Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
113 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
We love MBCS. Our daughter has 1 more year there. Our son two more years. We can see great things happening over the next few years We continue to support the school and be involved. We would be happy to help you so that you make the right decision not only your child but for your family as a whole. God walk with us all as we make difficult decisions daily between if our finances are holding you back and choose the value of nothing is at times nothing. Invest in your kids future as you will get the biggest awesome return We have Our awesome, smart, well mannered, hard working fun kids that we thank God first and MBCS and families had a lot to do with it too ..! Love the Hidalgo Family (Seaside) Monterey area. I have faith stars will move up the ladder more support from parents involvement is a big foundation for success Long story short MBCS is the best choice for us and our kids. Hopefully we can grow with yours too these next years. Even if you are not a Christian to know your child has a constant foundation of what is right OR what is wrong on a daily basis and getting a great education.

Monterey Bay Christian School 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
I so have to give this school one star. I wont go into details but im glad we will not be returning.


Monterey Bay Christian School 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
I have been @ this school for a number of years now & have seen the school go from good to bad to down right awful! The only reason we stayed was because It was a safer environment & we had already payed tuition by the time it hit rock bottom. Everything from academics to administration & school board is about the worst I have ever encountered! Needless to say we will NOT be returning. There are SO many parents that are unhappy here & the school has gained a very negative reputation. Parent concerns are ignored. My child is now behind the public school kids. They will paint this as the best school when you go for open house & talking to principal BUT believe me it IS NOT!!! They have many teachers that are not credentialed. They have the middle school teachers doing numerous grades subjects each. They keep losing teacher & will hire ANYONE! They charge you $250 for curriculum but take back the texts book the next year & reuse them for the next years kids. They only let them keep the workbooks. They also require 25 points PER PARENT of involvement. If you dont complete that they will charge you $5 per remaining point. This was not disclosed till after I had been signed up.

Monterey Bay Christian School 4

Posted April 12, 2013
- a teacher
This school is a blessing to the community. Monterey Bay Christian School is a small school with great academics. The teachers and staff treat the children with love and kindness, but also showing great moral values. Their love for Christ is easily seen thru the way they treat their students and the parents. If looking for a GREAT school you should stop by and check this school out.

Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
Our boys have been at MBCS since PreSchool. One of the best things about MBCS is it's Christian teachers and staff. We have been blessed that our sons are able to grow closer to the Lord as well as receive an awesome education at MBCS. Our oldest son graduated from MBCS 8th grade last year and was well prepared for High School this year. The study habits he learned and education he received were exceptional. Our family is very thankful for MBCS and it's staff.


Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
Great school! We are military and recently moved from a Department of Defense school. We were used to smaller class sizes and good teachers so we were apprehensive about moving away from a great environment. Nevertheless, MBCS has exceeded our educational expectations and given us a new standard for what to expect. Our son's first grade teacher is excellent and amazes us with her ability to specifically target his exact needs. The parents are all involved and have included us "new guys" with open arms. It is a great environment and we would recommend the school without reservation.

Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted August 26, 2010
- a parent
I love it here... we are military and moved to Monterey during the summer. I was so stressed out worrying about where I was going to send my daughter for Kindergarten as CA public schools are terrible! I thought we couldn't afford a private school here. Then I found MBCS... It was like my prayers were answered. The education is wonderful, the teachers and staff very loving. I am so glad and feel so blessed to have found this school. My daughter loves it!

Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
MBCS greatly suprpasses other schools in our area as far as academics and offers students a loving and caring environment to learn and grow.


Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted March 20, 2010
- a parent
This was our 1st year at MBCS. Ms. Stock, the 4th grade teacher was extremely accommodating during our mid-year move to the area from Florida. It was a virtually seamless transition, and our daughter couldn't be happier. Each morning she returns to school smiling with 'flutter-byes' in her stomach - she can hardly contain her excitement! Ms. Stock has a very creative classroom management system, which also teaches the kids money management skills. They have a full-scale library on-premises, and they offer chess and basketball clubs. We've already re-enrolled again for next year, as the staff here absolutely LOVES the kids. We are looking forward to having Mr. Z next year for 5th grade! Without a doubt, this is the best investment we could make in our child's life!

Monterey Bay Christian School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
We've been more than thrilled with MBCS. Ms. Lecce, the kindergarten teacher, has her craft down to a science. Each child receives an equal amount of patience, structure, love, and discipline.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monterey Bay Christian School
1184 Hilby Avenue, Seaside, CA  93955
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (831) 899-2060
Last modified Monterey Bay Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top