Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Rosa Charter School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
The positive dicipline has been truly amazing for our family. We are so pleased with our experience with this school and the community. Wouldn't want to be any where else. Thank you to all the amazing teachers who really out in their all.

Santa Rosa Charter School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Needing a permanent location has been difficult, but there's nothing like the people you share your child's school with, to reinforce why we chose Santa Rosa Charter!


Santa Rosa Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Mary Jo Hamilton, the School's Office Manager is also the resident miracle worker, good friend, problem solver, and people connector. She is a gem and we are so lucky to have her at Santa Rosa Charter School. I'm also grateful for the wonderful parents who helped build the school, and continue to do it as it encounters each year and the challenges and opportunities those bring. For those parents who work as board members, thank you too. Your leadership is inspiring.

Santa Rosa Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
the majority of the teachers have been at the school for many years, and are well versed in the curriculum and the positive discipline philosophy

Santa Rosa Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
my kids are not innundated with homework. reading is encouraged and more open ended inquiry projects and math practice are the kinds of things that are sent home.


Santa Rosa Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
children are encouraged to keep trying, and know that they can grow. traditional grades are not used, but a more flexible numerical scale that is more affiliated with doing personal best and showing growth.

Santa Rosa Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
What i love is that this school values mutual respect. So children respect each other, the teachers and parents/adults. But also we think that likewise, parents/adults, teachers need to also show respect for all the children.

Santa Rosa Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
this school uses positive discipline and a democratic approach to classroom management. children are part of discussion problems and finding solutions. Punitive approaches at other schools are not found here, but this school helps kids make amends and heal what is broken, help where friends are hurting and speak out when things don't seem fair.


Santa Rosa Charter School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
What I want for my own children is a place where the teachers know my kid, and know our family and care about not just academics but healthy social, emotional and physical growth. Where there is flexibility in the curriculum to allow kids to learn at their pace and truly inquire and develop both creative and critical thinking skills. The preschool taught me so much about how to be a good parent, and the same lessons help carry me through the elementary and middle school programs. Everyone participates in the parenting classes, so you get to know other families and have deep meaningful dialogue about what it means to be a parent and support your children in the best way. I have had three kids start in the preschool and move all the way up through middle school there, and they are bright, caring and capable kids thanks to this program. Since this is an INDEPENDENT charter (the oldest one in Santa Rosa--it started 20 years ago) the school has more autonomy over the program, the curriculum. I love this school.

Santa Rosa Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Catherine McCracken-Jones for giving my kids a great foundation for learning and exploring. LaDonna Moore for being a great Director and host of the lunchtime girls group, which was responsible for preventing a lot of girls issues. Thank you!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Rosa Charter School
PO Box 2508, Santa Rosa, CA  95405
(707) 547-2480
Last modified Santa Rosa Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Santa Rosa Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top