Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Saugus, CA
Students enrolled: 489
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Santa Clarita Elementary is a great school! After having three children graduate from this school, our last child is completing her final years here. Currently, we live right around the corner from the school that our child should be attending in our district, but we choose to keep our child at SCE. The staff is great. Our new principal, Mr. Korie, is bringing new life and new programs to our school. Students are known as "scholars", giving them the sense that they are truly a scholar of learning. Parents consistently volunteer, taking tasks off of teachers plates, to allow teachers to teach. The parent group here is amazing: always working to raise funds so that the students still enjoy the fun side of education: field trips, assemblies and activities that enhance their elementary school experience. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
Love this school!!! The staff is amazing. Our new principal, Mr. Korie is wonderful. The school has a great sense of community. Parents and staff work together to make this school awesome. This school offers so many great programs, gardening with Mr. Maxwell, Jog a thon, Wonder Wednesday's etc....we couldn't be happier. My child loves her school and cannot wait to go everyday. Bulldog Pride!!!
1 person found this helpful


Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
I am so grateful for the teachers at this school! They work so hard putting in extra hours and are very dedicated making sure each student has the best learning experience. I love that we are a smaller school where everyone k ow everyone and is willing to help out at any time. Great group of parents who are willing to put their time in to help make this an awesome school!
1 person found this helpful

Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
I must tell you that despite a few unhappy reviews this is a GREAt school. GREAT teachers and a Principal that TRIES very hard to balance teachers, parents and the students. Santa Clarita Elementary is ALL about the kids-it ALWAYS has been in the 5 years I have been there. They ARE very much into science, technology and the environment. Thew handful of parents that actually volunteer all the time are always pleasant and welcoming and answer all my questions and concerns when needed. Yes true the ENTIRE district is lacking in funds but this school is good about doing awesome fundraisers so that the students can experience assemblies and field trips that they may not be able to otherwise. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone moving into this area or looking to have their child taught by a professional, loving, motivated and experienced group of teachers!
1 person found this helpful

Santa Clarita Elementary School 2

Posted June 15, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school. The principal (Saunders) is awful and does not care about the children. Extremely unprofessional. She could care less about parental input or concerns. A school will never be good with bad leadership and administration. It has a few great teachers and a lot bad ones that need to retire or leave the teaching profession all together. Teachers with big egos that want to flaunt their credentials yet can't reach children academically. Huge lack of quality supervision for the children while outdoors at play. Do your child a favor, don't send them to this school.
2 people found this helpful


Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Outstanding principal and teachers who are passionate about educating children. Smaller school size gives a more private school feeling. Beautiful campus with enthusiastic and caring administration.
1 person found this helpful

Santa Clarita Elementary School 2

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
I have loved this school...past tense. Granted some of my major gripes are things they cannot do much about. The location is absolutely terrible. It could use a much larger MPR. The large class sizes (entire district) are too much for many children. Some are getting left behind. There are many wonderful and loving teachers there, but not one male teacher or administrator. My child is constantly picked on by other children. More supervision would be ideal, but it takes $. One day my child came home in wet pants because the yard duty wouldn't allow bathroom use at lunch time. That was unacceptable. They would like to be know as THE science school in the district, but as much as they try, it's still just not enough. One week of science is not enough to make up for an entire year with little to none. Still, it has a beautiful campus and many loving teachers and staff. It could be great again, but they need $$$$$. Unfortunately nothing will fix the problem with the location short of someone being seriously injured or worse from the many crazy distracted drivers who do everything but follow the rules.

Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
Both my children are enrolled at Santa Clarita and love the teachers and staff they are friendly and caring. The school is one of the oldest and smallest in the area. The teachers truly care about the kids education. I have to say Mrs Fannon and Mrs Ramsey both have been wonderful teachers to my kids. They were previuosly enrolled at Helmers and the staff there were rude and felt at times they were discriminating and have favoritism aging other children.


Santa Clarita Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This school is small and old with mostly very, very good teachers. Most of the teachers are dedicated and hard working and excellent role models to the students. Parents and school administration have a tight knit relationship. The school maintence needs extra work though as age is showing in the entire school and it's surroundings.

Santa Clarita Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2006
- a parent
This is an outstanding school! The teachers are beyond wonderful, and they are completely dedicated to their craft of educating our child. As partners in the education of our child, we acknowledge the fact that we are the primary agents of instruction. Nevertheless, the teachers at Santa Clarita always go above and beyond to ensure that he receives an exemplary education in a nurturing and supportive milieu. Thanks, Santa Clarita... you have made a tremendously positive impact in the life of our little boy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Clarita Elementary School
27177 Seco Canyon Road, Saugus, CA  91350
(661) 294-5340
Last modified Santa Clarita Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Santa Clarita Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top