Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J. X. Wilson Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 28, 2015
- a teacher
Some teachers give more or less homework than others. If you are concerned about the amount or quality of homework, talk to your child's teacher.

J. X. Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2015
- a teacher
The school has dedicated teachers, most of whom have taught at the school for many years. In the last couple years, JX has added a full time counselor, part time parent liaison, and other new positions to the staff to better support students.


J. X. Wilson Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone way down hill after this new principal has taken over. The teachers for some reason think it's ok to yell at people's children and punish them for extremely minor things. Loved this school since my children were there in Kindergarten. Now my kids and my self can't wait to move schools and get away from this boot camp!

J. X. Wilson Elementary School 3

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
I was happy until they changed principals. I feel that the school should implement some type of foreign language program. bullying is an issue with this school. Im seriously contemplating changing schools...

J. X. Wilson Elementary School 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
This school has teachers that like to give their liberal spin on what they teach. Students who are bullied get in equal trouble for reporting bully's. Some teachers clearly are tired of their job and no longer like kids and if they don't like your child they will stonewall them


J. X. Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
I have loved our experience at JX. The teachers, administrators, and staff are all incredibly hard working and student focused. They expect students to learn, think, and respect each other. It is a great school.

J. X. Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
J.X. Wilson teachers and staff members really care about students, and it shows. It feels like a large, extended family of caring adults who all are in it for the kids. They hold high expectations for all students to achieve success. My kids are learning academically, and they're learning how to get along with other people. I couldn't be happier with a public elementary school!

J. X. Wilson Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2013
- a community member
A very cliquey school. Also, the principal seemed to take her cues from selected favored students rather than common sense .I had never seen anything like it. Not having a student there but, being an observer I was taken aback.


J. X. Wilson Elementary School 1

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
I have a younger brother at this school who is having difficulties in this school. He has been there since k- 6th. They seem to be waiting eagerly to punish their students for things that should't be a huge problem, and they constantly make it difficult for him to find a reason to succeed there. The principle removed his name from the basketball list because his cell phone was on in class when he was at recess. I very much disagree with this and many other decisions the administrators make, not to mention they treat parents like their opinions don't matter to them, which is absolutely disgraceful.

J. X. Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
We are very happy with JX Wilson school. I have two children attending in kindergarten and 1st grade. Class sizes are kept at a workable standard and parent involvement is great to see. My children have been given special attention when needed and I can see the positive results of teachers who have time to give. Its also nice to see teachers who are enthusiastic about their jobs. The principal is wonderful, she really takes time to get to know parents and children and even grandparents, uncles. I have never thought much about schools in the past coming from a small town with limited options but I am hoping to keep my kids in JX all the way through to 6th grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J. X. Wilson Elementary School
246 Brittain Lane, Santa Rosa, CA  95401-5810
(707) 525-8350
Last modified J. X. Wilson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J. X. Wilson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top