Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chet F. Harritt Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
Not many teacher's or staff actually deserve a one star rating here. Only a few deserve a 4 or 5 star rating for honesty, integrity and fair treatment towards their students past and present.

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
As a parent of two son's which one attended and finished at CFH and my other son is currently in the 7th grade, I would say that for the most part, this school is a good school, but there isn't any extra curricular activities as far as sports, learning field trips or summer school to help any child further their knowledge and learning. This isn't solely their fault as it has alot to do with the school district's abilities to seek funding for the needs of their students/school's in their district. Children that have learning differences aren't given the extra help they need 1 on 1 to succeed and are consistently graded very negatively because they aren't given the tools to succeed and they don't comprehend what they are being taught. We have experienced this time and time again. Honestly I feel that there are several teacher's that have been at Chet for far too long, they are all burned out, have short fuses, and need to retire and get some new teacher's in there with a passion for teaching, that loves all children regardless of their learning capabilities.


Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
Great staff. Great location, safe school. STEAM Magnet school. 3 rd generation starting school in the fall. Test scores.

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a community member
The school has many problems. For one the teachers give little effort in fixing problems. And punishment for foul behavior is little. The school hosts many fundraiser and for alt hat cash, well it goes to the school, they need profit. The schools has little to no extra curricular activities, such as fine arts and sports. Favorites are often played. And awards are given to the same students over and over again for years. The citezenship award is a petty award given to student to make them feel better. And few awards are actually given to students whom deserve them. The education is good. But overall the school is lacking in the department of good. As an old student of Chet F. Harritt I wisely advise you to choose another elemtary school.

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
Chet is a terrific school. Both my kids have been going there for several years now. The teachers are very attentive and involved. Ms Lampe stands out as the most dedicated teacher I have ever met. She even sacrificed her after school hrs to provide free tutoring...how many teachers do you know that are that dedicated. I strongly recommend this school to any parent.


Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 3

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
Chet has great teachers for the most part a few fall really short of the mark. 5th grade is the worst as far as teachers go. Lampe falls in that category. Very unsatisfied with the time my child spent with her. It was a wasted year.

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 2

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughters have been at this school for almost 3 years. The teachers are hit and miss. Some are really good and dedicated. But like this year, we got two burnouts! Frustrating and when approached the principal to switch classrooms the answer is no after sufficient reasons to move. Yet, their "faves" they will move out in a second. Unless you are prepared to "suck up" you're kids are stuck with burned out teachers. What happened to sending your kids to school and the worst was fighting about homework?

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 2

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended Chet since Kindergarten and she just graduated from 8th grade . I ve had 9 years to evaluate this school and I can honestly grades K- 6 Chet is great, 7-8th highly disappointing. Since 6th grade my child has not attended any field trips other than the end of the year Knott s Soak City or Disneyland, this year their ASB consisted of 3 kids because none of the kids are motivated to run for office because the program is lacking, they play favorites to students whose parents are room moms or teachers at other schools in the district. During graduation I sat for 2 hours and watched the same 5-7 students getting awards while the remaining 65 students sat, bored because they already knew who was getting awards. There are many other deserving students who worked hard but were never recognized. My other two kids will not be attending Chet.


Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
My sone has been attending Chett since EAK and is doing phenomenal in all areas of study. He is now in 2nd grade. his reading and comprehension is at a 5th grade level with math approaching a 4th grade standard!

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2011
- a parent
My son has been at Chet since he started school. He is now in 4th grade. He loves the school. Mr. Johnston, the principal, is a great asset to Chet. You can tell that he really loves his job and his students. He knows the students by name. The teachers have been fantasti. My son tested for GATE last year but we opted to keep him at Chet because GATE was at a different school. We didn't want to leave Chet. Even though they do not have a GATE program yet, I believe that they are teaching just as much as a GATE program would have. They have very high standards for their teachers and students. I wish they would get a GATE program there.

Nearby schools

Chet F. Harritt Elementary School
8120 Arlette Street, Santee, CA  92071-3513
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (619) 258-4800
Last modified Chet F. Harritt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top