Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Argonaut Elementary School 1

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
This school was a disappointment to us as well. The curriculum is inconsistent across teachers. There is lack of classroom discipline and consistent teaching of the core areas by some teachers. I did not feel my children acquired the knowledge expected according to state standards at the end of the year. The principal was great and understanding but in end we choose to put our children in private school. In less than 7 months of private school they are now far exceeding California standards for their grade, due to consistent teaching and a solid curriculum. Our children are now thriving and feeling confident with their ability to complete their homework.

Argonaut Elementary School 1

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
This school was a disappointment for our child. We did not feel the teacher was committed to making a difference but rather was clock watching to retirement. While the principal was sympathetic, there wasn't much he could do. In the end we removed our child.


Argonaut Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Truly the best elementary school there is! The principal is amazing, the office staff is super friendly, and the teachers are tops!!!

Argonaut Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The leadership of the Principal is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. Teachers are professional and awesome too. Parents are very involved in the volunteer activities. I believe this is an outstanding school.

Argonaut Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
I love this school and am so happy with the principal, teachers and staff and all the activities they incorporate to make learning fun and challenging. My 5th grader and 2nd grader have been here since kindergarten and I feel this school is even better than the private schools I know of (or have friends kids in). Could not have asked for anything better. Hope the redwood middle and saratoga high are as good as this one!


Argonaut Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
My son is in 1st grade this year. We feel very satisfied. His teacher is really enthusiastic on teaching, and has inspired all the kids in the class about math/science and lots of other things. I was really impressed by the breadth and depth of topics covered, and the way they were introduced. The school also focuses a lot on writing, starting early from kindergarten. They have 'writer's workshop' almost everyday. And I can see big improvement from his weekend journals. The last journal he did has lots of details, actions, and even dialogs. It is almost like reading an interesting paragraph/chapter from a book! There are also many activities sponsored by PTA. Almost everyone in his class participated the science fair. Every parents should know that the best way to help your kids is to get actively involved in schools. Here luckily we have lots of parents exactly doing that!

Argonaut Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2005
- a parent
Argonaut is perfect for my 5 year old! There are so many fun activities provided for the kids to learn; the teacher is extremely energetic and caring, paying attention to all the details. I am so glad we come to this school.

Argonaut Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2005
- a parent
This school has been wonderful with the teachers and parents as active participants. All the students are treated as gifted. The teachers try to work with each child's weaknesses to make them more confident overall. Extracurricular activities like music is offered. Parents are encouraged to actively participate and voice their concerns or start extra fun-classes. Since budget cuts, the school has still been able to provide art and math docent programs and science labs. (with assistance from Lawrence Livermore labs) which the children enjoy. On the whole the school's program is great to make the child successful all-around.


Argonaut Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2004
- a parent
My daughter just started kindergarten. I am very happy so far with the teacher, curriculum, staff, parent participation, atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Argonaut Elementary School
13200 Shadow Mountain Road, Saratoga, CA  95070-4362
(408) 867-4773
Last modified Argonaut Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Argonaut Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top