Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart School

Private | K-8 | 235 students

 
 

Living in Saratoga

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,371,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2014

Our daughter is thriving at Sacred Heart. She entered Kindergarten this year at Sacred Heart and we could not be happier. The school has a strong sense of community and excellent leadership. The teachers are caring, attentive and challenge students appropriately. Coupled with strong academics is a focus on the whole child. Thank you Sacred Heart for providing our daughter with a top notch education and nurturing learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

There are too many reasons our family loves this sweet school, but a few highlights include the dedicated teachers, advanced curriculum and a nurturing environment. The amazing parent community and loving classmates are truly a blessing. We interviewed at both Hillbrook and St Andrew and we could not be happier with our decision to enroll at Sacred Heart. It's an academically progressive school with a nurturing and close knit community. Regardless of how we feel, the true testimonial is in the happy children who come home to us daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Fantastic, engaged parent community. Teachers are not forward thinking, innovative or current in teaching theory, particularly for younger grades. School is designed for a very traditionally-focused curriculum including use of tear out daily worksheets and minimal creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Sacred Heart School is absolutely the most caring, nurturing, and faith-filled Catholic school in the area! My son loves school and he feels loved there by everyone, which makes him successful. That means so much to us. The parish is wonderful, too. Father Gary is so involved and approachable! We just love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

Sacred Heart is a great school! Teachers and staff are very attentive to each child. They work with the parents to develop each child's talents. It has a strong academic program AND continuously works on educating the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

Sacred Heart's 7th grade teacher just named 2009 All Star Teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I love coming to work each morning. The joy, happiness and the warm greetings I receive each day. The parents so willing to help out and most important to me is to see the faith of the children growing. Great place, great school
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 3, 2009

Sacred Heart School is an excellent school. All four of my children attend and are better people for it: socially, academically and spiritually. It is a warm, caring and safe environment for our kids with an exceptional staff. I am so proud to say that my children attend Sacred Heart School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

I have 3 children at Sacred Heart School and will have a forth child there in a couple of years. We have found that Sacred Heart works very hard to ensure they are at the top of academic standards while still keeping a great focus on developing a 'well rounded' child. You will experience excellent teachers, sports programs, community service and spiritual enrichment and at the same time be a part of an amazing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Sacred Heart provides a great environment for children to learn and grow. I especially like the balance they achieve between academics, sports, extracurricular activities and service to the community. Excellent facilities and fabulous staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Wonderful school which fosters community and models service, very high academic standards and sports program. Nurturing and safe place for kids to grow. Our three kids currently enrolled love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Sacred Heart is an wonderful school with a fantastic campus sitting in the foothills of Saratoga. The faculty and staff provide a nuturing environment where the children are encouraged to become active members of their church and school. With a focus upon Faith, Service, and Academic Excellence, the faculty works to develop students that show respect for others and work hard to make a difference in their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

This is a high quality school that ensures a solid foundation of discipline and education for children.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Two or more races 20% 3%
Hispanic 6% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Thomas Pulchny
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Village Preschool
Saratoga Presbyterian Preschool
Primary Plus

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine High School
St. Francis High School
Mitty High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13718 Saratoga Avenue
Saratoga, CA 95070
Phone: (408) 867-9241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT