically but in her shyness as well. Great teachers and other staff

Proctor Terrace Elementary School 3

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
I am sure the school is good if not better then a lot of failing SR city schools, however It sits directly on the St. Andreas fault line. The principal seems full of himself and their after school programs and daycare....lets just say there are better options outside the district. Do your research before believing all the hype. SR city district is a nightmare to deal with as well.

Proctor Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2010
- a parent
This school has a wonderful combination of teachers, staff and parents who make me excited that my child goes there.


Proctor Terrace Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
If your child doesn't fit into their perfect mold they are treated very poorly and even given up on. Some teachers are good, but the principal is not very personable. Children aren't uplifted by this school, rather shamed into behaving.

Proctor Terrace Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
After volunteering there for a number of years in a Special Day Class, I am still considered an honorary part of the school, even though I do not have time to spend there very often!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Proctor Terrace Elementary School
1711 Bryden Lane, Santa Rosa, CA  95404
(707) 528-3240
Last modified Proctor Terrace Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Proctor Terrace Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top