Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Santa Rosa, CA
Students enrolled: 55

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mesa High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
The staff at Mesa High Schhol is amazing. My daughter had a difficult time at steam line High School and since at Mesa has done exceptionally well. It's nice to know they know the kids individually and their not just another number. It's a close nit school and their professional and one on one interaction is amazing. Thanks for all you do Mesa High School.

Mesa High School 4

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
Considering enrolling my 16 yr as a Jr. I find valuable the honesty, openness and willingness of the staff to tell it like it is. Students have freedom to learn at an accelerated pace and are rewarded for individuality, team work, effort as well as concrete results. Attendance is emphasized as the schools gets funding for attendance by the state; they need to keep the doors open, so students have incentives for showing up. They are encouraged to do their personal best while learning cooperation and respect. Explore current information on subjects instead of just passing standardized test. But, the scores are higher than the neighboring schools. Student is able to "shadow" to see if they "fit". Parent interviews the staff at days end. My child thinks "out of the box". Advanced, specialized interests encouraged, more freedom in approach. Encouraged to think for themselves. JC is available to advance learning or prepare for college. Students are able to work online classes at school and at home. Homework is not required but they may do as much work as they like to advance. The student may opt for credit/no-credit or get a grade. Kids can participate in SRHS functions.


Mesa High School 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
Unfortunately, Mesa is often mislabeled a "continuation" school for kids who've been in trouble when in reality, it offers an alternative education for students of all academic levels who, for one reason or another, are struggling during a period of time that's an emotionally challenging time for some. My daughter graduated from Mesa with flying colors. I honestly believe that had she not been afforded this opportunity, she likely would have given up. To sum it up.....an amazing school, with amazing teachers and an amazing program. What more can I say.

Mesa High School 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
Mesa is a good school with very smart students. It's just sad how people are ignorant and judgmental when they have never attended the school and experienced it first hand.

Mesa High School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mesa High School 1

Posted September 09, 2008
- a student
very unorganized and random teaching ,on a daily basis kids just sit around in class doing nothing getting their attendance.

Mesa High School 5

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
I am very impressed with Mesa. The teachers are very friendly and have a great deal of experience. My son considers it an honor to be able to attend Mesa. He has learned a lot more here than at his previous school and feels he is very much a part of the school. The quality of education is superior. The students receive one on one attention and their individual needs are a priority. Being a part of Mesa is the best thing that could have happened to our son. He will be attending college in the fall.

Mesa High School 5

Posted June 06, 2006
- a student
Mesa High School, allows the most one on one experence for academic classes than any other school, also a great choice of Art, Sports and Extracurricular activies by allowing studies to choose what they want to due for a class session. The teachers are extremly experenced and friendly and go by a first name basis with all students and adults, also 2-3 yearly camping trips help new and old studies teachers and adults meet and be-friend each other


Mesa High School 5

Posted September 19, 2004
- a student
While Mesa High is labeled a continuation school, it actually feels like a privelage to attend. Flexible schedules are available for students with individual needs. The teachers are very informative with what they teach and will really take the time to make individuals understand the concepts of what they're trying to teach. The students are generally nice and approachable. By far the best high school I've attended.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mesa High School
1235 Mendocino Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA  95401
(707) 528-5227
Last modified Mesa High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Mesa High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top