Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School

Private | PK-8 | 392 students

We are known for a blend of strong academics and character development.
 
 

 
 

Living in Saratoga

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,371,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2013

Saint Andrew's is more than just a school, it is a community of friends. I have 3 children who LOVE going there everyday and love their teachers. The teaching standards are excellent and the teachers are all very highly qualified. You can see their bios online. Over the past 2 years I have seen each of my children grow and develop emotionally, socially and intellectually there. This school really is the best school in this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Our family is thrilled with Saint Andrew's! Our son just completed the Pre-K program and will be entering Kindergarten in a few weeks. We loved the class size and student to teacher ratio (20 students / 3 teachers.) The teachers communicated regularly and provided supplemental tools for us to use at home to complement what he was learning in class. The parent community was very welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Excellent move for our son! We moved from another private K-8 school in the area to St. Andrew's in 6th grade. The larger class size (approx 60) in the middle school at SA is an important milestone for young teens. A good step up as high school quickly approaches. My son is now in 7th grade and I can honestly say I do not have one complaint! He is thriving academically and socially. I believe the prepration for high school is outstanding. Also, the character building at St. Andrew's makes for a warm and caring environment. He has formed lifetime bonds with some of the teachers and that is priceless. We could not be more pleased with our decision to move to St. Andrew's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

As a public school teacher, I realize my two St. Andrew's children are benefiting from the "whole child" environment that they would otherwise not experience. My middle school student doesn't just get a single enrichment (elective) class per grading period but receives instruction in multiple enrichment classes. The attention they receive in the guaranteed small classes allows the teachers to identify areas of need, improvement and strength - and those teachers communicate this information well. Planned teacher conferences don't just occur in the lower school (Pre-K through 5th) - but all the way through 8th grade, ensuring continued communication throughout the school year. Small classes allow the teachers to plan and execute more hands-on and in-depth lessons - in a class of 35, most of these lessons would not be possible. The administration, with their open door policy, are accessible - they are professional in collaborating on solutions to issues that will inevitably occur during the course of a child's education, whether social or academic, the solutions are always focused on ensuring the child's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

Our son was in Saint Andrew s for 2 years. Frankly speaking, the curriculum was disappointing. I cannot see the difference between SA and public schools. Top public schools are definitely better than SA, especially in Math. Some teachers are under-qualified. There was a multiple choice question in a homework asking what the opposite word of fresh water was. My son chose salty water which was the correct answer. The teacher said used water was correct. I really couldn t believe my eyes! As for the character development part, they didn t mention it anymore to students after kindergarten. I would say the proportion of problematic kids in the school is higher than what I expected, provided it is a school who claims they emphasize character development and discipline. Teachers and the admin are not capable of handling problematic kids. We then decided to switch to a better school and let the school knew about our decision, though the administration did ask us to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

A few weeks before the school year ended, my son (7 yrs old) was kicked by a kid (X) in the same grade on the tummy during recess. We ended up sending him to ER as advised by the doctor s office. My son then consistently told us and the police that X kicked him on the tummy during recess. The teachers chatting far away didn t see that happened. The admin questioned the so called witnesses and claimed that X kicked a ball 12 ft away and hit my son. However, we learnt from one witness that he in fact saw X kicking a ball and hit my son on his side, not on the tummy. In short, nobody noticed when X kicked my son. But that witness did see my son rolling on the ground because of great pain. The admin finally asked my son and X to sit down with one person Y from the admin to discuss the issue. I was not allowed to be with them. After the meeting, my son broke down and burst into tears. He told me Y forced him to admit that it was the ball that hit him, despite the fact that my son kept telling Y it is X who kicked him on his tummy. The admin just wanted to tell my son to shut up so that things will be much easier for them, esp. we would not be their customer anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

I love Saint Andrews. I've been here since 6th grade and I feel that I am embedded in the st. a's family. I'm in the concert choir, in which it's always a routine for one of us to scream "TWO MORE DAYS UNTIL DISNEYLAND!" to compete in the Anaheim Heritage Festival. I can't wait! The P.E. program is definitely one of the best highlights of this school as well. We have a "race across the country" in which grades 6-8 compete to win a trip to the beach at the end of the year. We run 2-4 miles every week, do ab workouts, and also play many games. I also loved our trip to D.C. We became so much closer as classmates, especially on the bus! National Junior Honor Society is a great way for us to stay on track, getting 3 hours of community service in every month, even though some of us end up with 8-23 hours even! When I'm at school I feel like I'm at my second home, and I feel safe knowing that I'm getting a quality education while having as much fun as I can imagine. From dissecting a frog or a heart or even an eye, to making a big boom from the music room from our body percussions and drums, Saint Andrew's is a place where you won't turn a corner and not see a huge smile walking by.


Posted May 20, 2010

This school has perfect balance of academic and social education. Personal is very helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Our family couldn't be happier. We love Saint Andrews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

We were a 'St. Andrew's Family' for 11 years. The most obvious difference in contrast with Hillbrook is that St. Andrew's is a non-secular school. The religion is taught with a light hand, and with plenty of respect shown for other religions. The school population includes non-christians (as we are). In my experience the non-christians choose St. Andrew's because of the excellent academic level, the strong parent involvement and the lively multi-faceted & enriched curriculum, which includes many field trips & 'hands-on' experiental type learning. St. Andrew's is not as lavish a setting as Hillbrook, it is very attractive tho. The students walk along forested Saratoga Creek each day as they go to & from the playing fields. The school faces the Saratoga Heritage Orchard, with a view of the Santa Cruz Mts. Another big plus for St. Andrew's is the commitment to the mentoring of the first year teachers by the more experienced teachers. This helps to ensure continuity and that the teachers are working together as a community. The teacher retention is high. Results: My children then went to Saratoga High School, which is a quite competitive, highly academically oriented school. They both did very well with the solid foundation they received at St. Andrew's. Subsequently, they have gone to: A. one of the top 5 US universities and B. one of the top 25 US universities (with a huge 50% scholarship awarded).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

This is a fantastic program with very strong academics, technology, sports and arts/music programs. The teachers and administrators are top notch - very caring and supportive. We are very happy with the education and preparation provided to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

From the day I stepped foot on the campus at an open house, I have felt nothing but comfort in knowing my child would be taken care of emotionally, mentally and physically. The staff and teachers are an incredibly caring group of individuals with the student's best interests at heart. The academics are challenging and the character building philosophy is essential in developing an outstanding student. No wonder the local high schools welcome Saint Andrew's students with open arms. I now have two children benefiting from the excellent education Saint Andrew's provides, as well as the wonderful community of friends we are making along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

My son joined Saint Andrews in 6th Grade after shadowing at a number of very nice schools. He chose Saint Andrews over the other schools because he felt he clicked with the kids, and because he enjoyed the academics, and felt they were challenging. The school has completely met his expectations and mine. The kids are wonderful, welcoming, kind, and funny. The school, the parents, and the kids made his transition as a new kid very easy. The academics are rigorous and challenging, but not 'pressure cooker'. Teachers and staff are very professional, passionate, and maintain a great balance in the classroom. They are truly an amazing bunch of people! Our biggest surprise with Saint Andrews is the music program, which has surpassed all of our hopes. We have also greatly appreciated the Episcopalian tradition of fostering morals, ethics, and character, while respecting diverse religious beliefs and affiliations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

Academics and character development are hallmarks of this school. I am a parent of a current 1st grader. This is my daughter's second year at St.Andrews. My daughter had a phenomenal teacher in kindergarten (Ms Lewis) and now first grade(Ms.Carey). As a working mother, I am not able to participate in the classroom as much as I would like - fortunately, many other parents do contribute volunteer time on a regular basis. The parent community is very strong and we immediately built a network of families. The other moms look out for my child, several proactively volunteer to take her to after school play dates and parties. Even though we have a nanny for our younger child, my 1st grader begs me to attend after school care. In addition to activities, there is also a study hall. My daughter frequently arrives home with her homework already completed! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

Both of my children attended St. Andrew's from preschool through eighth grade, and my grandson is now a seventh grader. I have personally watched this exceptional school produce exceptional children for over 27 years now. St. Andrew's has stellar academic and extracurricular programs that provided my children with a solid base for success in the high school of their choice, college and beyond. Just as importantly, it provided them with a nurturing and supportive environment in their formative years, allowing them to develop the confidence, responsibility and character than will serve them well the rest of their lives. From a parent s perspective, I loved the community of parents and teachers, all of whom knew one another and were committed to my children s success. My grandson is now enjoying the benefits of this same community of committed educators, caring staff, involved parents and wonderful kids. I would (and frequently do!) wholeheartedly recommend St. Andrew's to anyone looking for a school that offers top-flight academics in a well-rounded environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I just graduated from St. Andrew's after going to school there since kindergarten. I loved all my teachers and everyone is very nice. 100% of my graduating class was accepted into the high school of their choice, many of the students getting accepted into more than one school of their choice. I now attend Presentation High School and I feel very prepared in all aspects. In 8th grade, the teachers walk you though every step of the process for applying to high schools. The P.E. program is fabulous, every student runs 4 miles every week in 6th grade and up. The sports and school choir are non-cut and a great experience. My 8th grade year the choir went to Disneyland for the Heritage Festival. We won first place out of the middle school choirs. Academics are also very important. The teachers understand the need of each individual student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

Rigorous academics balanced with educating the 'whole child' -- wonderful arts programs (music and visual arts), physical education program, foreign languages (Spanish and French beginning in 2nd grade), and religion. High emphasis on community service, citizenship, and character-building. All Bay Area private High Schools *love* St Andrew's students because they are so well-prepared and really nice kids too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

We have been at this school for the last 8 years. The curriculum of the younger grades has been an excellent foundation for the 6th, 7th, and 8th grades. Students are on differentiated tracks so that they will take Algebra 1 or higher by 8th grade. The language arts program is very strong as well, and students are well rounded with specialty classes and after school sports. The kids are nice so it is easy to have many friends. Many 8th graders have multiple acceptances to private highschools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

The Administration is weak in setting boundaries, encouraging heavy Parental participation in the classroom on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

St. Andrews School was a disappointment for us. Our son joined in 6th grade, for middle school. While many of the teachers are truly wonderful, those that aren't don't seem to be held accountable. For 8th grade we switched school and are pleased with our new choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 27% 11%
Two or more races 15% 3%
Black 2% 6%
Hispanic 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Harry V. McKay, Jr.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (408) 741-1852

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • High school counseling
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Our parents say it best - "Our family chose Saint Andrew's for its small class size, strong academic program, and meaningful exposure to technology, physical education and the arts. We now love our Saint Andrew's experience and feel so fortunate to have talented, caring teachers who really know each of our three children and to be part of a wonderful school community."
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 15, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$13000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine
Archbishop Mitty
Presentation
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13601 Saratoga Avenue
Saratoga, CA 95070
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 867-3785

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart School
Saratoga, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT