Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Rose

Private | K-8 | 296 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Rosa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

I have had two kids attend St. Rose school. This school feels like home as the teachers have genuine concern for the kids and families watch out for one another and get to know each other through various events including the most awesome Dad's club and Mom's nights out. The extracurricular activities are well attended and include drama, choir, chess, band. When there is extended illness, the teacher and staff are willing to help so that missed work doesn't get overwhelming and they are very supportive. The St. Rose annual event is a ball and everyone has a great time. The Father- daughter dance was a favorite of my daughter. I don't know about the review about the staff being snobbish- the staff at St. Rose are so incredibly nice, helpful and caring. Miss Sue in the front office is always smiling and knows all the kids. Mr. L is a great science teacher and makes learning a fun experience with practical lessons. Mrs. B offers such creative art classes- I didn't realize my kids were such artists. Mrs. Ryan the principal is approachable and available. They have a great sports program with a fabulous gym- just check out all the medals. They also get to run on Cardinal Newmans track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

Our two daughters have attended St. Rose Preschool and Elementary School since they were 3 years old. They have grown into academically and socially confident and mature young ladies in an environment free of the distractions found elsewhere because St. Rose School teaches and fosters the importance of faith, family and friends. The academic environment is enhanced by the school's zero tolerance for bullying and other unkind actions and behaviors. Our St. Rose School and Parish community is the "village" it takes to raise a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

Both our kids have attended St. Rose since pre-school. One has since graduated and was extremely well prepared to attend Cardinal Newman High School . Both kids have truly enjoyed the school and the teachers. It is a tremendous atmosohere to learn and develop into a young man or young women. The parental involvement is amazing. The class size isnt a issue, for two reasons. One there is a teacher's aide, but more importanly, the teachers have total control of the classroom, which makes for a very safe and studious evnviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

As a parent of two children who currently attend St. Rose and have done so for the past 7 years, I can attest to the extremely high quality of education and the strong community spirit at St. Rose. I also know from the experience of close friends that students who graduate from St. Rose make the transition to any high school very easily. I do question the quality of some previous postings on this website. One mentions that principal is male (she is not). One mentions unfriendly staff, parents and children (I know these statements to be untrue). Another mentions lack of support for struggling students and advancement for the gifted. My children and those of close friends have received both support when needed and challenges when deserved. My advice is to take the word of any reviewers online with a grain of salt, mine included. The best and only real way to evaluate St. Rose (or any school) is to schedule a tour, visit the school, meet the staff and students and judge for yourself. If your looking for a great school and to be part of a wonderful and supportive school community, St. Rose is for you. Ted Luthin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

I am proud to be a part of St. Rose School. This is our 2nd year and we were very welcomed by parents & staff when we enrolled. There are many opportunities to become involved and it provided a great way to meet all the kids and really get to know my daughter's classmates. Just like anything in life, what you put into it, is what you get out of it! The classes may be large but the teachers have outstanding attitudes and the children display manners & respect for the teachers as they are in control of the classrooms. We are very happy with our choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

We couldn't have been more disappointed. They may teach religion but they don't demonstrate the faith. It's all about the money there. The teachers and office staff are snobby and unfriendly, so are many of the kids. The class sizes are so big, everyone is expected to learn at the same pace. There's no help for kids who are behind and no challenge for those more advanced. There are so many other, better, choices in Sonoma County and some are even free! Keep looking!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

What a huge disappointment. If your children are attending this school,ask them questions and listen to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

Keep the current principal - he is sooo involved and is great with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

The extra curricular activities offered are great though, and the parents are also deeply involved with fundraisers and such, which is great. The setting where the school is a rural area, which is really cool. Until the academics are improved, I would consider sending your child to SRCS.


Posted December 19, 2007

This is an above average school but class sizes are too large with up to 42 kids in one classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

My kids like this school very much. The parents are required to be involved. The academic programs are good, however I wish there were more opportunity for advanced classwork. I enjoy the 'family' atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

I am currently a 7th grade student at St. Rose. I'd like to say that this school is the best k-8 school I could ever ask for. The teachers actually care about you, my NBCSL basketball team has just won the championships 3 times undefeated. So I'd like to say one thing to you parents who are thinking of enrolling your child into St.Rose. This is your best decision you have made for your child's present and future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2004

This is our second year at St. Rose and it is just a marvelous place for your children to attend school, learn about God and caring for others. The teachers are just fabulous. Great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathy Ryan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Santa Rosa
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Old Redwood Highway
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone: (707) 545-0379

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Guadalupe Private
Santa Rosa, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT