Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rincon Valley Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 420 students

Our school is best known for fourty years excellence in a Chrisitan environment

 

Living in Santa Rosa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $342,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

We're new to the middle school and have been very happy so far. Our child was a top student in public elementary school and the administration and staff have been very supportive of our desire to push him beyond his grade level academically. It's a level of care you wouldn't find in the public schools. In all, if we had a do-over, we would have sent our older children to RV Christian starting in middle school, but it took a while for us to comprehend the depths to which even highly-touted public high schools have fallen in their moral teaching of kids (driven by staff and administration). RV Christian is certainly a light in the darkness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

I'm an alumni,and the mother of an alumni, and am very sad to say that this school I'd not taking bullying seriously ! My sister Kids are being bullied and the administration is humming a blind eye and refusing tho to discipline the offenders! Not acceptable in today's world.


Posted October 30, 2013

This school is fantastic!! Wonderful staff and teachers, outstanding in academics, christ centered and has a fantastic music department. Our Kids start playing instruments in kindergarten and if not in band they are in choir. Plus, we have a fantastic basketball team!! If you are looking for a great environment to bring up your kids in this is definitely it!! Look no further!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

The academics are excellent challenging my kids to strive and work hard to do well. After the first year there (4th & 5th grades), they got into a good groove and and while they are still challenged by the academics, they are doing very well. RVCS is fully accredited by ASCI and WASC. The music program is xlnt with an ewesome band instructor who has been with the school over 20 years and with trips to places ranging from Disneyland to Europe! Athletics is another highlight of this school that runs an excellent sports program. Basketball, volleyball, soccer and flag football for middle school, while it is expanded for high school including track, weight lifting, football and more. The Christian environment that simply enhances every aspect of this school making God the central focus of everything this school stands for. RVC has an experienced principal who has high standards and a compassionate heart for kids. Excellent and experienced teachers, the amazing RenWeb program allowing parents to participate in their child's progress 24/7. The tremendous parental involvement in this school adds to positive and encouraging environment of the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

Our son has been through the RVCS preschool program and we could not be happier with this school. His teachers and the preschool director worked together with us and our son to make his preschool experience such a positive, fulfilling one. My son learned so much because they truly understand children, they know how to teach/interact with them, and they have a very thorough curriculum. He was excited to go to preschool every day. I am so thankful for this school and the staff that provided a Christian based, safe, loving, and caring environment for my son. On top of the fantastic curriculum, there were so many fun activities, parties, and projects throughout the entire year. He will be starting Kindergarten at RVCS in the fall and is very excited. We have already met the teacher several times over the last two years and she is the sweetest person! My youngest will also be starting the preschool program in the fall and is very excited after watching his brother attend. We are so happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I recently graduated after 12 years at RVC. It was a very good place for someone to grow in. I stand firm ready for my college experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2006

We enrolled our daughter in Rincon Valley Christian for Pre-K last year and have been so pleased with the school. RVC has an excellent/balanced curriculum, consistent discipline, and families who participate a great deal with the school. She is now in the kindergarten class and excited to have many of the same classmates and even a teacher from last year! This could have been a very anxious time for our family - well, at least for Mom - but we are very confident in the teachers and administration of this school. I know she is in loving hands. Rincon Valley Christian has been a blessing to us. Defiantly an answer to our prayers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Great school, we love the teachers. You have to pay the price but it is worth it. Great music programs and a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

This is a great school! Good Student/teacher ratios, nice site, etc. would definitely send my child to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

Our daughter enrolled in their preschool program and we have been highly impressed. The school is so dedicated, extremely safe, the teachers most caring about our child and when I volunteered I was HUGELY impressed with the reality of how they are training and educating our child. The teachers treat them like their own children yet are very consistent with educating and disciplining. Our daughter has grown so much from this year and we highly reccommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

My son just started 6th grade this year. So far I have been very impresses with how the school is run and operated. The leadership is fantastic. The teacher is dedicated. The parents are involved. The rules are consistent. The education far better than his last school. I wish I had brought him over sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter has been at RVCS since Pre-K; she is now in 3rd grade. The staff are dedicated, caring and consistent! The curriculum is/are (I didn't go there...) outstanding, parent involvement and student moral are high. This is a school the kids like to go to and the parents see positive results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is my daughters 13th and final year at RVCS and my sons 12th year. What a wonderful quality education my children have recieved! The principal,teachers and board have been wonderful to work with over the years. The athletic programs are organized and competitive. The campus is maintained wonderfully. I highly recommend Rincon Valley Christian. My grandchildren will attend this campus in the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school offers it all. From a fine education to variety of extra curriculum programs and all in a safe environment. The school seems to be organized and fiscally responsible. When school lets out in the summer the students are offered a variety of activities to keep them busy until they return in September.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 9%
Black 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 30% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Sonoma State University
William Jessup University
Santa Rosa Junior College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship (2012)
  • national Merit Scholar Semifinalist (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paul Eggenberger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (707) 539-1493

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
65
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
68

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sonoma State University
William Jessup University
Santa Rosa Junior College
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 30%
4 year college - 60%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4585 Badger Road
Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 539-1486

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rincon School
Santa Rosa, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT