Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
385 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The best way to learn about our school is to tour our campus, observe our classrooms, and see our dedicated teachers, bright and enthusiastic students, and warm community in action. We look forward to meeting you soon. Our next Open House event is Saturday, January 23rd at 10AM. We also have regularly scheduled school day tour opportunities. Please contact us at (408) 867-3785 ext. 208 or 216 to schedule a visit or email us at admissions@st-andrews.org.
January 21, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
St. Andrew's Episcopal School has very effective admission office staff; very capable politician school heads; high turn-over rate (more than 50% within 1 year for the middle school teachers); some incapable and inexperienced teachers teaching key subjects (math, Spanish, English…), irresponsible management culture – after problems occur, they do nothing.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Mah in admission office. Ms. Mahal, social study teacher, very good. The PE teachers are responsible and serious.


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
1 out of 7 teachers are effective, 2 are very ineffective. Other teachers are so so, similar to public schools or a little worse....

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers don't grade the students homework much.... they just don't care. The math teacher, the Spanish teacher.... all don't care.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
Students show off their "gears" and bad living behavior the iPhone they have, how late they stay up.....


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
In some cases, no respect to students. This is one example: Spanish teacher, less than 1 year at SAE, does not grade project paper for which our daughter spent days preparing. Did not give any positive comments, but wrote a few circles for some words. Our daughter asked her what that meant, she replied: they were wrong. Daughter asked: why wrong? what are the correct spelling for them? She replied: go home and look up Google.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
. Holding big stack of books working quickly on campus. Why: students need to arrive the next classroom within 2 minutes after one class is over. They cannot go to bathroom, cannot drink water, cannot go to their locker to put back the books used from the previous class and get books needed for the next class…

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
no rating

Posted January 21, 2016
- a school leader
The best way to learn about our school is to tour our campus, observe our classrooms, and see our dedicated teachers, bright and enthusiastic students, and warm community in action. We look forward to meeting you soon. Our next Open House event is Saturday, January 23rd at 10AM. We also have regularly scheduled school day tour opportunities. Please contact us at (408) 867-3785 ext. 208 or 216 to schedule a visit or email us at admissions@st-andrews.org.


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
There are many staff, school leaders and teachers worthy of much thanks but one staff member who comes immediately to mind is Noah Marsh who works in the front office. Noah makes sure our children are safe, he organizes everything from life-saving prescriptions for students to managing deadlines, transcripts, grades and teacher recommendations for every school each 8th grader applies to. Thank you Noah!!!

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My child's teachers are all effective now. There were two middle school teachers (a 7th grade English teacher and a Spanish teacher) that were ineffective and SAES replaced those teachers. Each year SAES solicits feedback from their parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
13601 Saratoga Avenue, Saratoga, CA  95070
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (408) 867-3785
Last modified Saint Andrew's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top