Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Rosa Christian School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Santa Rosa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $227,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2010

I was a student at this school and I have to tell you that the curriculum was complete nonsense and the grading was too, the teachers/staff judge unfairly. The tuition is wasted on sub par education. The best decision you could make in your lifetime would be to not send your children to this 'school'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

I am so pleased my grandchildren attend SRCS. They are not only receiving an excellent education, but they are also learning the think critically and to think like a Christian. I am grateful for the way the staff at SCRS know and love the students. I also love the Strengths education focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

When I entered High school I questioned whether or not I wanted to stay at a school as small as SRC that may not be able to offer the extracurricular activities that a larger school could but I am now completely thankful that I chose to stay. The teachers are amazing and go out of their way to connect with each student and work with them on their level. I have seen doors open for me due to the quality education I have received at SRC. The thing I most appreciate about SRC is that it is a Christian environment that still allows you to question and to state your opinion. Applying to college has been amazing. I have been accepted by every college that I have applied to and was also scouted by schools like Stanford and other academically challenging schools. SRC is growing, its an exciting place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

I am glad I send my daughter to SRCS. I did have one year of school that I was not that pleased with the teacher. But overall the experience has been very nice. They are going through some changes in leadership which can be a little frustrating getting answers but I can see a change for the better in the future. My daughter is happy and learning that is my priority. And Christ is in her life, most important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

High quality education, with christian beliefs emphasis. Excellent music and PE program, limited art, and nature sciences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

I have been driving my two sons to Santa Rosa Christian School for 9 years. I come about 30 miles to get them to the finest education I can. The teachers go the extra mile and the spirit of the students is encouraging and Godly. My senior has been accepted to two Christian universities, and has decided to go to Biola. He is very proud of the education he has received and how it has prepared him for a future as a Christian leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

This is a great school with great academics and solid Christian values. My children have thrived at SRCS. I am especially pleased with the caring and nurturing teachers, both elementary and secondary. It's a college prep school so be prepared for homework. Terrific elementary music program and theater program in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

I have really enjoyed the values that this school has taught my son. The academics, at least in the early grades have met my standards as well. The school could use more sport programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

This used to be a high quality school. Now, it's a ship lost at sea. It's had some really poor leadership in the past, which has recently changed. Hopefully things will improve again with time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

My child enjoyed her teachers in both k and 1st grade unfortunatly they chose to let 7 teachers go last year in the elementary levels only offering 1 class per grade. I felt this was a strain on the teachers and on the students. We were drawn to this school for the christian teachings which never faultered and to the small class sizes. The school has been talking about moving to a larger facility which may offer better athletics program for the higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

As a parent of a high school student and an elementary student I must say that in the last 3 years there has been a decline in the quality of the school. The is a unhealthy emphasis on raising the tuition without increasing the quality. We have suffered many cuts in staff and activities,and now you don't have to be a professing christian to attend. I am sad to say that we will not be returning. I hope that the board will notice the mass exodus of students and money and take a hard look at the new policies and make the connection. There are other private schools that offer more for less. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

I am a former student of Santa Rosa Christian School, and although it was a (mostly) wonderful elementary experience, there were a few problems. The elementary school program is excellent. I do feel,however, that though this is a christian school, that there is far too much emphasis placed on biblical education- so much, in fact, that they disregard proven scientific facts about evolution, history, etc. While many people believe some of the more, shall we say, disproven facts of the bible, these teaching methods did not allow (although my favorite teacher, Ms. Buechner, did encourage me to think for myself) free thought in the minds of the children. For those who believe implicitly in the bible and every 'fact' mentioned, this is a good school to have your children taught in. Another thing that bothers me is that many of the schoolboard's descisions on disceplanary action were affected by tuition- not neccesarily by morals and values. This disturbed me, and was the main reason why I did not continue school at SRCS, and moved to a charter school instead, of no religious affiliation. However, Overall, I had a good experience at SRCS. Again, I do reccomend it to Christian families. Thank you.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 77%
Asian 8%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

950 S Wright Rd
Santa Rosa, CA 95407
Phone: (707) 542-6414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wright Charter School
Santa Rosa, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT