Advertisement
Advertisement

Brush Creek Montessori School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Rosa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $314,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

I would give "0" stars if i could. Please, please reconsider if you plan to put your child or children in this school in the upper elementary grades, especially 5th-8th grade classroom. We pulled our daughter our due to 'shaming' "discipline" practices by the (main) teacher. (very old-fashioned, parochial, un-informed, and harmful ways of dealing with pre-adolescent/adolescent social issues) Also, there is very little direct teaching/instruction and the teachers are actually not qualified to teach students at this level... for what they need to know in this modern age. Kids are given busywork sheets and then left on their own to figure them out. We are the 2nd family this year to pull their child out of this class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

If you are looking for a school where your child will enhance their learning abilities in a highly customized and enriching environment where their spirit and aptitude will be celebrated on a daily basis then this is the school for you. We were looking for a school we could trust and we found it! It is a place where you can have full confidence in the study programs your child will receive. My child loves going to school everyday, the challenge and the staff. As a parent I can relax knowing she is being watched over carefully and 1:1 with her teachers daily. She has tested consistently above her grade level on STAR testing (standardized testing). She has been developed academically, socially, creatively, physically and received numerous awards in the community from assoc. for her leadership, conflict resolution, creativity, volunteer work, and responsible citizen. This is all a direct reflection of her role models who look out for her best interests at BCMS. Every parent who has left the school tells me it was a mistake and I notice the light in their child's eyes is not the same. There is simply no other school like this. We are very fortunate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Montessori is an amazing teaching style. Our children have benefitted from it with their creativity and reading. Unfortunately, the school lacks the organizational structure for us to continue. While one of the teachers has wonderful teaching ability, the rest of the organization is unable to provide an acceptable learning environment. Supplemental teaching was required. My kids had to catch up. Testing scores are deceiving. While scores are high, students are not matched with equally involved parents. Communication with the teachers and administration is challenging at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

My two children went to this school for two years. If you are looking for academics, this is not the place. We now have to have our children tutored over the summer, just to be at the same level as public schools in our district. There is NO Science or PE. Free recess is not PE. The kids just play by themselves, with no adult supervision. If someone gets hurt, the teachers, who would sit on benches far away are available for emergency. They wouldn t be bothered for one and a half hours, unless someone cried or screamed. The tour is great, but the actual academics and educational leadership were HORRIBLE. Our child s teacher was there 4 days a week. Friday was considered fun day by the children. This goes on for 3 years. I would not sign up my kid for this school without talking to parents that have had kids in this school first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

BCMS is an outstanding educational setting for your child. It is NOT owned by 3 teachers as stated, several teachers own the buildings and grounds(LLC), the school operations are nonprofit. Located in a pastoral setting with lots of green space, the school just celebrated 40 years, so it has educated generations of local families. This school is a certified Montessori training school, the ONLY one of its kind in the Bay Area. The Montessori philosophy is truly child-centered, so work is assigned at different levels, not by age/grade. Some 8 year olds can complete high school algebra and some 8 year olds still are struggling to read. ALL children are taught to their individual skills/abilities. There are many/diverse opportunities to volunteer for parent involvement. PE has improved over the years, but recess time is significant. Homework is given in the elementary classes, grade 2 and up. School highlights include Drama- for K - 8, Spanish-ages 3 - grade 8, Band- grade 4 and up, Art - ages 3 and up, Creative Writing - K and up. Our students are well prepared when they move on to high school. BCMS students are some of the most well behaved and calm children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

I was a parent of 2 children at this school. They truly provided a terrible education. We spent a lot of money for very little return. There was no Physical Education there, and that is the way it is through 8th grade. Our son's work was hardly ever corrected or checked. We have kept his work to share with others. He was given tons of worksheets below his level to keep him busy. I know other children that leave there behind grade level. They are brought up to grade level in public schools. We did the research, and public schools spend more per child than this private school. When we tried to speak with the teacher, she would tell us what we wanted to hear. After they knew we were upset with the school, we were treated really poorly. We were stressed most of the year. This is a very honest review from a previous parent. This school is owned by 3 teachers, so it is very hard to disagree with anyone there. My friend just took her 2 children out, and will have to have them tutored all summer b/c they were 2 grades behind in math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

We specifically chose this school out of all the private and public schools in the area after interviewing almost all of them. Everyone in administration and staff has been excellent and absolutely as advertised. Our daughter has made many friends and done exceptionally well since we started here. It's very important to point out that the grouping of negative reviews in the past month or so (below) came from a small group of parents who clearly did not understand what Montessori was before they signed up their kids and are frustrated that it doesn't fit their rigid ideas on what a "private school" should be. If you need progress reports, report cards, grades, and constant weekly updates, then Montessori probably isn't for you. If you understand the methods and approach and can see the big picture, I highly recommend Brush Creek. As to the "no physical education" comment; the kids have 75 minutes a day of outside play time. That they're not being forced to play dodgeball seems irrelevant to me. (I'm a parent of a current 4th grader and have every intention of staying at BCMS through 8th grade.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

My son, now at another school, had a similar experience to the parent below. When you first see the school, it is warm and inviting. What you will receive is the opposite. There is a lack of communication, the staff is cold to the children and my son left behind in kindergarten. In his school now, he is fine. That is b/c they focused more on him, and basic skills. I have spoken with a few people, and they have told me that this school has a bad reputation. I am a father, and this is my first review. I feel it is important to let other parents know about our experience. Once your child is in, it is hard to make a change. We were very impressed with College Oak, but they were full.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

My child went here for one of the most miserable years of her life (preschool). Went from being a happy, active learner to having night terrors. She still blocks that period out of her memory. Everything got better after switching her to another Montessori program in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

My child was failing in public school. I attempted to homeschool him, but he missed having friends and I am not the best teacher for him. We entered BCMS mid-year (2nd grade) and my son immediately made quality friends, his teachers are/have been working around his learning disability (dyslexia) but they don't focus on his flaws. He is taught as a whole person, he is taught respect for other people, nature and education. We are very happy at BCMS and plan on staying to the end of 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

My child is a middle school student at BCMS. The decision to place our then 6th grader at BCMS came after tearful parent-teacher conferences at the public school and low test scores. BCMS allowed our child to learn with all the senses, to think and understand the lessons, to complete the work at school until the lesson plan was mastered. The teachers truly care about each student and their success. Teachers and students communicate on a first name basis and there is a mutual respect. The location is in a country setting but they have state-of-the-art PCs. There are no social barriers, popularity struggles nor a fraction of the drama that you d find in the public schools. The best thing about BCMS is that it gave our child a renewed confidence. My child s test scores were above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

I have been a parent at BCMS for over 6 years (2 children) from primary to elementary. My children come home happy and rejuvenated by the school experience. The staff is outstanding and the curriculum is very beneficial to the learning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

BCMS has an amazing program for preschool through middle school. The staff is amazing. The Head Of School, Susan Cohn, is passionate about her school. The well-rounded education is individualized to meet each student where they are (part of the Montessori philosophy). We have one child in the Primary (preschool) program and one in the Lower Elementary classroom. Both girls participate in Art and Spanish classes with specialized teachers. In addition, the Lower and Upper Elementary classroom also benefits from a music and science program. There are ample opportunities to participate in special events, classroom upkeep, as classroom parent, a volunteer to listen to young readers, drive for field trips, etc. We have found communication to be extremely good and the teachers and Head of School are always accessible to discuss our children s progress. The children in the elementary program consistently test above their grade in standardized tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

Great extracurricular pieces, good staff but communication to parents needs improvement. Opportnities for parents to participate are limited to upkeap of grounds and fundraising. We would have liked to have been invited to be present in the classroom, at least a bit for our preschooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Asian 14%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1569 Brush Creek Road
Santa Rosa, CA 95404
Phone: (707) 539-7980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT