Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vine Hill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
A wonderful school full of caring teachers, which actively encourages parent participation.

Vine Hill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a community member
My two VH grads received excellent education in a caring environment. The stereotype of caring teachers willing to give far more than their paygrade is alive and well at VH.


Vine Hill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
It's a great school with excellent teachers and a very supportive parent community

Vine Hill Elementary School 1

Posted November 25, 2009
- a parent
We agree with the reviewer who wrote about the 'extreme lack of compassion at this school.' Vine Hill school has a well connected and mostly rich group of parents whose kids seem to feel that they can treat other kids however they want to. I have seen these physically push aside other kids, dump ink on other kids' schoolwork, and pretty much daily tell other kids that they are creeps, dorks, that it's disgusting to sit next to them, etc., and despite reports to teachers, if the kids are in the well connected group, nothing happens. The school cannot help that it has a rundown playground, and it does have some wonderful teachers and some great parents, but a lot of bullying of more vulnerable kids is just allowed to go on.

Vine Hill Elementary School 4

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
This school is blessed with generally fine, enthusiastic teachers, a helpful administration, and parents who care a lot about their children's education and volunteer extensively.


Vine Hill Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vine Hill Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vine Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Vine Hill Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
We couldn't be more pleased with Vine Hill. We were fortunate enough to have the option of private school and observed every private school in Santa Cruz County and met with their principals, as well as Vine Hill's principal. Vine Hill, by far, had the most rigorous academic standards and the most impressive principal. We have now been at Vine Hill four years and have 2 children there. I have found the teachers very accomodating to their individual learning styles as well as those of their classmates. I have also been impressed with both the experience level and the professionalism of the teaching staff. As far a the principal, you could not find a more dedicated, intelligent and involved leader. She is very in touch with the parent community and is well respected by her staff. Vine Hill has been a great choice for us!

Vine Hill Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2007
- a parent
Unkept school. An invisible Principal. Teachers are stuck in their own old ways, and do not accept change. Parking and child drop-off and pick-up are extremely disorganized. Shocking play ground area. Due to the extreme lack of compassion at this school we moved our kids somewhere much better.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vine Hill Elementary School
151 Vine Hill School Road, Scotts Valley, CA  95066
(831) 438-1090
Last modified Vine Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vine Hill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top