Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountainview Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
All teachers including the principal get involved with the students and parents. I loved all 6 years my son attended Mountainview.

Mountainview Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2014
- a community member
This school is horrible. Dirty, filthy, ant problems, bullying, uncaring staff, everything! The teachers are horrible and they do not care for their students.


Mountainview Elementary School 1

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are Excellent! Drop off and pick is a nightmare! Cars zoom by extremely fast, cars travel against traffic which creates even more of a nightmare. There are some parents who do not truely value their children as they drop them off to play "frogger" with both street traffic and parking lot traffic which is highly dangerous! In the main morning drop off lot there is maybe 1 staff near the entrance gate - there is no one to evaluate the horrible traffic situation and the stately of the children! I hope that it does not take a child getting injured, or worse killed to have school staff monster the parking lot more closely. I would think that with all the parents that are in law enforcement (close to 50% at this school) that at least one of them would notify the cup traffic division or whoever handles school traffic safety. The gentleman who Is in charge of the crosswalk on the far end of school (cypress) is excellent! But he is far away from the nightmare happening on gold canyon (lot near park). I really wish they could figure out how to make things safe! In all honestly it is the parents responsibility! Pretty sad that so many do not care!!

Mountainview Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2011
- a parent
We have 2 kids in this school, and have nothing but good things to say. The teachers have been excellent, and our kids love going to school. The school keeps our kids interested and challenged, and they love it,

Mountainview Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
The school is excellent, My daughter has great experience with Teacher MS Diamond in 3rd grade. We wish more teacher like her.


Mountainview Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
It's impossible to find a discerning voice in the reviews but then who will! When things seem too good to be true that's usually the case. Parents forget that the HEAD count mean only to them money. Teachers are bounced around from upper grades to lower or transferred..what kind to teaching stability is that. Teachers here are most likely the same in all schools in Santa Clarita but that could also be a stretch...they dress like it's a picnic when working. If you want to be considered professionals...DRESS like one. Flip Flops are NOT proper attire. Personally in my opinion the school grounds look like a penitentiary whereas James Foster has a calm and serene feel. It's also an issue when the school time off is MORE than actually schooling...where's the quality in that. The expectations for learning are jammed down the kids throats because, as I said before, it's all about money. It goes one step further...kids in the second grade are not Star Tested...again ALL ABOUT MONEY. This is NOT TEACHING.

Mountainview Elementary School 4

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
This school is very good. 2 of my children have gone through it. Teachers are good although some should have been fired but the union will not allow so they get shuffled. The current principal rules by majority it seems. If a kid causes a problem the "group" is in trouble. There is also alot of "everyone's a winner" with lotts obabying of the students. I feel the teachers are the heartbeat of this school & feel they are overall excellent. I am hoping with the new vice-principal things will change a bit for the better.

Mountainview Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
I can't say enough about the teachers and staff at Mountainview Elementary! My son is in first grade and he has thoroughly enjoyed the past two years. His teachers have been extremely caring and attentive. Any concerns or questions by my wife and I are always immediately addressed and everyone at the school does their very best to help each individual child be the best that he or she can be. We feel so lucky to have such a great school in our district!


Mountainview Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and staff really take the time to know the kids and their individual needs, then to tailor the lessons to meet those needs.

Mountainview Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
This school is excellent! Communication is great between parents, teachers and staff. Excellent PTA! The parents care about the school and that enables the teachers do a better job!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountainview Elementary School
22201 West Cypress Place, Saugus, CA  91350
(661) 294-5325
Last modified Mountainview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mountainview Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top