Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
385 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The best way to learn about our school is to tour our campus, observe our classrooms, and see our dedicated teachers, bright and enthusiastic students, and warm community in action. We look forward to meeting you soon. Our next Open House event is Saturday, January 23rd at 10AM. We also have regularly scheduled school day tour opportunities. Please contact us at (408) 867-3785 ext. 208 or 216 to schedule a visit or email us at admissions@st-andrews.org.
January 21, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
no rating

Posted January 21, 2016
- a school leader
The best way to learn about our school is to tour our campus, observe our classrooms, and see our dedicated teachers, bright and enthusiastic students, and warm community in action. We look forward to meeting you soon. Our next Open House event is Saturday, January 23rd at 10AM. We also have regularly scheduled school day tour opportunities. Please contact us at (408) 867-3785 ext. 208 or 216 to schedule a visit or email us at admissions@st-andrews.org.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
There are many staff, school leaders and teachers worthy of much thanks but one staff member who comes immediately to mind is Noah Marsh who works in the front office. Noah makes sure our children are safe, he organizes everything from life-saving prescriptions for students to managing deadlines, transcripts, grades and teacher recommendations for every school each 8th grader applies to. Thank you Noah!!!


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My child's teachers are all effective now. There were two middle school teachers (a 7th grade English teacher and a Spanish teacher) that were ineffective and SAES replaced those teachers. Each year SAES solicits feedback from their parents.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Our experience is only in middle school and homework gradually increases throughout the grade levels with the most homework in 8th grade. Having older kids in high school, I believe the amount of homework in 8th grade will prepare them for high school. However, I believe a block schedule will reduce the amount of homework per night. The school is considering block scheduling.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Our child entered in 6th grade and is a currently in 8th. Our experience is great and we find the administration, teachers and heads of schools and staff to be very supportive. Despite a few bumps along the way with the changes in middle school head, head of school (former retired) and a few teacher replacements our child’s solid challenging education remains strong. In fact, the new science teacher is fabulous, engaging, and he makes science exciting with hands on learning. Math is strong, last year our child had new math teacher mentioned in the July 2015 post, we did not hire any tutors. SAES test the students in math at the end of each year and places the students by ability therefore students move through the content at a pace relevant to their skill level.. Also they allow room for movement within the math levels as a student masters content. Prior to entering SAES our child did attend school in one of the top school districts in CA and the math education at SAES is superior then our local top public school. Math classes are much smaller than other core subjects and our math teachers are qualified and they enjoy teaching math. Also, they complete the subject content of the ENTIRE textbook, something NEVER accomplished at our public school. Our child is constantly amazed at the amount of math is mastered in one week in comparison to the public school friends. In defense of the prior July post, it was the math teacher’s first year at SAES but he IS qualified with a Master’s degree in both math/science education. He has multiple interesting ways of teaching the students how to solve a problem and explore math outside of the classroom. The administration listens to the few parents who were unsatisfied providing SAES curriculum mentoring and resources for the teacher. I encourage prospective parents to visit our campus. Keep in mind when you are reading through reviews that when change occurs it is very difficult for all involved and that sometimes schools both public and private don’t get it right all the time. What is more important is how a school reacts when things are not just right for the school community. We are very happy with how the head of school responds, we are happy that tenure doesn’t keep ineffective teachers in the classroom and we are happy SAES has procedures in place for improvement and professional development.


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
Saint Andrew's was our top choice. We had very high expectations and the school has greatly exceeded all of them. It is a wonderful community of teachers, students and families. Saint Andrew's has a great balance of strong academics, sports, arts, music and a real focus on building character. They go out of their way to know each child and the families. Our children love going to school and we've enjoyed their classmates and families. I feel great about what my children are learning, how they are growing and how loving and respectfully they are treated at Saint Andrew's.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
About homework... This school just amazingly knows the right amount of homework for your kids! My daughter is in fifth grade, and she's never overwhelmed with her homework! And even if you have a busy schedule, like us, you'll be really surprised on how the homework assignments fit with your plan, just like a puzzle! My daughter usually gets a little bit of math, social studies, and language arts.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Our teachers make it a point to know their kids as individuals. They work very close with them during the year, but also maintain relationships after the child has progressed on. These relationships are so crucial to helping our kids learn and thrive.


Saint Andrew's Episcopal School 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
My child feels incredibly special and part of a great team at Saint Andrew's. It's not an argument of "why do I have to go to school!!" The faculty and staff have always been supportive and responsive on all items.

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School 1

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
The previous good reviews for SAES are for a school that no longer exists due to a considerable number of staff changes and poor admissions decisions on new students. Unfortunately some of the new teachers and administrators are terrible. Our student received a new math teacher in 2014 that by all accounts cannot teach math. Nearly every student in his class had to seek the help of a tutor. The head of the middle school was totally ineffective in dealing with any student situations from bullying to disruptive students in class and universally disliked by the students. She is now leaving the school and a temporary head has been hired. With school tuition recently hiked another 2k to $24k/year, this is not a school we could recommend to anyone as you will be taking your chances with the teaching staff and that's just not acceptable with tuition this expensive. The school community also is not what it used to be and the "Character Counts" motto seems to be just that, a motto, nothing more. The school seems to have more than its fair share of students with personality issues and "special" needs, not diagnosed ones such as dyslexia but kids who do not get along well with other children. So if you have kids who do, it can be difficult for them to find other happy, normal students to be friends with. Finally, while the school PE teachers are fantastic,teachers and wonderful people, the athletic coaches are not and do not teach sportsmanship or develop team camaraderie. We have heard from that this once was a wonderful school but it no longer is for many reasons -- academic, social and athletic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Andrew's Episcopal School
13601 Saratoga Avenue, Saratoga, CA  95070
(408) 867-3785
Last modified Saint Andrew's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Saint Andrew's Episcopal School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top