Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Rose 5

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
I have had two kids attend St. Rose school. This school feels like home as the teachers have genuine concern for the kids and families watch out for one another and get to know each other through various events including the most awesome Dad's club and Mom's nights out. The extracurricular activities are well attended and include drama, choir, chess, band. When there is extended illness, the teacher and staff are willing to help so that missed work doesn't get overwhelming and they are very supportive. The St. Rose annual event is a ball and everyone has a great time. The Father- daughter dance was a favorite of my daughter. I don't know about the review about the staff being snobbish- the staff at St. Rose are so incredibly nice, helpful and caring. Miss Sue in the front office is always smiling and knows all the kids. Mr. L is a great science teacher and makes learning a fun experience with practical lessons. Mrs. B offers such creative art classes- I didn't realize my kids were such artists. Mrs. Ryan the principal is approachable and available. They have a great sports program with a fabulous gym- just check out all the medals. They also get to run on Cardinal Newmans track.

St. Rose 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
Our two daughters have attended St. Rose Preschool and Elementary School since they were 3 years old. They have grown into academically and socially confident and mature young ladies in an environment free of the distractions found elsewhere because St. Rose School teaches and fosters the importance of faith, family and friends. The academic environment is enhanced by the school's zero tolerance for bullying and other unkind actions and behaviors. Our St. Rose School and Parish community is the "village" it takes to raise a child.


St. Rose 5

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
Both our kids have attended St. Rose since pre-school. One has since graduated and was extremely well prepared to attend Cardinal Newman High School . Both kids have truly enjoyed the school and the teachers. It is a tremendous atmosohere to learn and develop into a young man or young women. The parental involvement is amazing. The class size isnt a issue, for two reasons. One there is a teacher's aide, but more importanly, the teachers have total control of the classroom, which makes for a very safe and studious evnviroment.

St. Rose 5

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of two children who currently attend St. Rose and have done so for the past 7 years, I can attest to the extremely high quality of education and the strong community spirit at St. Rose. I also know from the experience of close friends that students who graduate from St. Rose make the transition to any high school very easily. I do question the quality of some previous postings on this website. One mentions that principal is male (she is not). One mentions unfriendly staff, parents and children (I know these statements to be untrue). Another mentions lack of support for struggling students and advancement for the gifted. My children and those of close friends have received both support when needed and challenges when deserved. My advice is to take the word of any reviewers online with a grain of salt, mine included. The best and only real way to evaluate St. Rose (or any school) is to schedule a tour, visit the school, meet the staff and students and judge for yourself. If your looking for a great school and to be part of a wonderful and supportive school community, St. Rose is for you. Ted Luthin

St. Rose 5

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
I am proud to be a part of St. Rose School. This is our 2nd year and we were very welcomed by parents & staff when we enrolled. There are many opportunities to become involved and it provided a great way to meet all the kids and really get to know my daughter's classmates. Just like anything in life, what you put into it, is what you get out of it! The classes may be large but the teachers have outstanding attitudes and the children display manners & respect for the teachers as they are in control of the classrooms. We are very happy with our choice!


St. Rose 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
We couldn't have been more disappointed. They may teach religion but they don't demonstrate the faith. It's all about the money there. The teachers and office staff are snobby and unfriendly, so are many of the kids. The class sizes are so big, everyone is expected to learn at the same pace. There's no help for kids who are behind and no challenge for those more advanced. There are so many other, better, choices in Sonoma County and some are even free! Keep looking!

St. Rose 1

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
What a huge disappointment. If your children are attending this school,ask them questions and listen to them.

St. Rose 1

Posted July 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. Rose 3

Posted November 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Rose 5

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
Keep the current principal - he is sooo involved and is great with the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Rose
4300 Old Redwood Highway, Santa Rosa, CA  95403
(707) 545-0379
Last modified St. Rose is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Rose Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top